Adams for Commissioner

i tend to disagree a wee bit, the populace actually looks to government for guidance etc...that has FAILED us because i am hard pressed to find a time when the government had the best interest of the people at heart.

i think the benevolent dictator thing does not necessarily equate to force against the populace but it is more along the lines of accountability ... take for example....omar davies feel seh him not accountable for the financial melt down is just one example of whatever happens i don't care as long as my people are in power..the word benevolent is there for a reason.

is there such a person? i cannot at this time identify anyone with the characteristics to fit that description..

i tend to disagree a wee bit, the populace actually looks to government for guidance etc...that has FAILED us because i am hard pressed to find a time when the government had the best interest of the people at heart.

i think the benevolent dictator thing does not necessarily equate to force against the populace but it is more along the lines of accountability ... take for example....omar davies feel seh him not accountable for the financial melt down is just one example of whatever happens i don't care as long as my people are in power..the word benevolent is there for a reason.

is there such a person? i cannot at this time identify anyone with the characteristics to fit that description..
      ok... understood.... whoever it is or however it is done... we do need a leader to do the job.

Like Gamma, I agree with you to an extent, but as the founding fathers of the US constitution realized early on, you cannot give to much power to poor and uneducated people. That's why they constructed the BS about the College Electorate. I do agree that the local government needs more autonomy. Here is a radical thought, MP's should live in their constituencies.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

=Jangle;208849]Like Gamma, I agree with you to an extent, but as the founding fathers of the US constitution realized early on, you cannot give to much power to poor and uneducated people.
          This may be so;.... but Jamaica demonstrates that we cannot give too much power to the rich & educated either.

A power rebalancing is in order.

MP's should live in their constituencies.

I conccuurrrrrr!!!!

Since when do Jamaicans respond positively to force? Since...never.... not during slavery, colonial occupation...moreso not now.

That benevolent dictator thing is attractive but a non starter... we are too rebellious... that's our DNA.

Jamaica needs a new political order based on respect for poor people (the overwhelming majority) and leadership by cooperation & consensus. The tribal order we have now is a failure and should be buried asap.

To do that the power of the 2 corrupt tribes and their corrupt politicians must be reduced... with more power going to local and community groups to manage their own affairs and make decisions... the centralized Kingston rule by the corrupt politicians we have now is a failure and must be changed... here are 2 potentially significant political reforms:

1. We need a binding social contract agreed to by all important sectors... with poor people being the most important sector (being the majority of course) at the table and treated accordingly.... after agreement take it to Parliament to be rubber stamped.

The purpose of this is provide a national roadmap for development.... what is now happening with the banks and debt negotiations is a small part of what's needed... and a glimpse of what's possible given consultation & cooperation.

2. We need to further reduce the power of the tribes by having national and even local plebicites to decide matters of importance.. run by the EOJ which is acknowledged to be impartial & efficient.

There are many more reforms that can be tried...until we find the right balance....

Jamaicans need more respect...not more force.
              don1, social contract sounds good in principle and i would support if such a contract could be formulated... however, what would be the framework for such contract and how would this contract be enforced...

in furtherance of the 'benevolent dictator' argument... i strongly believe jamaica need a leader of that sort at this time... that doesn't mean force or violence, it simply means a leader who will make the hard decisions that may be unpopular but will bring a greater good in the form of social order, productivity and efficiency... example, a suspension of some of our rights in the apprehension of ciminal elements and promotion of civility...

if the nation is to move forward, drastic measures need to be taken... it is simple... educate the people on what is at stake and force cooperation...

laws that make it mandatory for children to be in school... enforce penalty for parents that keep their children out of school...

in fact, a benevolent dictator could enact some laws that the jamaican society takes for granted but is standard practice in other developed countries... example, fingerprinting and storage of prints in a database of all persons arrested and charged with a crime... currently that is not a practice in jamaica...

how about the lack of respect for law enforcement... there needs to be laws that would deter the routine confrontation that law enforment experience daily...

zero tolerance for gun and ammunition... enact and enforce laws that will the citizenry afraid of the very sight of a weapon in their presence...

Never going to be appointed

Former head of the Crime Management Unit (CMU) Reneto Adams is to be interviewed for the job of Police Commissioner on Monday.

The retired
                crime fighter applied for the job in November, following the sudden resignation of Rear Admiral Hardly Lewin.

Sources told RJR News that the Police Service Commission sent an invitation to Mr. Adams last week, to interview for the job.

The man seen as a folk hero among many Jamaicans is scheduled to appear before the panel Monday morning to stake his claim for the job of top cop.

Acting Commissioner Owen Ellington is considered the front-runner to get the job.

Last year, a record 1680 persons were murdered in Jamaica.
                Just an interview to keep Adams and supporters very happy.

If they back Admas back then they would have to make him Commissioner of a separate force without British and American support.