Adams for Commissioner

• Adams for Commissioner

Former head of the Crime Management Unit (CMU) Reneto Adams is to be interviewed for the job of Police Commissioner on Monday.

The retired
    crime fighter applied for the job in November, following the sudden resignation of Rear Admiral Hardly Lewin.

Sources told RJR News that the Police Service Commission sent an invitation to Mr. Adams last week, to interview for the job.

The man seen as a folk hero among many Jamaicans is scheduled to appear before the panel Monday morning to stake his claim for the job of top cop.

Acting Commissioner Owen Ellington is considered the front-runner to get the job.

Last year, a record 1680 persons were murdered in Jamaica.

Further evidence that the JCF is a cruel joke!

Excellent choice to run the JCF.

run it where ? into bankruptcy ?

Trial and Law Suit woulda drop like sand under Hadams..

lol !

Former head of the Crime Management Unit (CMU) Reneto Adams is to be interviewed for the job of Police Commissioner on Monday.

The retired
          crime fighter applied for the job in November, following the sudden resignation of Rear Admiral Hardly Lewin.

Sources told RJR News that the Police Service Commission sent an invitation to Mr. Adams last week, to interview for the job.

The man seen as a folk hero among many Jamaicans is scheduled to appear before the panel Monday morning to stake his claim for the job of top cop.

Acting Commissioner Owen Ellington is considered the front-runner to get the job.

Last year, a record 1680 persons were murdered in Jamaica.
          madness personified

All me would jump in front a two a di shot. Rich me seh!!!!

Gi Les Green mek him clean up tings.

Too many human rights violations and we need someone with a clean sheet.

but he wasn't convicted of anything or found to be in dereliction of duty by any court....so...

Jamaica is one big enigma. The same thing that drives us forward and makes us recognizable worldwide is the same thing that also holds us back - pick your choice. We want to believe that we are "first world" in many aspect of our society, but the ugly truth is that we are not. The level of crime - murder to be specific, that is committed on a daily basis in jamaica, borders on savagery. You need a asavage to deal with some of these savages that continues to walk the streets. I strongly believe that in order for Jamaica to move forward as a country, it's going to take a strong leader that borders on dictatorship. How do we get back our decency?
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

everytime i see the this i remember my benevolent dictator post and how i was "mocked ridiculed and spat at"... good morning to the once noble chiron formerly sagest of all centaurs.

lol... gamma why you suh skittish... nuh watch nutten... memba seh mi still deh bout causen seh mi back yuh pon da issue deh... if i recall, that coinage 'benevolent dictator' was also a precise summation of my thoughts out of one of our many discussions on solutions to crime in jamaica... love the term and i use it on many occasions...

what i find ironic is adams a celebrated former law enforcement officer, as mythical a figure as dudus who is suspected of criminality, yet dudus appears to enjoy more support from the government...

LOL!!! maybe he has done a better job to "curb crime" ... ef i laugh i weak!

Jamaica is one big enigma. The same thing that drives us forward and makes us recognizable worldwide is the same thing that also holds us back - pick your choice. We want to believe that we are "first world" in many aspect of our society, but the ugly truth is that we are not. The level of crime - murder to be specific, that is committed on a daily basis in jamaica, borders on savagery. You need a asavage to deal with some of these savages that continues to walk the streets. I strongly believe that in order for Jamaica to move forward as a country, it's going to take a strong leader that borders on dictatorship. How do we get back our decency?

Since when do Jamaicans respond positively to force? Since...never.... not during slavery, colonial occupation...moreso not now.

That benevolent dictator thing is attractive but a non starter... we are too rebellious... that's our DNA.

Jamaica needs a new political order based on respect for poor people (the overwhelming majority) and leadership by cooperation & consensus. The tribal order we have now is a failure and should be buried asap.

To do that the power of the 2 corrupt tribes and their corrupt politicians must be reduced... with more power going to local and community groups to manage their own affairs and make decisions... the centralized Kingston rule by the corrupt politicians we have now is a failure and must be changed... here are 2 potentially significant political reforms:

1. We need a binding social contract agreed to by all important sectors... with poor people being the most important sector (being the majority of course) at the table and treated accordingly.... after agreement take it to Parliament to be rubber stamped.

The purpose of this is provide a national roadmap for development.... what is now happening with the banks and debt negotiations is a small part of what's needed... and a glimpse of what's possible given consultation & cooperation.

2. We need to further reduce the power of the tribes by having national and even local plebicites to decide matters of importance.. run by the EOJ which is acknowledged to be impartial & efficient.

There are many more reforms that can be tried...until we find the right balance....

Jamaicans need more respect...not more force.