BEN aka MAUDIB answa mi question above nuh sah , while you are at it start the petition in Germany or dem 1st world allies .
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
The issue is not what perceived injustice you march for but the likely consequences of exercising your civil liberties...
If a march against discrimination of Gays for example were to be attempted.. I suspect it would result in violence.
You may not see that as a problem but the relevant world does.. as such until that problem is addressed.. there will be war and the 'enemy' will employ whatever tactics it deems effective..
I don't think Jamaica can win that war and it would be prudent to simply follow the lead of the rest of the developed world.
This is no time to be quixotic.. we have been down that road before and are still suffering the consequences..
You havent answered the question have you ? If the polygomist exercise such right are they not at said risk for violence ? That point is moot , civil liberties come with consequences when being abused, and I am in no way condoning violence.
Again why cant polygomist march that they want to marry as much men and women they want to in a Hetro , Homo or BI relationsip in a 1st world atmosphere ? Have they done said weddings on a mass scale ? and what has been the 1st world response ?
The agenda will be defeated on this same ground , the argument against it is simple , regardless of it is two , three ,four consenting adults .Society has a moral authority to rule against it (homosexuality) because it has no clear line to say stop ! as it pertains to the mental affects towards children but also adults i.e polygomy mass marriages of all genders.
How can healthy relationships exist ? How can children be nurtured ?
No morality I say .
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Blacks were persecuted and killed and many 'moral' arguments were brought forward in defense.
Yuh haffi come bettah dan dat.
Are you saying a healthy relationship and nurturing can not occur where a homosexual couple is involved ?
Hmm.. is that like the argument that a healthy relationship and nurturing cannot occur where a interacial couple is involved ?
I have heard that argument as well..
I suggest you do more reading on the matter.. especially the history of Monogamy/Polygamy.. there is a good amount of historical data not based on the roman-greco concept (even they allowed concubines)..
Would you call the Monagamy Model under the Catholic influence a success ?
Blacks were persecuted and killed and many 'moral' arguments were brought forward in defense.
Yuh haffi come bettah dan dat.
Are you saying a healthy relationship and nurturing can not occur where a homosexual couple is involved ?
Hmm.. is that like the argument that a healthy relationship and nurturing cannot occur where a interacial couple is involved ?
I have heard that argument as well..
I suggest you do more reading on the matter.. especially the history of Monogamy/Polygamy.. there is a good amount of historical data not based on the roman-greco concept (even they allowed concubines)..
Would you call the Monagamy Model under the Catholic influence a success ?
That's a ridiculous pseudo-scientific approach... which will confuse only the naive.
Both sides of the homo argument present moral imperatives.... society has to choose which moral argument it favours.... it exercises extant cultural imperatives in making that decision.
The situation is akin to polygamous relations between consenting adults... as is the norm in many, many societies..... a moral case exists for that.
In Jamaica's case we have chosen to reject the moral argument for polygamy in favour of monogamy...just as Jamaica rejects the moral argument for homosexual relations.
The decision is therefore entirely cultural, not "moral"...which culture the fassy advocates and their alien supporters are trying to influence... as is their right to do.
(The 'moral' argument holds no sway with me,) thats the sword that will forever have the agenda wounded.
Using the African slave and colonial history as a defence of your agenda is simplistic , irrational and repulsive.
A healthy relationship can come out of a Bi polar relationship, or abusive relationship , does it make sense to put a childs health at risk to prove a theory right ?
The Roman Greco concept of polygamy fell to christianity.So you are back to where you started arent you ?
The agenda will be defeated by its own sword.
DON 1 when i say polygamy , I mean it in its free -est sense where a man/woman can marry as much as he/she wants , Homo , Hetro or BI , I see no moral/cultural case which exist for that.
The relevance is to show that with consenting adults and marriages there are no lines that can be drawn based on so called civil liberty rights.
There is a moral and cultural case against it , my opinion .
DON 1 when i say polygamy , I mean it in its free -est sense where a man/woman can marry as much as he/she wants , Homo , Hetro or BI , I see no moral/cultural case which exist for that.
morality is subjective & personal. maybe from your perspective homosexuality is immoral.... others will argue that it's immoral to deny such beings their right as consenting adults to pursue their desires.
it's subjective
The relevance is to show that with consenting adults and marriages there are no lines that can be drawn based on so called civil liberty rights.
There is a moral and cultural case against it , my opinion .
the most important words here...are the last two.
ergo.. it's a subjective and personal construct....which I happen to agree with.
years ago, before you joined the board ben jammin aka maudib and i had a similar discussion... of course he was advocating his homosexual agenda... as usual, his argument was consenting adults should be free to engage in any relationship they choose, it was their right...
i asked him where do society draw the line... what if a mother and son, a mother and daughter, a father and daughter or a father and son decided they wanted to get married... afterall, they were consenting adults... should society sanction those relationship as well... to this day, i have not received an answer from maudib...
One thing at a time...each case must be argued on its merit.. your muddy the waters tactic is stale and would not stand up in any legal or constitutional debate on the matter (which is why the current status on homosexuality obtains in most of the developed World)
You are struggling against the tide. Once the fundamental rights of a person are recognized... it is only a matter of time for laws that seek to abridge those rights are changed.
Mi nuh know what unnuh nuh unnastan bout dat.
Nothing is stopping the Taliban from practising denigration of women.. dem claim is cultural too.. but wi si where dat tek dem..
Yard can tek di hard route or the easy route.. gwine end up same place doh.. to believe otherwise is living in denial.