Broken promise? - Opposition says PM reneged on pledge ...

oh, how short our memories. but that is ok. i used to get cuss from nuff people about how i cuss off di previous govt. some even thought i was shower! and i guess all the calls, however meaningless, i have made for portia, omar, pickersgill and di rest to resign, were just to present an air of objectivity.

and as for cussing everything about the jlp...well, if you wrong bout di first part...maybe yuh wrong bout di second too.

oh well...

The only person cuss you for being shower is Jawge and that is because him cuss everybody who doesn't agree with his stance on Portia.

Originally posted by Me View Post
        The only person cuss you for being shower is Jawge and that is because him cuss everybody who doesn't agree with his stance on Portia.
        Yuh nuh? Mi see him call Rudi a labourite .. he must have had a dental appointment that day.

wasn't jawge. him cuss mi fi odda tings.

It is time the JLP & PNP (our governing parties = our government) act in the interest of the country. There must be an arrangement whereby matters vital to the country's interest can be shared in confidence and the parties agree not to reveal same until it is agreed to do so.

Surely there are times when it is best to share information and have both parties act in an independent manner in the country's interest and other times where both parties must act in concert in the country's interest.

I asked one question years ago to tell me anything Omar did wrong and you said you "soon come". You still don't answer.

social contract?

gasp! did i?

yep. going into the last election.

It is time the JLP & PNP (our governing parties = our government) act in the interest of the country. There must be an arrangement whereby matters vital to the country's interest can be shared in confidence and the parties agree not to reveal same until it is agreed to do so.

Surely there are times when it is best to share information and have both parties act in an independent manner in the country's interest and other times where both parties must act in concert in the country's interest.
                      Lets see, I recall a Vale Royal meeting where both sides met on the issue of security. Both sides agreed on certain measures, the Queen's Opposition Leader in the press conference after the meeting gave her support. Now .. whats up with the crime bill?

kiss teet. It is clear who is keeping the country back.

Lets see, I recall a Vale Royal meeting where both sides met on the issue of security. Both sides agreed on certain measures, the Queen's Opposition Leader in the press conference after the meeting gave her support. Now .. whats up with the crime bill?

kiss teet. It is clear who is keeping the country back.
                        Has the final bill been tabled in parliament for debate and vote?
                        Give the facts.

You quick with meaningless chat...eeeenh???!

Has the final bill been tabled in parliament for debate and vote?
                          Give the facts.

You quick with meaningless chat...eeeenh???!
                          Meaningless? Again ... who is attempting to kill the bill? The bill went to a committee and all the obstructionists stood together.

having said that however you would NEVER vote JLP, nuh true?

Bankers fall in line - Endorse Gov't's debt exchange but demand prudent fiscal management

Gary Spaulding, Senior Gleaner Writer
                              Key stakeholders in the financial sector yesterday warned the Bruce Golding administration that they would not let his Government off the hook if it fails to deliver on its promise of a prudent fiscal-management programme to supplement the debt-exchange initiative.

At the launch of the Jamaica Debt Exchange (JDX) yesterday, well attended by the gamut of sector interests at the central bank's downtown Kingston's offices, Golding reiterated the Government's commitment to fiscal discipline in its proposed medium-term economic programme.

Golding continued to appeal for widespread support for the JDX which he described as a voluntary contribution.

But in stark contrast, Finance Minister Audley Shaw declared that holders of government bonds who did not sign on to the JDX would not be allowed to "free ride and exploit other holders".

The prime minister conceded that the move was a political gamble. "I am prepared to take the political risk," Golding declared.

"My leadership will rely on the history and not the voters."

Dawn of new day?

Members of prominent financial interests endorsed the initiative, but argued that it must signal the dawn of a new day.

"I hope that the initiative will be accompanied by tax reforms and strong fiscal management … without that, we may be here again in three years," declared Minna Israel, president of the Jamaica Bankers' Association.

"We need to hold the Government accountable in achieving fiscal discipline and medium-term economic plan," asserted Bruce Bowen, Scotiabank's chief executive officer.

"This debt-exchange programme is not the end of the road, but the beginning," Bowen said.

"I am appealing to the Government not to squander the opportunity to develop fiscal discipline," declared the head of the Jamaica Money Market Brokers, Keith Duncan.

In reinforcing the necessity of the Government's medium-term development plan, the financial sector representatives assured the prime minister of their confidence in the JDX.

"We can begin to turn the corner, it's a pity that we had to do it at the behest of the multilaterals and the International Monetary Fund," Duncan asserted. "I call on all Jamaicans to stand up for Jamaica now."

Bowen argued that there was no perfect solution in a time of crisis. "What is quite clear is that it has to be done … We must get on board and support the solutions."
                              nice!
                              ...part ah di Social Contrak

social contract?
                                Forward! Toot! Toot!