HL have been saying it for years
Originally posted by Assasin View Postwha happen when US dollar get scare? We a go print that too?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Gamma View Posti am in favour of dollarising, or at least looking at it...the logistics of printing etc. would naturally form a part of the process. the $J buys less and less almost daily, and where we rely on forign exchange i.e. USD for trading, well one can see the natural fall out
panama for example has dollarised and i think it has led to stability and a reasonable cost of living to boot.
Yuh haffi earn, borrow ar beg dat.... yuh cyaan print dat.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
hostorically the canadian economy relied on a symbiotic relationship with the us especially the auto industry...canada seems to have moved out of the shadow, but i wonder how sustainable it will be in the long run.
What the Prof says is true regarding interest rates , BUT there are consequences to dollarization particularly in a country like JA where we don't earn enough US$ to pay our bills.
As Assasin says, today when the JA govt run out of money to pay the teachers, etc them can create some JA$ out of thin air. Yes there are problems with doing that, like inflation and further devaluation, but at least people can go supermarket.
If you standardize on the US$ and there is a shortage of dollars to pay the bills.....? Somebody not getting paid."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass