Opposition alarmed by 2009 crime stats

• Opposition alarmed by 2009 crime stats

The Opposition People’s National Party is criticizing the government for what it said is the failure of the Bruce Golding Administration to stem the wave of crime.
    The Opposition spokesman on National Security, Peter Buntings says the PNP is alarmed that the crime rate for last year was one of the worst ever.

Mr. Bunting cited police data indicating that there were 1,672 murders in 2009.
    He says figures from the Constabulary Communication Network reveal that this was just two fewer than the record 1,674 murders in 2005.
    Mr. Bunting said last year, other major crimes increased when compared with the previous year, while surpassing the 2005 figures.
    According to Mr. Bunting, the Government has not effectively managed the crime situation.

He wants the National Security Minister, Dwight Nelson to outline his measures to address crime since taking office in April 2009 as well as the plans for this year.
    Mr. Bunting says the Government’s failure to sign the extradition order for West Kingston businessman, Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke is contributing to crime.

According to Mr. Bunting, the delay has provided comfort for criminals.
    The Government is yet to sign the extradition request for Dudus more than four months after the US said it wanted him on criminal charges.

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=15748

The Opposition People’s National Party is criticizing the government for what it said is the failure of the Bruce Golding Administration to stem the wave of crime.
    The Opposition spokesman on National Security, Peter Buntings says the PNP is alarmed that the crime rate for last year was one of the worst ever.

Mr. Bunting cited police data indicating that there were 1,672 murders in 2009.
    He says figures from the Constabulary Communication Network reveal that this was just two fewer than the record 1,674 murders in 2005.
    Mr. Bunting said last year, other major crimes increased when compared with the previous year, while surpassing the 2005 figures.
    According to Mr. Bunting, the Government has not effectively managed the crime situation.

He wants the National Security Minister, Dwight Nelson to outline his measures to address crime since taking office in April 2009 as well as the plans for this year.
    Mr. Bunting says the Government’s failure to sign the extradition order for West Kingston businessman, Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke is contributing to crime.

According to Mr. Bunting, the delay has provided comfort for criminals.
    The Government is yet to sign the extradition request for Dudus more than four months after the US said it wanted him on criminal charges.

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=15748
    Is that a joke?..ha ha ha ha ha (sigh)

All that has happned is we've gone from bad to worse to worst and now worster..

Peter R your spelling is atrocious.... it is worserer.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

No...wusess is the ultimate!

then what you think about this?
          "The Opposition is insisting that the Parliament is where the people's representatives sit and as such, this is where we can, on the behalf of the people, make recommendations ... there cannot be taxation without representation. We insist that Parliament reconvenes so that the people of this country can get a fair deal," Neita-Headley said

Mo, any comments?

I say ABOLISH Political parties in Jamaica. Tired of all the drama from politrikans.

Who will save us!

Get the people of Somerset, St. Thomas to run the country

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                I say ABOLISH Political parties in Jamaica. Tired of all the drama from politrikans.

Who will save us!

Get the people of Somerset, St. Thomas to run the country
                Yuh nuh think its time we stop blaming only politicians? The Jamaican people made wrong decisions time and again. When ppl gonna call a spade a spade?

I agree. We must stop blaming politicians especially when we have axe to grind, otherwise blame them or blame the people. The Jamaican people are the problem. It's a spade!

Alarmed? Hypocrisy!

Disappointed that the loudmouths are doing maybe even less than previous govts.? YES!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                      I agree. We must stop blaming politicians especially when we have axe to grind, otherwise blame them or blame the people. The Jamaican people are the problem. It's a spade!
                      Politicians can elect themselves? For 18 years the worst gov't we've had at in power and they were continually elected by the people. Twist it how yuh want ... I'll keep it real. Now these idiots gone hold mock Parliament? Talk bout demockracy. If yuh have axe fi grind, tek it up with those that create the mess ... no wait ... they couldn't elect themselves. Talk to Karl and the others.

Less?

Breath deeply.....count to 3.
                          Ok. We have a gov. in power for 2 years that's continuously looking backward. There's an opposition there for 2 years that was there for 18 years and want to get back in. That is politics. The Gov. has a role for good governance, the opposition have theirs to call them to task when they do nonsense. What's so hard in that???

I don't get it myself.. especially when we have long threads about Bruce playing politics...

Politics is just that.. the problem with the PNP is.. well that is all they had.. PJ turned Govt into a political machine.. to the point where the Minister of Finance was reckless without apology..

PNP fell way below the Bar set by Eddie Seaga and to some extent Manley after he won the 1989 Election.. soo.. let us have a little perspective in our 'criticisms'.. we all know the real deal.. having fun is ok but lets keep it real..

well, the PNP did not have a problem extraditing people. some say they were too quick to do so at times.

this govt.?