it ironic if a man rape a 13 year old boy we will take up wi lass but if a man rape a 13 year old girl a fi her fault fi nuff a we people. Ah Bwoy
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
What are the influences in Jamaica Culture ? (The set of shared attitudes, values, goals, and practices that characterizes an institution, organization or group)
Just took a look at this post. There is so much that is disgusting in JA that in my swift look at topics I skipped this.
Attempts to put us on the right track - I first wrote "...back on the right track" , then I realised that would not be true as some level of these types of activities have been with us from times long past...Hey, I went to primary school at Ochie in the 50s when the 'pink house' or some such house of ill repute came on the scene...and young as I was I knew it had all ages involved in these types behaviour - is a task for the entire society.
Some of us here think this type behaviour is new to Jamaica. It is not. As the access to information increase what was 'hidden' (It surely was not) gains greater exposure and as the activities become more widely known more persons gravitate to it.
This type 'exploitation' or 'embrace' of the activities is driven by perceived economic gain. (Ironic: Turn to Dr. Phill on ABC now. His 9.00am - 10.00 show)
It has to be attacked on 'all' fronts - in homes, in schools, in churches, private investors and and by politicians...as with any crime, the problem will not go away, but will decrease if economic activity is such that 'all' have full bellies'. Yup! it is my belief...satisfy by legitimate means hope and economic/financial stability of the people and crime...all crimes shall tend to decrease/trend downwards.
Just took a look at this post. There is so much that is disgusting in JA that in my swift look at topics I skipped this.
Attempts to put us on the right track - I first wrote "...back on the right track" , then I realised that would not be true as some level of these types of activities have been with us from times long past...Hey, I went to primary school at Ochie in the 50s when the 'pink house' or some such house of ill repute came on the scene...and young as I was I knew it had all ages involved in these types behaviour - is a task for the entire society.
Some of us here think this type behaviour is new to Jamaica. It is not. As the access to information increase what was 'hidden' (It surely was not) gains greater exposure and as the activities become more widely known more persons gravitate to it.
This type 'exploitation' or 'embrace' of the activities is driven by perceived economic gain. (Ironic: Turn to Dr. Phill on ABC now. His 9.00am - 10.00 show)
It has to be attacked on 'all' fronts - in homes, in schools, in churches, private investors and and by politicians...as with any crime, the problem will not go away, but will decrease if economic activity is such that 'all' have full bellies'. Yup! it is my belief...satisfy by legitimate means hope and economic/financial stability of the people and crime...all crimes shall tend to decrease/trend downwards.
One can make the academic case that there is "nothing new under the sun"....very true. However that simplistic truism misses the essence of the changes in Jamaica and their dangers.
My point is that the society has reached such a low state of decadence and spiritual degeneracy that the man in the street ACCEPTS sexual deviance such as child prostitution, open & predatory homosexual & bi-sexual behaviours, roaming transsexuals etc....as NORMAL or even POSITIVE.... on the basis that people have a right to satisfy their personal desires.... in the name of freedom and ...BEING LIKE ALIENS ARE IN OTHER SO CALLED ADVANCED COUNTRIES.
The normalization of such deviant behaviours is what's new to Jamaica...and utterly destructive.
People can accept this moral corruption if they want.... I am not among those who accept the moral rot that has overtaken Jamaica.... it goes way beyond people exercising personal freedoms.
That moral rot is part & parcel of the road to destruction Jamaica is currently on.... reversing the spiritual degeneracy is part of our solution. Accepting it is part of the problem.