• Histrionic personality disorder

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Histrionic personality disorder (HPD) is defined by the American Psychiatric Association as a personality disorder characterized by a pattern of excessive emotionality and attention-seeking, including an excessive need for approval and inappropriate seductiveness, usually beginning in early adulthood. These individuals are lively, dramatic, enthusiastic, and flirtatious.
    They may be inappropriately sexually provocative, express strong emotions with an impressionistic style, and be easily influenced by others. Associated features may include egocentrism, self-indulgence, continuous longing for appreciation, feelings that are easily hurt, and persistent manipulative behaviour to achieve their own needs.

what in dat coconut water, Exile?

...and you say you're not combative in 2010! ...LOL

yuh spike him drink, PR?

Excellent Post!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
          Histrionic personality disorder (HPD) is defined by the American Psychiatric Association as a personality disorder characterized by a pattern of excessive emotionality and attention-seeking, including an excessive need for approval and inappropriate seductiveness, usually beginning in early adulthood. These individuals are lively, dramatic, enthusiastic, and flirtatious.
          They may be inappropriately sexually provocative, express strong emotions with an impressionistic style, and be easily influenced by others. Associated features may include egocentrism, self-indulgence, continuous longing for appreciation, feelings that are easily hurt, and persistent manipulative behaviour to achieve their own needs.
          The post above made interesting reading, and the fact that it was posted by an experienced psychiatrist gives added weight.

Now, looking at responses in the original thread that has now influenced this excellent nonsensical Wikipedia extract, I learnt from responses in that thread that my “past comments” were a major factor in that unnecessary debate. I am very, very thankful that this has been pointed out to me, and my reason for saying this will become clear as this sordid year drags on.

But back to the issue at hand, and this is my final comment on the matter: What I’d like to know is where in my comment did I draw a comparison between returning residents on the one hand and, on the other, Jamaicans who never left the island to live elsewhere? In fact, our various governments and their failure to provide security in the country (for citizens, residents and visitors) was in the back of my mind while typing my thread-starting comments.

The subject was “returning residents,” and so naturally I made the comment that they deserve better than to return to a life where (unlike the situation when many of them had migrated decades ago) fear plays an overriding part. Where did I even allude to they deserving better than Jamaicans who remained at home (and who were not in any way a subject of my comment or my posted article)?

But then again, this forum is a clear microcosm of tribal, politically-torn Jamaica. Do I need to tolerate further idiocy in the year 2010?

Finally, Jangle, Islandman, TDowl, Assasin, and Wvbs, I truly enjoyed those musical exchanges, gentlemen ! I learnt much from your very interesting comments, and I hope you likewise learnt from my many musical posts ! Maudib and Bricktop, you two were always very humorous (in different ways, of course), although the comments you both made could have sometimes been more detailed . (And don’t worry about our dancehall differences, Bricktop, it’s all a part of life.)

Quite clearly, as far as RBSC is concerned, the truly sensible ones, in all of this, are people like Matter, Scaly, Mexx, Princess, Legend, Yuttie, etc., as they saw the light long before I did and moved on.
          Last edited by Historian; January 2, 2010, 12:25 PM.

No need for you to run away. We need all kinds to make the forum flourish...hey maybe you didn't have your coffee...or whatever Rx you take in the morning...don't be so thinned-skinned....I may not have your endorsement as a sensible one but some of your posts are good (not today though) and since I've been quoting Bob:
            "Mi seh mi throw mi corn, mi no call nuh fowl".
            Don't take this so personal - it's just a message board.

Nutten, nutten at all - pure and pristine.

Historian,

I know you say it's your last comment on the matter....but to say that RRs "deserve better" distinguishes them from "stay at home Jamaicans" no matter how you slice it, implicitly you've created another class of Jamaican (notwithstanding there is an association etc etc and probably for good reasons). To pursue a line that you are not comparing but simply speaking about this particular group in itself reinforces a "them" "us" situation, regardless of whether that is your intent; it should just be, " ALL JAMAICANS deserve better" punto final.

Let's ALL have a blessed 2010 for at the end of the day I think we all want the same thing for ourselves and country.

Having said that , to say "RRs deserve better" is not incorrect if as a "group" it is proven that they are being treated worse than the average Jamaican... are they?

Prove it.

not the ones in my districts, them love it and they are protected by the residents.

ha ha!

i knew this was going to be his response. if you disagree with him, then you are an idiot and not worth his time.

historian, i hate to see you go, but if a suh, a suh!

So Mosiah, tell me, who is the idiot here?

That's why I said "if it is proven"... I have no stats to say that any particular group is more targeted than any other, I suspect stats could indicate that if you are poor, black, male, between the ages of 15-30 you are in real jeopardy of losing life or limb, or if you are over 65 likely to be mugged, or a teenage girl you are more likely to be victim of rape or incest, etc etc... I hope Historian will read and understand that we are at risk to varying degrees, but WE ALL DESERVE BETTER...

Didn't seem to me like he was comparing them.

It is the same as him saying in a post that the people of whatever town deserve better from their govt. Doesn't mean they deserve better than people in other towns and parishes.

I think he already knows that the people living in Jamaica, who did not leave at all, deserve better. Normally I am not a fan of Historians rambling, but I think his initial post is being misunderstood.