The "petard" is a useful tool. Ain't nuttin wrong widdit. Just don't fall on it!
... and I quote, "The BEST crisis
Originally posted by Islandman View PostOk , so since Seaga (sometimes literally) beat off all JLP challengers for 30 years he must be the most popular leader of all!
Come Lazie, me know you can do better than that.
Seaga on the other hand did the best job as PM/ MOF since 1972 and look how he was treated?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Lazie View PostWell many ites over the years have pointed to that smokescreen. Look at the flip side, for how many years have the comrades been holding hands, singing together and shouting "Farwud" as Karl love to say, as our economy headed in the wrong direction? Mi see Lionpaw a talk bout progress wha day ....
The X in the Jamaican flag must be for the choices we'll always make.
All the PNP had to do was play the Seaga card... association with Tivoii, thugs & violence, internal divisions in the JLP & general arrogance etcTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Don1 View PostSeaga is/was a competent technocrat as Islandman states.
I don't believe in his one don style or in his trickle down economic model or his social practices of encouraging garrisonization.
Seaga is not a solution for Jamaica in my opinion...maybe as a finance minister with a wise leader to control the fellow.... not as a leader.
In the 1980s Seaga was Reagan's favorite child and the US underwrote his entire economic program because they could not allow him to fail, having invested heavily to ensure Manley's failure...aided by Manley himself of course.
Seaga was the the FIRST foreign leader to visit Reagan...UNPRECEDENTED! That's usually by protocol the Canadian, Mexican or some W European leader..a sign of his political & strategic importance to Reagan
The CBI & consequent 809 garment program was virtually designed for Seaga by the Reagan administration as political payback for defeating Manley with CIA assistance.
The economic growth of the 1980s was not achieved by any brilliant policy making...it was mainly politically driven...but Seaga played his trickle down cards well. Jamaica had some growth...but what development?
The rich got richer and the poor suck salt tru wooden spoon.
Jamaica cannot expect that type of personal/ideological support from any major power now.... so a Seaga one don approach is a non starter.... in my opinion.
Boy, when will we learn."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Don1 View PostMy point is that through Seaga's poor leadership the JLP continually gifted Jamaica to the PNP...leading to their hubris and failure.
All the PNP had to do was play the Seaga card... association with Tivoii, thugs & violence, internal divisions in the JLP & general arrogance etc"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Maudib View PostHeh, heh...
Talk it Don1 .. Talk it !
Willi.. hope yuh ah listen..TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Lazie View PostI couldn't careless if Seaga had made a deal with Lucifer himself, the numbers don't lie. Wouldn't it be good for us if Bush and Obama had taken the same approach as Reagan?
Boy, when will we learn.
The ideological divide is gone.... so there is no interest from the US.... surely you know this?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Lazie View PostMi see that. The point is, where did it put us? We always seem to focus on the wrong things. Check the UN HDI stats.
Neither party acting as they do now can make much of an impression.
So...we need a new way...that's my point.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Don1 View PostPerhaps it would but times have long changed...those daze are over...didn't you realize?
The ideological divide is gone.... so there is no interest from the US.... surely you know this?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Lazie View PostIn case you missed it, I was being sarcastic. We shot ourselves in the foot 2 decades ago and now its haunting us. But lets just do like the rest of the misguided masses and blame the current oppressive capitalistic gov't.
Solution mi ah defen an mi nuh si nuhbaddy wid nutten promising.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Seaga maybe the best we have had at analysis and public policies. As seen in his advice to Seaga and Omar Davis while in opposition.
He is sometimes too abrupt in language for a politician and sometimes talk before thinking of good ways to present what he should. He also believe in himself and sometimes limit others. With Seaga it is either you are with him or against him. He has made many people left the JLP, some deserving and some not.
His communication as the leader of the JLP leaves nuff to be desired and he should have been a team player and did what his friend Sir John Compton did. Resign and do what he is doing now then come back but to be in the public eye as an embattled JLP leader was going to make it hard to be elected.
After been in JLP for 30 years he should have groomed a suitable leader and this was also a short coming instead of him saying nobody was suitable to lead the JLP. He is still bitter at Bruce and in the interest of Jamaica he should make himself available for consultation and suggestions.
I enjoy reading his column and the few conversation I had with him was of high quality but he has very and less effective communication skills. M.Manley, PJ Patterson and Bruce Golding are better at public communication.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostSeaga maybe the best we have had at analysis and public policies. As seen in his advice to Seaga and Omar Davis while in opposition.
He is sometimes too abrupt in language for a politician and sometimes talk before thinking of good ways to present what he should. He also believe in himself and sometimes limit others. With Seaga it is either you are with him or against him. He has made many people left the JLP, some deserving and some not.
His communication as the leader of the JLP leaves nuff to be desired and he should have been a team player and did what his friend Sir John Compton did. Resign and do what he is doing now then come back but to be in the public eye as an embattled JLP leader was going to make it hard to be elected.
After been in JLP for 30 years he should have groomed a suitable leader and this was also a short coming instead of him saying nobody was suitable to lead the JLP. He is still bitter at Bruce and in the interest of Jamaica he should make himself available for consultation and suggestions.
I enjoy reading his column and the few conversation I had with him was of high quality but he has very and less effective communication skills. M.Manley, PJ Patterson and Bruce Golding are better at public communication.
I see you agree he is a techocrat and not a leader.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE