The problem with Jamaica and taxes

• The problem with Jamaica and taxes

Most people don't want to pay any taxes. the fact is nuff people cry about been poor. Yes the poor must be protected and be given every opportunity at success but we have a problem when only 5000 people paying PAYE(as stated by the Prime Minister)

DJs and singers making money off special and dance, no tax is paid. Doctors have their office and no tax is paid. Taxi man pay don on corner protection money and so too businessmen instead of paying to the state, hairdresser don't pay tax and everybody in the middle class think they should get a break and we are all "suffera".

We all need representation in road, education, water, healthcare, light and housing and it is the duty of the government to provide it at a decent price. In return we should do our duty and be willing to pay some tax.

the fact is the IMF see the taxing structure in Jamaica and see how hard it is to collect so the easiest way them and the JLP could come up with to get them money is to tax consumable products. We should be outrage when only 5000 people paying PAYE but I don't see the outrage. We should be outrage at the way custom is beaten and imported goods are been brought in. We should be outrage when successful business people, entertainers etc. don't pay their taxes. In a society where everybody is "poor" who pay the taxes? At the same time government have to be creative in creating revenue streams.

There is not a lot of choice but to raise consumable, gas and land tax. It is time we realise somebody have to pay or everybody going to have to pay.

Some of the items shouldn't be taxed in my opinion but let us not turn thing around in the next six month and see what happen. Not only will there be a bigger tax package, devaluation and even more job layoff but a default on our loan is an option.

The JLP and PNP better work this out and not destroy the country any more. It is a slippery slope.

Sass, I was in agreement with you until the last line. Check and see who destroyed the country's economy. Look and see who is trying to clean up the mess. Look and see who is trying to destroy the IMF deal.

Lazie the PNP better realise if the JLP should fold tomorrow it will be worst for them.

We all know the history of the last 20 years, and the PNP know we need the IMF NOW even though they have never said it publicly. To not get an IMF agreement or to fail the test right now is not in the interest of the PNP, TRUST ME ON THAT.

Lazie the PNP better realise if the JLP should fold tomorrow it will be worst for them.

We all know the history of the last 20 years, and the PNP know we need the IMF NOW even though they have never said it publicly. To not get an IMF agreement or to fail the test right now is not in the interest of the PNP, TRUST ME ON THAT.
        Me and you know that. The question is, does Portia and her merry men know that?

The interest of the PNP ?

What do you believe is the interest of the PNP ??

Yuh ever hear bout Ruling in Hell ?

For the Jamaican people, not for the PNP.

Politicians do not think that way, in thier world it is ALWAYS better for them if they are in power even if its anarchy all around.

Yuh have Politicians and yuh have Politicians...

"We always believe we are best for the country, so ANYTHING that will cause us to be in power is therefore best for the country.."

PNP tell yuh straight... don't get it twisted..

Yuh have Politicians and yuh have Politicians...

"We always believe we are best for the country, so ANYTHING that will cause us to be in power is therefore best for the country.."

PNP tell yuh straight... don't get it twisted..
                WoW! That sounds so similar to your compadre's beliefs!

Therein lies Jamaica's problem.

When yuh finish leaping. provide us with some facts..

Maybe Jamaicans are happy with things as they are...U never know.

Me and you know that. The question is, does Portia and her merry men know that?
                      tourism gone through the window , remittance nuh di-dae ! thank god fi di chiney cau ah only dem a tek wi
                      bauxite , mi glad IMF come back cause in the long run interest rate will go
                      down . Seaga use to say , bitter medicine cure .
                      Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                      United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                      happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
                      Probably forthcoming...

When yuh finish leaping. provide us with some facts..
                        one just has to observe your posts...you seem to be a reliable reflection of the JLP line.