Omar & Audley: Showdown of the Ignoramuses

• Omar & Audley: Showdown of the Ignoramuses

Through thick and thin - Government stands by finance minister - Opposition spokesman calls Shaw ignorant
    Published: Tuesday | December 22, 2009

Daraine Luton, Senior Staff Reporter

( L - R ) Shaw, Golding

Government says it is standing by Audley Shaw as the country's finance minister.

Information Minister Daryl Vaz told The Gleaner yesterday that the call for Shaw's head is unfortunate and that he enjoys the confidence of the Cabinet.

"Many other countries that are in a better position than Jamaica have done the same thing," Vaz said in defending Shaw for revising his Budget twice since he first tabled it in April.

"The fact of the matter is that in a recession like this, things change from minute to minute, not day to day and, therefore, whatever decision has been taken in terms of the tax package that was tabled, was taken as a collective decision by all of Cabinet, not one minister. He, therefore, has the full support of the Cabinet and the prime minister as we go forward in trying to solve the problems that we are facing," Vaz added.

Reviewing tax package

On Sunday, the officers of the People's National Party (PNP) called on Prime Minister Bruce Golding to sack Shaw as the minister of finance.

The call came just over an hour after Prime Minister Golding announced that he would be reviewing the $21.7-billion tax bundle that Shaw tabled in Parliament last Thursday.

According to the PNP, it was worrisome that the prime minister called for a review of the tax package in less than 72 hours.

It said that "this being the third review of a budget presented by Shaw within eight months, it is the third strike" against Shaw.

"The principle of three strikes and you are out applies," the PNP said, while noting that firing Shaw as finance minister was "the only way to salvage the waning credibility of this administration".

On Sunday, PNP heavyweights, led by Dr Omar Davies and Peter Bunting, pummelled Shaw for his handling of the economy.

Davies said Shaw's reign has been marred by "confusion" and "madness".

In pointing to the decision of the Government to request that the Bank of Jamaica print $3 billion for it to pay its creditors, Davies said runs counter to Shaw's mantra as a low interest-rate man.

But it was not just the mantra, but Shaw's knowledge and handling of the country's purse that have irked Davies.

Ignorant shaw

The opposition spokesman said Shaw was ignorant after he could not put a figure to any previous request from Government to print money.

Bunting had earlier said Shaw was hiding the figures.

"He does not know and Comrade Bunting refuses to believe that his minister of finance does not know," Davies said.

According to Davies, the party has moved past scoring political points and is concerned about the image of confusion that Shaw has created at the Ministry of Finance.

"They had Supplementary at the end of the financial year (2008-2009). Then they came this year and they had a budget that we rebuffed.

"It was an embarrassing budget ... . It don't look good for a government to be presenting a document and piece here and piece there and they don't know. It don't look good. It look chacka-chacka and we look Third World," Davies said.

The former finance minister said he had also warned Shaw about putting in place a credible framework before going to the International Monetary Fund for balance-of-trade support.

According to Davies, in the minister's response to questions in Parliament and a ministry paper tabled, there seemed to be no framework on which Shaw was pegging the country's direction.

daraine.luton@gleanerjm.com

I don't see where Shaw had anything to say in this article. Anyway, Jamaicans regard Omar as the best Finance Minister we've ever had. If you got such a label wouldn't you be constantly talking as well?

Wasn't aware that Jamaicans (generally) so regarded Omar....news to me.

Shaw has done his talking with his handling or lack thereof, of the finance portfolio.

Wasn't aware that Jamaicans (generally) so regarded Omar....news to me.

Shaw has done his talking with his handling or lack thereof, of the finance portfolio.
        Lack of? I will admit that some of the items taxed seems harsh. However, seeing that we want the "best" services, how is it to be paid for? The continuous borrowing have to stop at some point. The day people start realizing that ... then.

Other countries raise taxes, yet we bitch and complain.

Lack of? I will admit that some of the items taxed seems harsh. However, seeing that we want the "best" services, how is it to be paid for? The continuous borrowing have to stop at some point. The day people start realizing that ... then.

Unfortunately people are generally concerned with the moment and what politicians do for them now.... especially the swing voters who decide Jamaican elections.

Macro economic issues as well as historical issues of causation have little relevance to Joe Red Stripe..

I'll remember that.

The point, Lazie, is that the taxes should be felt equally by all, as much as possible. This is not the case now.

Not the case?

Jan. 1 nuh come yet!

The pre-release was a samfie. I suspect it was never even expected to pass.

Tek time wid dem..

Ah Tic-Tac-Toe dem used tuh..

that has been their modus operandi from day 1.

True...

Call it a PJ special....LoL

Dem have yuh pouncing on shadows from day 1..

wuss di PNP..

pace yuhself and watch out fi traps.. PNP a rush headlong.. dem nuh si di traps Bruce ah set fi dem..

lol !

Mi nuh tell dem seh dem nevah si a PM like Bruce yet..

Dem nuh unnastan wheh dem a deal wid...

Is long time Bruce ah study inna exile !

Too late dem will find out.. Shaolin Mastah come wid a NEW Style !

Yuh know wheh name Hard Talk ?

Dem tink a TVJ or CVM production at ?

I'll remember that.

The point, Lazie, is that the taxes should be felt equally by all, as much as possible. This is not the case now.
                          Thats been the cry from when. These guys increased the income tax threshold, giving some relief to the PAYE victims and then spread the tax on items consumed. Wasn't that the call from when? Since people not paying the taxes, get them at the cash register. But all I'm hearing is that its only the poor. Heard one woman lamenting about the tax on tampons, asking what poor people fi duh?

I was amazed as I was of the impression that rich people would pay taxes to used those products as well.

Nobody likes to pay taxes Mosiah, ESPECIALLY Jamaicans. This notion that rich ppl must pay for the rest is fantasy land foolishness. How many man rich off a entertainment event? Now promoters a complain that GCT must be charged?

I wasn't good at math. An item valued at J$100 would now cost how much with the 17.5% GCT?

Not the case?

Jan. 1 nuh come yet!

The pre-release was a samfie. I suspect it was never even expected to pass.
                            Yuh buy dat? Yuh waan Flat Bridge tuh?

Yuh nuh do pre-release inna Parliament den haffi tek liks an shame face...dat ah madness... Now im ah guh mek it look like PNP strent force im fi flip flop.

Yuh du pre release inna media ..."trial balloon" dem kall it..

Bruce ah nuh strategist.... im nah get nuh ratings dehsuh..sarry

As Mo seh, it has been his modus all along.
                              Prime for the worse and make reality a bit better.