• Vaunted energy projects dissolve

Italian company shelves plans to acquire Frome, Monymusk and Bernard Lodge
    But Golding says Eridania Suisse wants 'to continue working with us'
    BY ALICIA DUNKLEY Sunday Observer staff reporter dunkleya@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, December 20, 2009

ITALIAN company Eridania Suisse, which had been a frontrunner in the bid to acquire the remaining three state-owned sugar estates being divested by the Jamaican Government, has shelved those plans.
    Prime Minister Bruce Golding told a special sitting of Parliament last Thursday that the negotiations hit a rut, which resulted in the entity only committing to continue "working" with Jamaica to ensure the viability of the three estates Frome, Monymusk and Bernard Lodge, instead of purchasing them.
    Eridania Suisse -- which was one of four bidders shortlisted by the Government in May as it sought to take the country's loss-making sugar industry off the public purse -- had in July of this year inked a US$15-million interim financing deal to save the current sugar crop, with the understanding that the Government would in return supply it with 79,000 tonnes of raw sugar in the 2009/2010 crop year.

Full Hundred

US$1.2 billion price tag halts Petrojam expansion
    Alicia Dunkley
    PLANNED expansion work on the Petrojam Oil Refinery has hit a snag and will be halted -- at least in the short to medium term -- the Government announced last week as it continued to reel under increasing fiscal pressures.
    Prime Minister Bruce Golding said this decision was taken after the estimated cost of the project -- part of a joint venture agreement with Venezuela through its state oil company PDVSA which acquired 49 per cent of the shares -- doubled.
    "We have a problem regarding the Petrojam refinery," Golding announced in Parliament last Thursday, shortly after Finance Minister Audley Shaw introduced new tax measures.

Full Hundred

Seee now this is why we are the laughing stock around the world and no one will tell us that we are naked.

For years we have been turning out scientists and engineers (please don't come with "oh they all migrated" argument nuff more deh ah yaad. Every year the school dem haff graduation.

When time to put our knowledge (yes look up this word) to use. Ja has to look yonder. First we must ask what is it that they have that we don't? is it that they have two heads or we are just intellectually inferior and belong in special ed.
    I think none of the above. It's our mentality and approach to this world. We don't respect each other so if a electrician make some suggestions ; we scoff and say who is he? he doesn't know advanced science like I do. I worked on great many problems in school. The truth is the electrician really knows more because he has practical experience. If this electrician should say look in the back of your text books and tell me what you see? The answers. Okay now find out how many copies of the book that has been sold? Ok there you go, you still feel as if you know anything? Go try to find the formulas,chemical components et al that made the golden gate bridge or went into the design of that nice lexus or bimmer that you so love and see if it will be given to you. Better yet can you make any of the above mentioned? Aaaah that what's Garvey is talking about: you know nothing.

BTW if the above should ever happen in the US; you know that school would be closed and people go to jail (con men taking the govt. money)
    It's here in the states that I learn (yes another word look it up) how serious they take science. I have friend (Jakan) that majored in physics, graduated with honors, got a job downtown to code. One day they came out with a new apps and he asked his boss if he is gonna go for training with the rest. You know what his boss said? No you are too smart for that, I will just give you the manuals, you then figure it out. I got a job because the boss knew of my science background: one day he saw me on the phone back and forth with microsoft. he asked what was the problem and I told him I was resolving it with msoft by escalating it with different experts. The director said no, I want you to solve it and walked away. I did solve it and it taught me a lesson to this day.

Moral of the story: When confronted with these techical matters; Bruce, Portia or whoever is PM should go up to UWI & UTECH and drop the folder with the problem and say call me with the solutions, then leave to take care of other issues that are pressing. I'm serious.

What are we doing? Are we going to keep begging left, right and center? Can't we do anything for ourselves? Small wonder we are in so much debt.

We also need to learn humility and respect. I happen to know a jakan that was vice President of a college. This person told me that; whenever she sends her kids back home she sends them to her country (Mt.Pisgah St James) and tells them to listen to the older folks and respect what they ahve to say. This person is some phd. from harvard. Told me that most people don't know of the Ivy creditials only when it's necessary it's made known.

Wi haff too much big money mentality, big dis, big dat and it's for this reason why con man could tell us about ten percent per month. Almost wrecked the Jakan economy.
    Last edited by Jawge; December 20, 2009, 10:35 PM.

Seee now this is why we are the laughing stock around the world and no one will tell us that we are naked.

For years we have been turning out scientists and engineers (please don't come with "oh they all migrated" argument nuff more deh ah yaad. Every year the school dem haff graduation.

When time to put our knowledge (yes look up this word) to use. Ja has to look yonder. First we must ask what is it that they have that we don't? is it that they have two heads or we are just intellectually inferior and belong in special ed.
      I think none of the above. It's our mentality and approach to this world. We don't respect each other so if a electrician make some suggestions ; we scoff and say who is he? he doesn't know advanced science like I do. I worked on great many problems in school. The truth is the electrician really knows more because he has practical experience. If this electrician should say look in the back of your text books and tell me what you see? The answers. Okay now find out how many copies of the book that has been sold? Ok there you go, you still feel as if you know anything? Go try to find the formulas,chemical components et al that made the golden gate bridge or went into the design of that nice lexus or bimmer that you so love and see if it will be given to you. Better yet can you make any of the above mentioned? Aaaah that what's Garvey is talking about: you know nothing.

BTW if the above should ever happen in the US; you know that school would be closed and people go to jail (con men taking the govt. money)
      It's here in the states that I learn (yes another word look it up) how serious they take science. I have friend (Jakan) that majored in physics, graduated with honors, got a job downtown to code. One day they came out with a new apps and he asked his boss if he is gonna go for training with the rest. You know what his boss said? No you are too smart for that, I will just give you the manuals, you then figure it out. I got a job because the boss knew of my science background: one day he saw me on the phone back and forth with microsoft. he asked what was the problem and I told him I was resolving it with msoft by escalating it with different experts. The director said no, I want you to solve it and walked away. I did solve it and it taught me a lesson to this day.

Moral of the story: When confronted with these techical matters; Bruce, Portia or whoever is PM should go up to UWI & UTECH and drop the folder with the problem and say call me with the solutions, then leave to take care of other issues that are pressing. I'm serious.

What are we doing? Are we going to keep begging left, right and center? Can't we do anything for ourselves? Small wonder we are in so much debt.

We also need to learn humility and respect. I happen to know a jakan that was vice President of a college. This person told me that; whenever she sends her kids back home she sends them to her country (Mt.Pisgah St James) and tells them to listen to the older folks and respect what they ahve to say. This person is some phd. from harvard. Told me that most people don't know of the Ivy creditials only when it's necessary it's made known.

Wi haff too much big money mentality, big dis, big dat and it's for this reason why con man could tell us about ten percent per month. Almost wrecked the Jakan economy.
      Nuh worry yuhself.. wi ah wuk pan dat... the Digital Yard Project soon release fi high schoolers.... BIG TINGS.

If yuh waan Maldon involve...mi will sen yuh ah paper pon dat...but unnu haffi organize unnuself... strait.

You can , do it after the holidays though. Ah so it should ah go fram long time. We would have been the "Germany" of this region (an nuh haffi walk an beg nutten; wi too proud fi dat) Yuh done know say some ah go say mi tink too big, ray ,ray, ray.

aldo nuff man ah suffa ah foreign...di diaspora haffi step up big inna dem crisis ah yaad.

Jawge,

Yuh finally wake up! LoL

Good post.

I know a satellite TV installer in Jamdung, was a good friend of mine. Dont think he could read all that well...BUT NOBODY could install a dish like him. He even had tricks to boost reception like filing down the lip of the feedhorn, etc.

Installing a paraclipse dish is no mean feat. I requires an understanding of the engineering involved. This fellow thru apprenticeship learned all this and more with a poor level of formal education.

So yeah, I know we have talented people all over.

Talent is rarely a shortage for any country, it is organization and leadership.

You must have heard of this youth ? Imagine how many more like him are all over the world.

William Kamkwamba, the boy who harnessed the wind:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=arD374MFk4w

http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/eng/wi..._the_wind.html

Ted.com is taking off like a storm!

Great conference and community. Wish i could attend one but too high end for me. I will have to make do with watching the regularly released video podcasts. LOL.

Them say the main conference that cost bout 6 grand sell out a year in advance. Nuff high rollers in tech, science, etc.

Talent is rarely a shortage for any country, it is organization and leadership.

You must have heard of this youth ? Imagine how many more like him are all over the world.

William Kamkwamba, the boy who harnessed the wind:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=arD374MFk4w

http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/eng/wi..._the_wind.html
                    Simply wonderful story.

Italian company shelves plans to acquire Frome, Monymusk and Bernard Lodge
                      But Golding says Eridania Suisse wants 'to continue working with us'
                      BY ALICIA DUNKLEY Sunday Observer staff reporter dunkleya@jamaicaobserver.com

ITALIAN company Eridania Suisse, which had been a frontrunner in the bid to acquire the remaining three state-owned sugar estates being divested by the Jamaican Government, has shelved those plans.
                      Prime Minister Bruce Golding told a special sitting of Parliament last Thursday that the negotiations hit a rut, which resulted in the entity only committing to continue "working" with Jamaica to ensure the viability of the three estates Frome, Monymusk and Bernard Lodge, instead of purchasing them.
                      Eridania Suisse -- which was one of four bidders shortlisted by the Government in May as it sought to take the country's loss-making sugar industry off the public purse -- had in July of this year inked a US$15-million interim financing deal to save the current sugar crop, with the understanding that the Government would in return supply it with 79,000 tonnes of raw sugar in the 2009/2010 crop year.

Full Hundred

US$1.2 billion price tag halts Petrojam expansion
                      Alicia Dunkley
                      PLANNED expansion work on the Petrojam Oil Refinery has hit a snag and will be halted -- at least in the short to medium term -- the Government announced last week as it continued to reel under increasing fiscal pressures.
                      Prime Minister Bruce Golding said this decision was taken after the estimated cost of the project -- part of a joint venture agreement with Venezuela through its state oil company PDVSA which acquired 49 per cent of the shares -- doubled.
                      "We have a problem regarding the Petrojam refinery," Golding announced in Parliament last Thursday, shortly after Finance Minister Audley Shaw introduced new tax measures.

Full Hundred
                      That is Aubyn Hill's reaction!