• Movement of JA People

EXODUS! Nurses, young professionals look to leave

Published: Sunday | December 20, 2009

Athaliah Reynolds, Staff Reporter

Between 1999 and 2009, of Jamaicans over the age of 25 with university education, 89,000 remained in the island, while 291,000 migrated

SEVERAL YOUNG professionals in the public and private sectors are warning that a spate of mass migration is on the horizon if the Government does not clean up its act and roll back the new tax package.

Charmaine Murray, a registered nurse at the Kingston Public Hospital (KPH), argued that the country would suffer from increased brain drain, particularly in the nursing and teaching professions, as a result of the two-year wage freeze and an increase in taxation on basic food items.

"Migration is a must!" the 27-year-old told The Sunday Gleaner recently. Murray has been working at the KPH for the past three years and said it was no longer a question of whether she would be leaving the island, but when.

She said most of her colleagues shared the same view and many had already started the paperwork to migrate to either Canada or the United States.

"Many have been thinking about leaving from (the prime minister) reneged on his promise to increase our salaries, so this new tax announcement is just icing on the cake," she said. "It is almost like he is confirming the need for us to leave."

aim is to leave

Murray, who admitted to being "bitter", said the prospects for young university-educated Jamaicans were dim. "There's nothing here for us to live off," she said. "I'm not thinking about how I'm going to cope here; the aim is just to leave."

She continued: "You don't realise that we can't live here? If you're not getting an increase in salary and yet your expenses are going up, how is it possible to make ends meet?"

Several other young professionals in the health and education sector shared Murray's views.

Winston Grey, a 26-year-old doctor who works at a Corporate Area public-health facility, is also looking at prospects overseas.

"Migration is an option that many young professionals are considering. When I was in university studying, it was never one of the things that crossed my mind, but now I am giving serious consideration to it.

"The recently announced tax package and the wage freeze have served only to compound the struggles of young doctors, many of whom have student loans and many other financial obligations to meet.

"Many people are of the view that we are well-paid, but they have no idea what our struggles are like. It has reached boiling point now, and like me, I am sure many persons in the profession are going to be examining all our options, and migration is among them," said the young doctor.

serious option

Dwayne Graham*, a 29-year-old mathematics teacher, said he had never thought about leaving his country before, but recently, it had become a serious option.

"It's not about the recession, because the economic problems are everywhere, but I believe this country is offering less and less to young people as the years go by," Graham said.

"The truth is I don't think the Government is seriously thinking about many of the decisions it makes.

"How do they expect people to survive when they say you won't get a wage increase until 2012, but yet they announce one of the most ambitious tax packages in the country's history?" he asked.

Figures from the Planning Institute of Jamaica published in 2006 showed that for every tertiary-educated Jamaican living in the island, there were more than three living abroad.

migration statistics

According to the study, from the start of this decade, of the Jamaicans over the age of 25 with university education, 89,000 continued to stay in the island, while 291,000 forged their destinies elsewhere.

However, Junior Rose, president of the Jamaica Association of Young Professionals, is encouraging young university graduates to stay put and help to dig the country out of the social and economical pit in which it is buried.

"I know things are hard, but leaving shouldn't be at the forefront of our minds," he said. "This is our country and history is going to record what we do during this time of hardship."

Rose said young university graduates have a responsibility to seek to find ways to solve Jamaica's problems. "Jamaica is depending on us," he said.

"I certainly don't support some of these measures, but this is my country," he added.

*Names changed on request.

athaliah.reynolds@gleanerjm.com

Well Canada is a good option but the US at the moment is not great unless you are in healthcare.

Nuff professionals who came over the last year are not finding it EASY at all.

Well Canada is a good option but the US at the moment is not great unless you are in healthcare.

Nuff professionals who came over the last year are not finding it EASY at all.
      All that is true..but, the accelerating exodus is alarming. The country's human resources will be further debased & development prospects much dimmer.

Jamaica badly needs a national mission people can subscribe to....not political parties.

If they can't find it now, when are they going to find it?

don't ovastan dis

Well leadership normally come to the forefront in crisis time.

whoever needs to lead this change need to step up now. The time is ripe and has been ripe for a long time.

It Is Certainly Alarming!

All that is true..but, the accelerating exodus is alarming. The country's human resources will be further debased & development prospects much dimmer.

Jamaica badly needs a national mission people can subscribe to....not political parties.
              That’s what I was thinking earlier this morning while reading the Sunday Gleaner! The sad truth is that all that we’ve been doing over the past couple of decades is prepare our talented young professionals for the building of other countries’ societies, to the detriment of Jamaica. Now, this foolhardy situation has suddenly gotten worse!

Ironically, while the majority of such Jamaican professionals have been quietly but effectively contributing to the development of economies in their adopted countries, what tends to make the headlines are the comparatively small number of (often uneducated) Jamaicans who become involved in crimes in those countries.

But back to this thread: While Jamaica has always had its citizens migrating to Britain, North America and the Caribbean, what has happened over the last decade, based on the Gleaner’s statistics, is most certainly great cause for concern! Now, as a result of the depressing social, political and economic situation in our country today, it seems that many who would never even have considered migrating are now strongly motivated to do so. This is very sad!

I would like to see comparative migration figures for Guyana, Jamaica and Suriname over the same period.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                That’s what I was thinking earlier this morning while reading the Sunday Gleaner! The sad truth is that all that we’ve been doing over the past couple of decades is prepare our talented young professionals for the building of other countries’ societies, to the detriment of Jamaica. Now, this foolhardy situation has suddenly gotten worse!

Ironically, while the majority of such Jamaican professionals have been quietly but effectively contributing to the development of economies in their adopted countries, what tends to make the headlines are the comparatively small number of (often uneducated) Jamaicans who become involved in crimes in those countries.

But back to this thread: While Jamaica has always had its citizens migrating to Britain, North America and the Caribbean, what has happened over the last decade, based on the Gleaner’s statistics, is most certainly great cause for concern! Now, as a result of the depressing social, political and economic situation in our country today, it seems that many who would never even have considered migrating are now strongly motivated to do so. This is very sad!

I would like to see comparative migration figures for Guyana, Jamaica and Suriname over the same period.
                On point!

For the comparative I would like to see migration stats from neighbours who are doing better than Jamaica.. Trinidad & Barbados

Well leadership normally come to the forefront in crisis time.

whoever needs to lead this change need to step up now. The time is ripe and has been ripe for a long time.
                  ok understood

Nothing alarming...rather a necessity.

....and it should be encouraged within the confines of our realities...i.e. huge numbers joining the work-force each year, increasing numbers of underemployed and unemployed, growing social unrest [increasing criminal activities, increasing corruption, etc. and slow increase in job growth (name all the reasons you care to name)...as people seek to survive]...but hand in hand with this forced method of keeping the lid on our pressure cooker of a society must be build out of great education system such that our needs for the professionals and other well qualified workers are met.

Nothing alarming...rather a necessity.

....and it should be encouraged within the confines of our realities...i.e. huge numbers joining the work-force each year, increasing numbers of underemployed and unemployed, growing social unrest [increasing criminal activities, increasing corruption, etc. and slow increase in job growth (name all the reasons you care to name)...as people seek to survive]...but hand in hand with this forced method of keeping the lid on our pressure cooker of a society must be build out of great education system such that our needs for the professionals and other well qualified workers are met.
                      i don't think that the professionals that the article references should be encouraged to leave nor are they responsible for much social unrest or criminal activity.

they will be hard and expensive to replace..the country will be increasingly dumbed down.

On point.

What we should be doing is lengthening the bond and if farrin wants them, they should pay to buy out the bond. That money could then be ploughed back into education.

Accelerating...

lol !

Yuh at least 10 years late..

Si dem and yuh know dem...

On point.

What we should be doing is lengthening the bond and if farrin wants them, they should pay to buy out the bond. That money could then be ploughed back into education.
                            agree

On point.

Don1 is not on point!

We are talking about 291,000 and the article clearly presents examples by excerpts of interviews from a representative number of the persons we were discussing. I introduced a reference to the constant annual 'topping up' of those to whom the article referenced.

Trying to shift the goal posts does not lead to being on point.

Yet...the additional point you have introduced on lengthening the bond and realizing some funds by your suggested 'buy out' is an excellent one.

The 'new' point Don1 makes on the professionals with the training and experience that we need shall be addressed by managing the exodus of professionals in a manner whereby our needs are fully satisfied. It is simple really, we can only absorb a small percentage of the numbers we 'throw-up' (and could throw up) each year. Make those positions which we want to fill be ones worth competing for fiercely. That will lead to the recruiting and the retaining of enough of 'the best of the best' to satisfy our needs and propel us onwards.

The nonsense about...for example, the furor created some years past about the compensation package of Gavin Chen and recently that of Latibeaudiere, is stuff people who can't see further than their noses or politicians who 'tek people fi fool' throw 'out there' ever so often.

What we need are persons who give value for money.

So let us attract and our keep our best...and keep exporting the tens of thousands for whom we cannot provide decent living and who will add as first generation and second generation migrants with their many connections with the island remitances at high volume and contribute in various other ways to the island and its people.