Gov't increases GCT and gas tax

There must be another way out of this...

Hey.. what about this Social Contract thing ?

Maybe we can satisfy debtors and the investment community if we show dem a Social Contract !

Dumb1.. yuh have a copy handy ?

well looking back in retrospect....

after all is said and done we should....

There must be another way out of this...

Hey.. what about this Social Contract thing ?

Maybe we can satisfy debtors and the investment community if we show dem a Social Contract !

Dumb1.. yuh have a copy handy ?
          Yuh is ah sick joke...jus like yuh tribe. Man ah tell unnun fram 2 year now seh unnu nuh ready...dat unnu certain fi flop....but unnu come wid di said fooliniss like di las set ah joka. Prophecy fulfill now.

Gwaan tink seh Jamaica salvation res in satisfying di "investment community"

Unnu ave tings backwards...den again ...ah suh yuh prefer it. LoL!!

Isn't it amusing how those that cheered when all the wrong moves were being made refuse to admit their error?

Some staunch supporters of the JLP seem to think so. And these are not supporters, but economists and financial analysts.

What does Cliff Hughes think about the tax package?

Good moves Bruce. It might hurt you politically, but something has to be done about this awful budget that we have.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                  Good moves Bruce. It might hurt you politically, but something has to be done about this awful budget that we have.
                  Bredren, some of the items taxed seems really harsh. Fi real. I was expecting them to tax additional items, but years ago Mr. Matalon had suggested that the GCT be decreased.

A 1% increase in the GCT is not a big deal. Maybe a lower tax on eggs, onions and garlic, salt, cornbeef, patties, syrup and sugar could have been proposed, but when tings tight, revenue is needed.

is that the best you can come up with? and you might be mistaken about who is hanging around young males.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                        A 1% increase in the GCT is not a big deal. Maybe a lower tax on eggs, onions and garlic, salt, cornbeef, patties, syrup and sugar could have been proposed, but when tings tight, revenue is needed.
                        Easy fi say Hortical. There is alot here for the gov't to be criticized for. Adding GCT to certain items, I don't see how they're going to collect that money. One analyst made a valid point that if tax revenues are already down, isn't increasing the tax going to cause the consumers to purchase less?

Boy dem say heavy is the head that wear the crown.

why waste more time that is neccessary on your juvenile antics ?

what same foolishness is that ?

Trying to equate the policies of the two Govt is rather stupid.. find another way to promote your Social Contract...

Is this the best that Bruce can come up with? I agree with the analysts that it's mostly the poor that suffers here. I expected tax increases on salaries at the high end, properties, per diem, allowances, invstment earnings, imports.
                              Did these guys do their homework or did they look for the easiest things to tax?

come on, why does the government pay these people? They also need to look at the amount of waste in public sector wages. I'm sure they could cut the 125 bilion by at least 10..they increased it by 40 so why can't they cut anything there?
                              This is definitely not good. I expect tax increase but not this

Patience.. y'all should be used to waiting.. the good thing is it will not take 19years and the direction will be positive not negative..

Where were y'all before this.. I have been searching the site pre-2007 and it is rather scanty of criticism.. especially considering the damage and debt that was piling up..

Don't tell me you are all like the frogs in the pot of water.. not aware of disaster till the water is boiling around you..?

I presume most of you went to 'decent' schools so it cannot be an issue of education..

A mystery indeed... (I refuse to subscribe to genetic lack of intelligence)