• Dancehall music seen as an immoral tornado

<DIV id=printReady>

published: Thursday | November 30, 2006 <DIV class=KonaBody xtUVI="true">

<B FzXKF="0" Cj_Ym="0">The Editor[/B]<B FzXKF="0" Cj_Ym="0">, Sir: [/B]<P FzXKF="0" Cj_Ym="0">Dancehall music is having a devastating effect on the moral upbringing of our children. This Jamaican tornado continues to batter and bruise the human fabric of a society whose human capital is depreciating rapidly. The lewd, vulgar and distasteful lyrics that are being belched out by these DJs on a regular basis are cause for concern. <P FzXKF="0" Cj_Ym="0">This type of music became prominent during the last decade of the last century. Why was this so? Because there was and is still a pocket of youths who saw themselves as victims of circumstances and were/are trying to escape the doldrums of poverty and such was the opportunity to do so. It was clear in their minds that the promotion of slackness among a generation who do not know whether they are fish or fowl would amass them the wealth that they so desperately seek.

<B FzXKF="0" Cj_Ym="0">Cesspool of verbal wastes [/B]<P FzXKF="0" Cj_Ym="0">In the midst of such a promotion their lyrical contents become the cesspool of verbal wastes. Our children have now fully hopped on to the ramshackle bus of dancehall <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">music</SPAN> and are aided by adults in the society, even their very parents. While I was no fan of dancehall music, and still remain in unrepentant opposition to it, the society fared better during the time of the older dancehall artistes. In fact, their music was of substance in comparison to now. <P FzXKF="0" Cj_Ym="0">Can't the powers that be find a way of censoring them for any lyrical content that can threaten the peace and safety of society? These precocious youths who are products of the inner city have no regard for even common decency. Our Jamaican society would have fared better without them. It bewilders me at times to see the attention that is given to them, and people like the teachers who are playing an active role in nation building and who are supposed to be positive role models are paid scant attention. What a calamity on the society! <P FzXKF="0" Cj_Ym="0">As a child growing up, a teacher was given royal treatment in a community. Teachers are now seen as mere human beings, while our DJs are placed on a pedestal and on the seat that we once occupied as a teacher. Get real, society! It is time to return to the old path that your parents and <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">grandparents</SPAN> paved for us. All right-thinking Jamaicans need to wage war on these renegades of our s

RE: Dancehall music seen as an immoral tornado

Disgust at dancehall music
    published: Wednesday | December 6, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody xtUVI="true">

The Editor, Sir:

Please allow me to congratulate your 'Letter of the Day' writer (<SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Harvey</SPAN> Brown - Thursday, November 30), and endorse his message. As a Jamaican abroad, I miss <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Jamaica</SPAN> in many terribly ways. There is hardly a week that I don't have fond dreams of home, but never at any time have I missed being a captive audience to dancehall music, as I used to be at times, in public places in Jamaica.

Mr. Brown's disgust at the content of the <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">music</SPAN> is justified, but my greater concern is the fact that it is inflicted on the public (and even the unfortunate children of misguided family members at home). If an adult wants to tube filth into his/her ears, there is little that another adult can do about it. However, for God's <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">sake</SPAN>, use earphones and leave the rest of us out of the mire.

To give credit where it is due, I was really relieved on a visit last year to note that the loud scourge had been removed from the city buses, and that one could travel in peace. In fact, one female bus driver on the Papine to Half-Way-Tree route treated her passengers very sweetly one morning to some real music - her own rendition of various songs, delivered in a volume respectful of anyone w

I think it would be best if the Japanese tek over the music, because we obviously nuh want it. A the same way people would oppose hip hop yet today hip hop is a multibillion $ business.

These people have any idea how much business dancehall music generate? These people have any idea how much people eat a food because of dancehall? If unuh nuh waan hear the music, cork unuh ears dem then. If a hip hop artiste should be singing about "shot a ********", or "yuh girls a ho" the hypocrites naah mek up nuh noise, but cause a yaadman say it inna patios its immoral. BULLS H I T!

If the music is sooo immoral why the Mighty Crowns (Japan), David Rodigans (England), Sentenials (sp) (Germany) are able to go on tour, playing dancehall music? These people don't realize what is happening around them? They are so friggin stupid fighting against the music they don't realize that we could benefit from it more. A same way tourism officials a say there should be more entertainment in Ochie, yet as a sound string up, people ready fi complain.

Yes, I'll agree that some of the lyrical content is garbage, but in POB I learnt that supply is based on the demand. Fock ... if the music is immoral, then is it possible that Jamaica is an immoral society? Afterall could it beart is imitating life? The way there is a demand for our artistes and sound systems on the international scene, are those demanding dancehall music, immoral? I know I'm not.

True, the Japanese, Germans, Italians whoever should take Dace Hall and KEEP it...

Nuh worry ... pretty soon. See the spanish dem adopt it and call it Reggaeton (*). Ask them where it (*)originate from, they'll tell you it comes from hip hop and spanish music. Why we cannot appreciate our own is beyond me.

You might not like it Sickko ...but why deprive others? People a skin up dem face bout dutty wine ... thats not a new dance, women in rock and roll been doing that dance from when. Its because Jamaicans put a name to it, everybody get righteous. When women wine up demselves to soca music, anybody complain? But mek the same woman start duh the same dance to Terror Fabulous' Position, all a the hypocrite dem start cuss bout moral decay in society.
          Attached Files

Lazie (12/6/2006)Nuh worry ... pretty soon. See the spanish dem adopt it and call it Reggaeton (*). Ask them where it (*)originate from, they'll tell you it comes from hip hop and spanish music. Why we cannot appreciate our own is beyond me.

You might not like it Sickko ...but why deprive others? People a skin up dem face bout dutty wine ... thats not a new dance, women in rock and roll been doing that dance from when. Its because Jamaicans put a name to it, everybody get righteous. When women wine up demselves to soca music, anybody complain? But mek the same woman start duh the same dance to Terror Fabulous' Position, all a the hypocrite dem start cuss bout moral decay in society.
            And a dem same fish deh(not directed to sikko)wha a complain, dress up inna tights and a parade like gyal when Carnival come.

More than ageneration ago the self-righteouselites berated reggae as ghetto music. The radio stations at the timeeven refused to play the works of the early greats. Sugar Minott often complainedthat while his music was bigin the dancehall, he got little airplay on the radio.

The more things change, the more they remain the same.

By now my views on Carnival and Soca music should be well known by now, especially when it is praised by the same people who put down dance hall and reggae music as crass.

Whether it is Reggae, dance Hall, reggaeton or whatever as long as it seeks to demean the women in our society or to push violence or negatives then I have nothing to do with it.

I have over 200 CDs plus countless other cassettes, music from several genres and eras yet none of them fall into these categories...yes I dont like it but I never tell anyone they cant listen to it. If I am in a public vehicle and that kind of music I come out and take another one.

None of the people I would drive with in personal vehicle would play that kind of music anyways

Huh? Are all dancehall music demeaning women, pushing violence etc? Yuh listen to R&amp;B? When R. Kelly said "She remind him of his jeep", isn't that demeaning women? When Slick said, dem want to lick har up and down, isn't that violence towards women?

Sickko, yuh cannot generalize like that!

If only you could tackle

secondary and tertiary education (in Ja and how it relates to the info age) the way you go about dancehall music, I would say progress.:P do yuh ting though boss, Mi nah knock yuh still. Yuh dance inna soca parade Lazie? where the hell is TK when you need him woooooeeeeeee LOL.

Lazie (12/7/2006)Huh? Are all dancehall music demeaning women, pushing violence etc? Yuh listen to R&amp;B? When R. Kelly said "She remind him of his jeep", isn't that demeaning women? When Slick said, dem want to lick har up and down, isn't that violence towards women?

Sickko, yuh cannot generalize like that!
                      I don't see anything wrong with what he is saying if he is being consistent across all types of music.

Certainly he can generalize about dancehall.

Bounty Killer, Beenie Man ,Sizzla ,Spragga ,Elephant, Kartel and the list goes on. They all have songs that nuff proud woman can't listen to because of how them talk bout the woman dem. All them same one deh have tune promoting violence.

Lazie, I dont have any CDs of the paedophile R Kelly but I do like one or two songs...tell you a story, when he came here to perform, I was the only print journalist who got to interview him prior to the show and the man told us point blank that the person we see on the stage and the person at home are two different people...I guess that was not him in the videos with girl urinating on him.

But back to the point...I dont subscribe to any genre, R&B, Blues, jazz that subscribe to violence and degradation of women...

Lazie, this is one of your best post ever.

That teacher better start to find a way to reach those children.

Jamaicans are the only people not making money from Dancehall.

How many clubs can be a total enclosed arena in Jamaica, so as not to violate the noise code.

All those people are using dancehall as smoke screen.