Gays Unhappy

• Gays Unhappy

JFLAG peeved - Says there is no link between Buju's arrest and clashes with gays

Published: Wednesday | December 16, 2009

Jamaica Forum for Lesbians, All-Sexuals and Gays (JFLAG) is taking the local print media to task for its reporting on the arrest of dancehall star Buju Banton.

JFLAG has taken aim at The Sunday Gleaner and the Sunday Observer for what it says was an unfair link between the arrest of Buju on cocaine charges in the United States and his continuing clashes with international gay rights groups.

"We find it unfortunate that an article about a brilliant artiste being charged with such a crime could so disingenuously be turned into one about him being victimised by the so-called gay community," said Jason McFarlane, programmes manager at JFLAG.

"We believe that (by) framing the story against the backdrop of gay organisations' protests against him provides the clear basis for insinuating that Banton's most unfortunate experience could in some way be linked to the international gay community.

"Such a link is not only false, it is irresponsible," added McFarlane.
    He said JFLAG supports Buju's right to be defended and accepts that the recording star is innocent of the charge until proven guilty.

According to McFarlane, Buju has promoted hate of homosexuals and has called for people who are homosexuals to be murdered.
    "He has never rejected or regretted any of these abuses of his privileged position. He did all of this on his own. He is now facing the consequences of actions totally unrelated to gays and lesbians," McFarlane said.

GLAAD public campaign
    Buju, whose correct name is Mark Myrie, was arrested in Tampa, Florida, last Thursday by Federal law enforcement officials, who allege that he was involved in the illegal drugs trade.

The arrest came at a time when the international homosexual group, Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD), had launched a public campaign seeking signatures for a petition protesting against Buju's recently announced Grammy nomination.

GLAAD was also instrumental in a campaign to disrupt Buju's North America tour to promote his latest album, Rasta Got Soul.
    Since the arrest of the dreadlocked entertainer, social networks on the Internet have been flooded with persons alleging that he was "set up" by the homosexual lobby.
    Last edited by Don1; December 16, 2009, 08:06 AM.

Are they ever happy? Don't answer that please

Maybe the Rear Admiral knows.

Don, the link is without any basis in fact.

How can we lambaste the media when they are below par on reporting certain issues and on this one 'it ok' cah a b-man we a deal wid? This in itself looks like a media conspiracy without any grounds other than bias... We need to be consistent.

Don, the link is without any basis in fact.

How can we lambaste the media when they are below par on reporting certain issues and on this one 'it ok' cah a b-man we a deal wid? This in itself looks like a media conspiracy without any grounds other than bias... We need to be consistent.
          ok boss

they're gay..DUH!!!!

did i miss something here?

According to McFarlane, Buju has promoted hate of homosexuals and has called for people who are homosexuals to be murdered.
              "He has never rejected or regretted any of these abuses of his privileged position. He did all of this on his own. He is now facing the consequences of actions totally unrelated to gays and lesbians," McFarlane said.

The gay man dem a do the same thing they accuse the media of. Pure red herrings.

yuh seet?!!! LOL!!!!!!

Is that a no brainer?

or WHAT?!!

Where is Ben Maudid when you need a balanced view? Hey ben, BEN are you still Jammain'!
                        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I cannot agree with JFLAG. It is the campaign to diminish the earning capacity of BUJU in the States which has apparantly driven him to nefarious mean of substaining his livelihood.

If di man is not allowed to mek a living based on his God given talents.. what is he to do ?

JFLAG and the Gay community must accept this responsiblity.

apparently

Maybe it is just me but I have noticed the tone of your posts on the Buju thing and I can just see you doing cartwheels and hi-fiving your 'buddies' and celebrating.... on all fours maybe...