Facscinating...

• Facscinating...

Ah nuh Jamaica one fraid fi face the obvious reality. Must be a homo sapiens thing.

DECEMBER 5, 2009. I’ve noticed an interesting thing recently—and I’ve realized it goes back some years and into many articles in which I’ve referred to the NUMBERS of medically caused deaths in the US.

As you know, I’ve often cited Barbara Starfield’s landmark study in the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) (July 26, 2000), and her breakdown of those figures.

Let me publish them again, and then I’ll have comments.

Each year in the US there are:

12,000 deaths from unnecessary surgeries;

7,000 deaths from medication errors in hospitals;

20,000 deaths from other errors in hospitals;

80,000 deaths from infections acquired in hospitals;

106,000 deaths from FDA-approved correctly prescribed medicines.

The total of medically-caused deaths in the US every year is 225,000.

This makes the medical system the third leading cause of death in America, behind heart disease and cancer.

First of all, it would be difficult to obtain a better pairing of author and journal. Starfield was associated with the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, and JAMA is one of the most prestigious medical journals in the world.

So these figures are coming from the inside of the medical establishment.

However, in the years I’ve quoted these statistics and their source in my articles, I’ve gotten almost no response.

Why the silence? After all, when you read Starfield’s revelations and you grasp what they mean, it’s explosive, to say the least. It’s atomic.

what to do? bush doctor?

My Son had to have a minor surgery recently and my insurance lapsed for a few days and the doctors wouldn't do the surgery. I had to call the insurance company and made sure things were right. It took 3 days then they booked him for the surgery.

Yeah the healthcare stats in America is not pretty.

The medical system has a lot to do with insurance related issues.Coverage denied for simple procedures results in a lot of medical mishaps.

Thats the political correct way to put it, I should say deaths.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Or whole foods that are really nutritious (nutrient dense) like Risotrene, super greens, Electric-"C", systemic enzymes, Essential fatty acids, and friendly flora.

You are what you eat!

I wonder what the figures are in all the developed countries...and in my own JA?

...always knew that you were under pain of death due to human error when you visited medical facilities...from 'uncleanliness'...through the weird ones such as removing the only kidney a patient may have been left with.

Very difficult to accurately compare these kinds of figures across countries . In many countries, Jamaica probably one of them still, people don't go to hospital until there are already on deaths door.

In the US a number of the unnecessary surgeries and medications are due to the fear of lawsuits. And of course many are also due to the money made from recommending them.

why unnuh always haffi a bring up di b@ttyman argument ?

and what it haffi duh wid medical death stats ?

yuh haffi blame dem fi everyting ?

******************** man?

Homo sapiens is ******************** man now?

******************** man?

Homo sapiens is ******************** man now?
                    a guess mi is a hetero-sapiens.

I think it was an attempt at humor.