Ah nuh Jamaica one fraid fi face the obvious reality. Must be a homo sapiens thing.
DECEMBER 5, 2009. I’ve noticed an interesting thing recently—and I’ve realized it goes back some years and into many articles in which I’ve referred to the NUMBERS of medically caused deaths in the US.
As you know, I’ve often cited Barbara Starfield’s landmark study in the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) (July 26, 2000), and her breakdown of those figures.
Let me publish them again, and then I’ll have comments.
Each year in the US there are:
12,000 deaths from unnecessary surgeries;
7,000 deaths from medication errors in hospitals;
20,000 deaths from other errors in hospitals;
80,000 deaths from infections acquired in hospitals;
106,000 deaths from FDA-approved correctly prescribed medicines.
The total of medically-caused deaths in the US every year is 225,000.
This makes the medical system the third leading cause of death in America, behind heart disease and cancer.
First of all, it would be difficult to obtain a better pairing of author and journal. Starfield was associated with the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, and JAMA is one of the most prestigious medical journals in the world.
So these figures are coming from the inside of the medical establishment.
However, in the years I’ve quoted these statistics and their source in my articles, I’ve gotten almost no response.
Why the silence? After all, when you read Starfield’s revelations and you grasp what they mean, it’s explosive, to say the least. It’s atomic.
DECEMBER 5, 2009. I’ve noticed an interesting thing recently—and I’ve realized it goes back some years and into many articles in which I’ve referred to the NUMBERS of medically caused deaths in the US.
As you know, I’ve often cited Barbara Starfield’s landmark study in the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) (July 26, 2000), and her breakdown of those figures.
Let me publish them again, and then I’ll have comments.
Each year in the US there are:
12,000 deaths from unnecessary surgeries;
7,000 deaths from medication errors in hospitals;
20,000 deaths from other errors in hospitals;
80,000 deaths from infections acquired in hospitals;
106,000 deaths from FDA-approved correctly prescribed medicines.
The total of medically-caused deaths in the US every year is 225,000.
This makes the medical system the third leading cause of death in America, behind heart disease and cancer.
First of all, it would be difficult to obtain a better pairing of author and journal. Starfield was associated with the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, and JAMA is one of the most prestigious medical journals in the world.
So these figures are coming from the inside of the medical establishment.
However, in the years I’ve quoted these statistics and their source in my articles, I’ve gotten almost no response.
Why the silence? After all, when you read Starfield’s revelations and you grasp what they mean, it’s explosive, to say the least. It’s atomic.