Mo Bay community on lockdown

• Mo Bay community on lockdown

[FONT='Arial','sans-serif']Mo Bay community on lockdown Monday, 30 November 2009

RJR

st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }There is a strong police/military presence in the volatile Canterbury community in St. James, which was the scene of several gun battles on Sunday.

st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }The series of incidents began unfolding just before when a group of men chased a construction worker along King Street into a gully and shot him several times.

The men tried to escape in a waiting car but crashed into a wall when they were intercepted by the police.

They ran into bushes but the police gave chase and nabbed two of the men.

A search of the vehicle reportedly led to the seizure of an AK47 and a handgun.

In the meantime another police team which was entering the area from the Albion Road end again came upon a car loaded with armed men who crashed the vehicle and opened fire at the lawmen.

They managed to elude the cops.

Then about 6pm a team from Maddens Funeral Home was fired on by armed thugs as they tried to remove the body of the construction worker from the gully.

The police who responded shot one of the men and nabbed another with the assistance of a Jamaica Defence Force helicopter.

They are still combing the area for the other gunmen.

It was in 2003 that three cops were injured and three gunmen killed during an eight hour standoff between police and gunmen in the area.

Meanwhile Desmond Kinloch, 60, a shopkeeper of Broughton in Little London, Westmoreland was chopped to death at his shop Sunday afternoon.

Resident went to Mr. Kinloch's shop to purchase an item stumbled about of the shopkeeper's body and called the police.
    [/FONT]

wh....?!! a country in eastern africa near the horn of africa?

why dont we build a few housing sites.. randomly move cantebury and then fix the terrain and make it an industrial area...

Originally posted by OJ View Post
        why dont we build a few housing sites.. randomly move cantebury and then fix the terrain and make it an industrial area...
        such solutions are needed throughout the length & breadth of Jamaica...but not just housing sites...communities with live-learn-work-play amenities integrated.

US$3-5B over 10 years would help.

The NHT tried to under the Inner City Housing Project, but people thought we were giving poor people too much, and the new chairman of the NHT is decidedly against such handouts.

Difficult for such a project to work, however, if the people needs JOBS!

The NHT tried to under the Inner City Housing Project, but people thought we were giving poor people too much, and the new chairman of the NHT is decidedly against such handouts.

Difficult for such a project to work, however, if the people needs JOBS!
            That mentality is the basic Jamaican problem "poor people getting too much"

I don't believe in handouts...people must pay something...but that attitude has to go.

Until it does we will continue to reap the worldwind.

i don't believe in handouts either, but i also don't believe in a system that screws up an entire set of people for decades. and then we tell them, guh work, pull yuhself up by your own bootstraps! we made sure they had no boots must less the straps for them!

Sorry, Mo.
                That was never going to work.

Just new Garrison formation.

Don1 touched on it.

Move the people elsewhere...live-learn-work and mek dem pay as much as they can, so they will value the opportunity. And integrate police station in the miggle of dem.

This must be an INVESTMENT, no a distribution of what we dont have.

ICHP was never a handout. Been thru that already here.

Really??? Howe comes no one told me this I would have stayed home all of Monday and not go to work and go about my bussiness which inlcuded parts of King Street with no problems at all... damn if I had known that there was a lock down.

Only Rasta can save Jamaica. Only love can conquer hate
                      We have been taught by false religion to hate ourselves and only our spiriutality can save us

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3eOnO5U42Q

we have to go back to our teachers, elders and first show respect to our elders so that our Gaza vs Gully kids can learn to show respect to us. How dem fi respect us when dem see we not even respect Garvey? Chip no fly far from block so wah we expect when we sit in church and talk bout "honor thy mother and father so that thy day shall be longer"

when we nah live wah we a preach. Our education system needs to be revamped as its not proven to work. The first knowledge is of self so why we fraid fi learn bout who we are? Yet those idiots are in charge of the greatest job on planet earth that of educating and grooming the next generation no wonder our country is falling apart.

Its time to humble ourselves and learn

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azO01Zy2pkg&NR=1

Vote Astor Black!

You are just a Renegade LOL, but wait Lower king St is not in Canta, is it?
                          Are the planes in from NYC still landing as yet? how mi stay fe next month?

What time you coming out, cause I am heading to Boston on the 19th or so

On the 9th, will you be skiing this year? you are such ah Gringo. Make sure you get your Yankee out fit, nuh badda ask bout the Knicks.