when will we leave Babylon (England) behind??

It is more than a bit difficult for me to accept that as an independent nation we have as our ceremonial Head of State, someone who represents and is a direct descendant of those that gained much of thier riches off the backs of enslaving our ancestors.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special...cial_situation

believe me, this was CRITICAL.....too much was at stake! the barbados offshore centre is nto what i would call "large" when compared to even places like anguilla and nevis .... trust me when i say that barbados is perhaps the least likely to use the CCJ for it's offshore industry...before that they would enact legislation to deal with that differently (IMHO)

agian
      As I suspected..i could not imagine China allowing Hong Kong to run to London for final appeal....they opted for some hybrid....based in Hong Kong but it seems retaining some of the British traditions.

If it is determined that an offshore financial sector would need to be anchored by recourse to the privy council as the court of last resort surely provision could be made for this in those narrow circumstances....directly to London or a Hong Kong like solution.

It is totally unnecessary for all of Jamaica to be subject to this anachronism....just to satisfy the concerns of companies using Jamaica as a convenience.

So, should we make it easy for them?

Dem fi pay wi if dem want wi fi leave.

Dallaz run di cut. LoL

It is more than a bit difficult for me to accept that as an independent nation we have as our ceremonial Head of State, someone who represents and is a direct descendant of those that gained much of thier riches off the backs of enslaving our ancestors.
          my sentiments exactly. why our 2 tribes cannot get this situation rectified after so many years is both a puzzle and an embarrassment.

followed up on the barbados thing....and it is more cloudy than anything....it is still not clear to me whether it is the final court of appeal in barbados.
            that would be weird.. Little England leading the way to dispense with the privy council.

suh mi seh to misself...there is a caveat in there i'm sure...nuh haver the time fi track it down misself...might just call someone in barbados and ask dem.

plus with hong kong there was already billions maybe trillions of dollars tied into the economy so it made sense...

for us it would be getting it off the ground, for sure we would have to improve our credit ratings and ranking on the corruption index...basically the major strong point (other than location...i.e. off shore) would be that the government has been stable..i.e. no coups etc... they say that the most active and largest offshore jurisdiction is the usa as a whoe nevada, delaware and a couple of the midwest states....

plus with hong kong there was already billions maybe trillions of dollars tied into the economy so it made sense...

for us it would be getting it off the ground, for sure we would have to improve our credit ratings and ranking on the corruption index...basically the major strong point (other than location...i.e. off shore) would be that the government has been stable..i.e. no coups etc... they say that the most active and largest offshore jurisdiction is the usa as a whoe nevada, delaware and a couple of the midwest states....
                  understood.

suh mi seh to misself...there is a caveat in there i'm sure...nuh haver the time fi track it down misself...might just call someone in barbados and ask dem.
                    yep.... dat wudda nice fi kno

some people fi start pay fi cum yah, upscale mi seh

The last referendum was based on Party prefrence, will this be the same pattern? How many literate people we have to vote on this now?

His legal argument is one thing...I'll leave that to the legal community to debate.

The real import of his piece to me was whether in this 21st century Jamaica should be hewing to the UK which is a third tier power with little to offer and even less interest in our welfare as we have zero strategic value for them.

We cannot even enter that place freely yet they should be the final arbiter of our fate?

It is beyond nonsensical.
                          Do they require visa to enter England, what a fall eh T if you have a case at the Privy and Immi bar yuh?