Kevin Obrien Chang ask if Garrison is Unholy social contract

• Kevin Obrien Chang ask if Garrison is Unholy social contract

For despite their evil reputations as dens of iniquity and criminal havens, it's not clear that the majority of Jamaicans want garrisons abolished. Many seem to feel this would let the crime genie out of the inner-city bottle full force into the wider society.
    The unspoken question is: are garrisons a form of social control? Are dons the bakra massas of our time, keeping the 'ghetto dwellers/field slaves' under control so the 'rest of society/plantation great house' can go on with business mostly as normal?
    Unholy social contract
    Maybe it's just another wild theory. But a friend insists that, no matter their origins, garrisons are now part of an unholy social contract. The uptown powers that be - politicians and businessmen - implicitly say "Don man, control downtown and do what you want. Just keep your gunboys from troubling us uptown". So the dons do as they wish, deal drugs and impregnate 12-year-old girls or whatever, but are never touched. Unless they get too big for their britches, when they are either eliminated or jailed - like Burry Boy, Feather Mop, Jim Brown, Willie Haggart and Zekes.
    Why does Jamaica, despite being poorer and more violent, have nothing like Trinidad kidnapping problem? I know Trinidad businessmen who have relocated to Jamaica because of kidnap threat back home and the perceived lack of it here. Prominent businessmen in Trinidad and Tobago don't move without personal armed bodyguards. But even the biggest of the big shots here go about normal life on their own.
    Is it that downtown dons don't want uptown big men to feel threatened? For if the 'powers that be' feel the social contract is no longer benefiting them, they might put an end to all garrisons and dons. Maybe that's why uptown upsurges of prominent crimes are so frequently followed by police or army garrison incursions. The message is clear - "Listen don man, get your fryers under control. Or we might decide to clean up the whole mess down there and wipe out your little kingdom with it."
    Of the 1,570 Jamaicans killed violently last year, probably 1,000- plus were inner-city males under 30, meaning 1,000 less potential mates for their female counterparts. Which translates to 1,000 extra available young girls per annum for big men of all stripes - dons, businessmen and politicians.
    Garrison society
    It's unlikely our powers that be deliberately set out to create this diabolic state of affairs, or even consciously see it as such. But when a dynamic creates not only a safer environment for those in charge, but also an excess of potential sexual partners, well, it's certainly not in the interests of those who run things t the situation fundamentally.
    Are garrisons how we manage realities like 85 per cent of out-of- wedlock births, less than 40 per cent of children with registered fathers, and 82 per cent of UWI entrants being female? Are garrisons society's way of dealing with our hordes of fatherless, uneducated, rootless young men, either by ruthless don control, or regular culling by police and internecine gang warfare?

Mo this line a fi you "it's not clear that the majority of Jamaicans want garrisons abolished"

Still boobin and weaving I see. Gwan try justify twist articles and search for rationalizations simply because your party is now in charge. I suppose you also support the premise of the party leader that the Garrison model should be expanded to the rest of Jamaica. I guess this was what was meant by new and different. Oh I forgot anything else would take courage.

can you tell me where I made such statements?

I clearly said Bruce Golding is lacking the courage to change it. I hold no candle for him. The fact is unnu say Jamaicans don't support it. Once Bruce Golding joined the JLP I knew that was no longer his priority. Tell me when him or the PNP do anything to change it, then I will join your party.

By the way, it hasn't expanded? No
        Last edited by Assasin; November 26, 2009, 02:03 PM.

boss, only ppl that live in garrisons support garrisons. bout jamaicans support it. there are a few(minority) jamaican fishes that support gays; would it be sensible to say then that Jamaica supports gays? it name logic boss, logic, it nuh tragic!

and the 60 parliamentarian them live down deh too?

it would do you well to understand the context.

let me help you - y'know, why bother?

ok, i give up and i accept - garrisons are popular and the majority of Jamaicans support and want them.

(wow, admitting that feels so good!)

and the 60 parliamentarian them live down deh too?
                Well then say that the 60 parlamentarians support garissons. How yuh fi seh Jamaica supports garissons. Mi nuh support di garisson idea so mi nuh jamaican then?

is you one nuh support dem. me and my kru support garrison! nuh true, assasin? some a wi all support it and wi nuh know!

The majority of Jamaicans support Garrisons ergo the JLP gov't can do nothing about it. They can now move on to the things they can do something about eg the economy. I smell self-serving propagand but it could only be me.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                      The majority of Jamaicans support Garrisons ergo the JLP gov't can do nothing about it. They can now move on to the things they can do something about eg the economy. I smell self-serving propagand but it could only be me.
                      not just "can do nothing". why should they do anything if the people nuh have a problem wid it?

yes, let's fix that economy then!

The corrupt nexus between BIG BUSINESS & BIG POLITICS

Some are just getting up to speed about our real problems...which I have been stating for a long time... are SOCIAL in nature...our economic issues being symptoms of social malformation. Suffice it to repeat:

Don1
                        The reason (for economic failure) is completely DYSFUNCTIONAL SOCIAL RELATIONS...between classes and also within class groups. The garrison phenomenon is only ONE MANIFESTATION of the social disease and dysfunction...our problems go WAY beyond that.

This state of affairs is IMPLEMENTED AND MANAGED BY THE POLITICAL LEADERS (aided and abetted by their stupid sycophants..examples of whom we see here)...but also OVERSEEN and SUPPORTED BY BUSINESS LEADERS.
                        One by one they come around to reality...Better late than never
                        Don1

Until the social relations are repaired and more in harmony with nature there is no prospect of real and sustained development.... they can borrow all the money in the IMF, World Bank, IADB, CDB, EU combined...it won't matter.

Fix the social relations FIRST and FOREMOST....only then will we have a chance.

We need a 21st Century Norman Manley....but repeatedly end up with clowns and pretenders for leaders
                        Now who will be visionary enough to start to implement the solution?

at the end of the day you can vote the JLP out. Isn't that what politics is about? Based on their record you vote them out. It is about solution and I am sad to say I don't see the JLP ending any garrrison any time soon.
                          If it mean't they would get more vote see how fast they would have done it.

at the end of the day you can vote the JLP out. Isn't that what politics is about? Based on their record you vote them out. It is about solution and I am sad to say I don't see the JLP ending any garrrison any time soon.
                            If it mean't they would get more vote see how fast they would have done it.

Naive.

The JLP cannot "end any garrison" as you put it. That is not possible.

That goal requires a change of the relationship between the two tribes...which requres political consensus and cooperation....which requires a national dialogue with that mission.....which requires statesmanlike leadership and the participation of broad segments of the public.

There is a name for that process.....unfortunately that is not on the agenda of either one of these tribes.

It should be Job #1.

Naive on my part? I said I see no process or no policy to end it. They keep on saying they expect Bruce Golding to end it.

I said he doesn't have the courage or political will. I will make my point a lot clearer later. I respect your idea that the MP have to lead from inside. It is something I have thought about over the last day or two, and while I am not committed to it it shows a different side.