• The darker side of skin bleaching - Part 2

The darker side of skin bleaching - Part 2 - The 'bleachers' speak

Published: Wednesday | November 25, 2009

In part 1 (published November 11), we saw where people bleached the entire body, including the ears, breasts, genitals and anal areas. Bleaching increases the body's exposure to sunlight and the chance of getting skin damage and skin cancer. Some damage is irreversible. Internal organs may be affected. [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Skin[/COLOR][/COLOR]-bleaching products include:

Potent topical steroids, like betamethasone and clobetasol, which may cause grave [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]side [COLOR=orange! important]effects[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR].

Hydroquinone irritates the skin, especially in higher than four per cent strength. It is sometimes combined with lactic acid, glycolic acid and tretinoin, which penetrate the top layers of the skin, causing the outer cells to turn over faster, removing the outer skin layer (exfoliation). This facilitates penetration of the skin by the bleaching agent.

With prolonged use of hydroquinone, ochronosis occurs - the skin becomes darker than it ever was. This is every skin-bleacher's greatest nightmare. Darkened knuckles and toe-joints are a symptom of ochronosis.
    Mercurials contain mercury (II) chloride or ammoniated mercury. They are toxic and increase the chances of skin cancer with prolonged use.
    Skin-bleaching pills which contain L-glutathione and are said to work from the inside.

[COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Household[/COLOR][/COLOR] items like bleach, toilet-bowl cleaner, hair relaxer, 'volume 40' hair dye, toothpaste and curry powder.
    Bearberry, mulberry and licorice extract.

Skin-bleachers use combinations of the above products on a daily basis. Some apply these products to the entire body numerous times per day.

The bleaching dialogues
    I hit the streets recently to interview men and women who were obviously bleaching a.k.a. 'rubbing' or 'toning'. Most of them had a stone-washed complexion (face, hands and feet) with bruised, ruddy appearance on brow bones and cheeks.

Lips were much darker than facial skin. Some wore high socks above the knees and others wore sweaters and long gym wear in the sun. After interviewing one such woman, she curiously asked, "By the way, how you find out seh mi ah bleach?" Another said she bleached because, "Jamaican man nuh like rusty woman. Dem like dem with a tone."

Dahlia McDaniel is a [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]pharmacist[/COLOR][/COLOR] and final-year doctoral candidate in public health at the University of London; [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]email[/COLOR][/COLOR]: yourhealth@gleanerjm.com.

Even household bleach is used, at great risk to health, as an agent for skin bleaching. - Norman Grindley/Deputy Chief Photographer

The voices of 'bleachers'
    Here are some questions which I posed and some answers received:

Q How do you bleach?
    A Mi rub the cream all over, then put on plastic bags over mi feet, use plastic wrap and wrap around mi feet up to mi hip, around mi waist and belly. Then mi put on socks and tights and pants, and the bathsuit and two blouse (sic). That will make you sweat off the black. The swimwear make you sweat without giving that sweaty feeling.

(Note that this methodology is a form of occlusion - a medical procedure to increase the absorption of products into the skin).

Q Are you concerned about side effects?
    A No. When you are toning, you have to feed your body right, just like a diabetic, to build up back the skin when that layer burn off.
    A All the bleach we a bleach, we know it not good fi we, it give skin cancer, but we want fi look pretty.
    A I sorry the day I start bleach. I can't stop now. Every time mi try stop, mi skin turn blacker than it was before mi did start. When you stop bleach, you turn inna duppy.

is it me...but the picture up there look like a bleacher!

I was thinking the same thing.

is it me...but the picture up there look like a bleacher!
        LOL! whoee! some people nau practice what they preach .
        Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
        United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
        happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
        Probably forthcoming...

Exhibit A: Sammy Sosa

Pictures of recently retired baseball superstar Sammy Sosa, who has undergone "skin rejuvenation" treatments. (Chicago Tribune)

Sammy Sosa says skin rejuvenation process reason his skin appears lighter
          Maintains photo makes it look more pronounced than it is

puke

Dis bleach ting is jus a minute insight inna wi mentality. Eben most who against di bleach ting, glorify pale face. By dem argument wi know dem. Mi seh is bettah dem didah bleach kah at least wouldah expose dem true allegiance, widout di sheep inna wolf ting.

suh ..... yuh bleach or not?

dem ah bleach dem ah bleach out dem skin dem a bleach fi look like ah browning. (a small Buju) Nah sah, mi nuh bleach atall tall, mi as black as yuh kyaan get wi, real africa inna it. Yuh ah one a dem weh a sheep inna wolf?

mi?! no baba....mi nuh have dat deh kinda discipline!

u know say mi ago start sell bleachin cream. boomin business.

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
                        u know say mi ago start sell bleachin cream. boomin business.
                        Fi true. Because they will take food money, school money and buy bleaching things.

With prolonged use of hydroquinone, ochronosis occurs - the skin becomes darker than it ever was. This is every skin-bleacher's greatest nightmare. Darkened knuckles and toe-joints are a symptom of ochronosis.
                          The dark knuckles always give away dem bleaching secret, and that is the first place mi look pon.

yuh gwaan. mi will sell hair, including di awning one dem.

man nah bleach but them nah give the woman them, them due with them orginal skin but put little cream pon the skin and them get all the attention in the world.

We need fi love the women deh inna them orginal form. Nuf man overlook nuff black woman but if them did have a little lighter skin them woulda mad over them. You think the woman dem a bleach fi impress other people or our own?

Another hypocrite thing again.