DPP says ‘informer culture’ hurting justice system

Dancehall nice! Nah stop seh suh!

Of course there is garbage duncehall, much of which should be banned, but there is much more positive than negative.

fi real, more positive out deh dan negative. i mean dancehall, in the right hands, is good baby-making music. it's unfair for law-abiding fans of dancehall to have to suffer for people who expose it to children. mi want hear gun tune and raunchy tune. it's art ppl. when i, and many other stable ppl like mosiah(hopefully) per-say listen to music, we're not thinking of "mekkin marrow fly", we are listening to the lyrical prowess of these artistes and the infectious beats. all who want tek things in songs literally and cringe and bawl ova it can gwan. at least unnuh(the historians of the world) still a listen. it have unnuh interest

A whe de?

Historian, so since I have failed to understand the reason for your stance, and in order to do so I ask a question of clarification, you buss mi head SIX TIMES ?? Ah goin charge yuh fi di aspirin...

Is love still ...just know I've been a forumite since inception but do not always follow all threads or even keep tabs on who has what postion on what...I do know you are not a fan of dancehall; I share part of your belief I am not a fan of dancehall with dutty lyrics and those that preach violence and hatred...

Understand that I asked the question as I was genuinely confused by your stance...don't beat a man for trying to educate himself...some of us are simply slow learners... so apologies if I mashed your corn bredrin...

The thread starter aside, i took the post at face value...informer culture is ongoing and worsening in proportion to crimes being committed, so maybe the DPP etc. is voicing frustration on their side. All in all we need to hear from our leaders as to what strategies they are going to apply to mitigate the informer situation, not just hear the complaint all over.

Walk good...gone guh ice mi head.

What can our leaders or legislators really do about this culture?

They have to try something, anything...even bringing HL back as PM

I mean, look on rap. That song by Jay-Z, New York State of Mind, is an absolute classic! How could we lump that with some of the garbage rap out there?!?

Not a ting wrong with the genre called dancehall.

when did i start to take that stance... you kidding, right... you may be mixing me up with someone else (like you did with bricktop and me)... obviously, you have never read any of my posts on punishment (sentencing) as deterrence...

historian, i've been very outspoken against the level of crime and criminality that is pervasive in jamaica...

i've advocated putting criminals to work on farms so they could be productive for society since they don't want to work for a living...

i've advocated mandatory minimum sentences 10 yrs for possession of an illegal firearm and an additional 5 yrs for every bullet...

i've advocated mandatory life sentences (no parole) for all crimes committed with a firearm...

i've advocated the death penalty for all murderers and death penalty to those who order death...

i've advocated for automatic guilty finding and a tripling of sentences in cases where witnesses are threatened, cannot be found or had an unnatural death...

historian, i know what i have written here isn't perfect but as i've said in past post, drastic times require drastic measures...

to quote gamma, 'jamaica needs a benevolent dictator' at this time... actually, that is a quote from one of the many discussions on this board where i've advocated some drastic punishment to deter crime in jamaica...

for those things to take place, the legislature and the judiciary has to act boldly and decisively...

obviously, you weren't reading those discussions or weren't around... you get a pass on that...

the genre itself is good...

mosiah, there are many things our leaders can do to change the culture... it begins with our leaders taking an aggressive stand against the 'informer fi dead culture'... not just speaking on it one time but a constant, persistent strong campaign...

an aggressive public relations campaign based on saturation and education... billboards, radio/tv/newspaper psa...

augment with strong commitment to stamp out corruption... highlight success stories...

around 5 yrs ago, boston had a problem with the 'stop snitching culture' rising... the mayor launched a campaign against all the culture, ordering a confiscation of all the shirts in the stores selling them... although he backed off the confiscation, he shamed the store owners into not selling the shirts... at the same time, he ran a relentless campaign on radio, tv and newspaper countering the culture...

there are many things that can be done...

i've advocated the death penalty for all murderers and death penalty to those who order death...

mine yuh sentence yuhself yahsuh

This is not Historian!

...anyway it is the difference of opinions that has kept this board alive. ...and I would be remiss if left out the openmindedness and tolarance exhibited by my fellow moderators.

I think there are amny instances when my fellow moderators have navigated with great skill the fine line that separates being a dictator, inflexible and self-righteous from being tolerant, openminded and fair.

------------------

mea culpa - Looking back I went over-board when I raised hell on Yuttie on his, what I thought was his too liberal use of the emoticon.

That was wrong of me...sorry, boss!

---------

Historian - May I ask you to take a deep breath and continue to remain within the family. We all add to the vibrancy and health of the board. You sir, are a valuable member of our family!

Dancehall nice! Nah stop seh suh!

Of course there is garbage duncehall, much of which should be banned, but there is much more positive than negative.
                          name the 'nice' dance hall 'music'?
                          jus haskin!

hey, i'm all for the state removing such shirts from society! we should ban the songs from the airwaves too, not just from the radio!

still, you haven't convinced me that a lot can be done. this is something that starts at the home, the church and the school. well, i guess the leaders can apply pressure to all of them, esp. the school.

heh heh... not sure hl would qualify for the job now... furthermore, hl has long since given up on jamaica... str8 uncle sam him seh...

Mo if depend how serious them want to take it.

Here if a cop find out that you have evidence and not telling them you can be in big trouble, and worst if you misled them.

But the problem with Ja is not so much the law but the constant disregard by the police force and people in authority. The last government did a lot of legislative but at the end of the day if it not enforced then it make no sense.