Chrome doom: Google's Web-based OS could kill...

i see you and others have fallen for the marketing hype with mac... nothing exceptionally great about the mac...

dont believe the hype about no viruses... macs do get viruses and malware... just not as often because there aren't many macs out there to make it worthwhile for the virus writers...

are you serious... and macs dont... macs do crash... a lot too... in fact, i think the macs crash more than pcs... this is just based on the amount of pcs vs macs... in my office alone, there are a few macs when compared to pcs... on a per machine basis, i think the macs are the leader in crashes...

bottom line is all machines crash, including the macs...

lol... consider yourself very lucky... i would not be so quick to talk about not worrying about viruses on the mac... you would be surprised the amount of viruses and malware the macs are getting now...

Mac do have kernel panics sometimes, but even when they crash applications, you just close the app and continue.

PCs at home crash waaayyy more. Cant speak for Macs in PC networks though...

Not true,

Mi bredrin, ex-HP is a UNIX compiler developer and his bro-in-law works for Apple. He runs PC at work and Mac at home.

MacOS is UNIX with a nice GUI. Unix is industrial strength OS and way better than PC. Additionally, Macs have better hardware to software integration than PC.

There are 2 reasons for less virus worry...1) less Macs, so less interesting target for virus makers

and 2) Mac is waaay harder to write viruses for.
            Unix rebuilts itself form scratch everytime you boot and double checks for any anomaly, unlike PCs which have more holes that Swiss cheese. Any virus maker for Mac have to be waaayy more technically proficient. Most times if you even get infected, all you need to do is just reboot once or twice and problem solved.

yup.... i had an argument on this site about that... Mac is just as capable of virus and malware.. Just like linux they dont have the footprint to make it worthwhile. They are something that they do well though.

True, I forgot to mention Pandora (how could I) here you type like say Bob marley and it pulls all reggae in that category and streams it to your Bluray. Mi Bredrin dem come ah mi gates an ah ask whey mi get dem chune fram. Mi say boss ah di net it ah come off ah.

Right now Netflix do give some movies in HD; granted this is just 720p (or 1080i) Bluray is 1080p recorded. No station really broadcast in 1080p, it's all 720p. Netflix also doesn't stream 5.1 but as soon as they start streaming 1080p with at least 5.1 sorround sound, it would be pointless to rent via mail.

Not everything should run from the cloud but look right now Bluray let VHS (which was killed by DVD) and DVD look like Garbage; matterfact even the movie thatre now looks like bootleg in comparison to bluray. Music? Well Pandora gives a wide selection, boss I can just move to ska and rocksteady and listen some chune that I would have to pay a lot for and I can use it to entertain friends, once they are over.

What I forgot to mention also with the online OS (chrome) the TV can play the role of a computer. Too much info, one can't sore it in the house anymore best one hops from server to server.

Oh when I said opensource I was really speaking of LINUX as UNIX is the net

BTW; if you are going to buy a home theatre system, buy the pieces seperate. It works out cheaper in the long run. Six years ago I helped a couple pick out a system, now all they did was buy a flat screen and a Bluray (dem rate mi fi dat). Another friend of mine bought an "all in one" now that home theatre sytem is of no use him; can't work with his flat screen (no HDMI inputs, not even fibre optic for sound) and Bluray. He has to go spend all over again.

Thanks to china you can get net streaming bluray for under two hundred bucks. Trust mi an nuh listen to dem it out deh fi sub two hundred.