Don1 I promise you some policies

• Don1 I promise you some policies

Here are some. I will give you more later but here is a start.

Proposals for Ja.

First is to make prime minister election independent of party. This allow anybody to enter the race without party backing and majority party choice our leader. This will allow more candidates to enter and you could have run offs if too many are in it. There is no reason why Peter Phillips, Greg Christie, Butch Stewart or any Jamaican who think they can lead has to join a party. This will give us the chance of getting better candidate and for people to vote for MP who perform instead of voting for Daryl Vaz to vote for Bruce Golding. Can you image if we had a Prime Minister who is not interested in either party how it would shake up Ja. It would also be easy for coalitions.

Jamaica needs to make laws to track and publish the names of parents who leave their kids and not supporting them. Mexico have a system that tracks legal and illegal immigrants in America and pull money out their checks to send home if family back home complain about no support. The government should take 20% of that money and provide support and community development for the kids and the rest go to the family member who is supporting the kids. This alone would raise the standard of living in JA. And fight poverty.

Over the years there has been big investment in Ja but all the profit goes north. Government have to legislate or promote that all major investment over a certain amount should post 20% on the stock market/government buy it and resell it on the market/workers be given shares. This will make Jamaican workers more productive and less strikes as they become a part of the company. It would also provide an avenue for Jamaicans to invest and get returns instead of in Ponzi scheme. Imagine if Jamaicans owned 20% of Digicel, the major hotels etc. This would also make it harder for the monster unions to shut things down.

It is full time we reward communities that have no crime. Highlight them and give them something to talk about. Let them continue to do what they are doing and others will look at it and follow since we are very “follow fashion”, and encourage competition in this area of crime prevention, like “best kept community” “Model communities’ etc. Give the citizens a reason to participate and encourage each other.

Set clear margins for success and failure in the medium term. This is all the IMF trying to do for us. Why don’t we do it for ourselves? It shouldn’t be set by parties. The PIOJ, Bank of Jamaica, Private sector Organization, Financial expert from both parties(experts only) and economist and budget specialist. There is a need to map out a debt strategy, budget strategy, inflation, dollar, inflation, GDP growth and put it forward that the public can see. They can simple use a colour coded system to make it easier to understand and this will not allow politician to twist the record. This must be published every year.

Let me say that the future lies in what TSA is doing. Let me say I have no inside knowledge but it will take qualified, trustworthy professionals in Jamaica working with others overseas to build companies and non profit organizations. Trustworthy is key. Jamaica is a very small market and in order to get economies of scale you have to produce a product that at least 200,000 like. Now in a bigger market of 6 million or 8 million it is easier to get 200,000 to like it and the company have a better chance of staying afloat. There is too much divide in the diaspora and Jamaicans living in Ja.

good talk

First is to make prime minister election independent of party. This allow anybody to enter the race without party backing and majority party choice our leader. This will allow more candidates to enter and you could have run offs if too many are in it. There is no reason why Peter Phillips, Greg Christie, Butch Stewart or any Jamaican who think they can lead has to join a party. This will give us the chance of getting better candidate and for people to vote for MP who perform instead of voting for Daryl Vaz to vote for Bruce Golding. Can you image if we had a Prime Minister who is not interested in either party how it would shake up Ja. It would also be easy for coalitions.

Interesting...but how would such a person get anything done in Parliament? If he/she has no constituency in Parliament...who would be responsible for or BE able to get things done...when the legislators are not beholden to the executive branch?
      Also...Since this would require a constitutional amendment by an Act of Parliament...there is no way the PNP/JLP would agree to this.

Jamaica needs to make laws to track and publish the names of parents who leave their kids and not supporting them. Mexico have a system that tracks legal and illegal immigrants in America and pull money out their checks to send home if family back home complain about no support. The government should take 20% of that money and provide support and community development for the kids and the rest go to the family member who is supporting the kids. This alone would raise the standard of living in JA. And fight poverty.

Agree 1000%

Over the years there has been big investment in Ja but all the profit goes north. Government have to legislate or promote that all major investment over a certain amount should post 20% on the stock market/government buy it and resell it on the market/workers be given shares. This will make Jamaican workers more productive and less strikes as they become a part of the company. It would also provide an avenue for Jamaicans to invest and get returns instead of in Ponzi scheme. Imagine if Jamaicans owned 20% of Digicel, the major hotels etc. This would also make it harder for the monster unions to shut things down.

This would drastically reduce FDI because it impedes the free movement of capital.....and probably not even be allowed by the WTO and other free trade treaties we are signatory to. No self respecting capitalist will invest in such an environment.

It is full time we reward communities that have no crime. Highlight them and give them something to talk about. Let them continue to do what they are doing and others will look at it and follow since we are very “follow fashion”, and encourage competition in this area of crime prevention, like “best kept community” “Model communities’ etc. Give the citizens a reason to participate and encourage each other.

Agree 1000%

Set clear margins for success and failure in the medium term. This is all the IMF trying to do for us. Why don’t we do it for ourselves? It shouldn’t be set by parties. The PIOJ, Bank of Jamaica, Private sector Organization, Financial expert from both parties(experts only) and economist and budget specialist. There is a need to map out a debt strategy, budget strategy, inflation, dollar, inflation, GDP growth and put it forward that the public can see. They can simple use a colour coded system to make it easier to understand and this will not allow politician to twist the record. This must be published every year.

All the planning agencies have such targets...but they have no force and get no airplay because these agencies are 100% controlled by politicians.
      It may help to have an independent watchdog agency like the US's General Accounting Office....problem: most Jamaicans don't like to read anyway...we prefer colourful speeches by politicians sounding off.

Let me say that the future lies in what TSA is doing. Let me say I have no inside knowledge but it will take qualified, trustworthy professionals in Jamaica working with others overseas to build companies and non profit organizations. Trustworthy is key. Jamaica is a very small market and in order to get economies of scale you have to produce a product that at least 200,000 like. Now in a bigger market of 6 million or 8 million it is easier to get 200,000 to like it and the company have a better chance of staying afloat. There is too much divide in the diaspora and Jamaicans living in Ja.
      TSA!! TSA!! TSA!!!
      Last edited by Don1; November 19, 2009, 10:22 PM.

Simple solutions (easily understood...an yeah the devil is in the details) rite before wi yeye -

The suggestions call for a working together. Disagreements shall abound...but egos must be left at the door and in the final analysis actions decided must be for the 'collective good' i.e. in Jamaica's name only!

All our problems point right back to 'tribalism'. Oooh yeah from the narrow 'me, myself and I' first to 'mi and fi mi tribe'...

OK! We are where we are - What really are the 'things' we should be looking to for a maximization of 'returns'?

The patient is dying, how do we (immediately) in the short-term arrest the deterioration?

...and how do we once we have stopped the rot...turn things around to an upward path of and on recovery?

...and build around it/build on that recovery such that continuous and ever improving 'health' occurs?

hans-sa dem deh question dem and wi cyaan fix tings han mek JA hever hincreasingly prosperous.

------------

Let us say as far as relieving the tension currently in the society and constanly building...demands a certain amount of 'spending' on roads, water...and the public education system, security, fire services, health sector, postal services...

...then we have to 'throw money' at each and everyone of those...and we must be prepared to take tough decisions and reap the whirl-wind 'printing money, external loans...stepping on the many current 'set in ways' underproducing individuals and entites who/that give service.

...yes, and our inefficient private persons and entities which in the past gobble up through 'corruption abounds' methods the public sector consultancy positions, contracts, public sector purchase orders, etc...must die or change their ways to be allowed to join in the building (yeaah of selves and country).

...and what of the entites that currently provide us with 'earnings'? The answer - Increase efficiences! ...ever increasing efficiencies! ...and make selves worthwhile...increasingly adding to the 'pot'.

So...the tremendous problem is finding those who can manage in the manner where 'nuh guy' who is not on 'fast track' to the 'new acceptable standards of efficiency...productivity,' 'dead'...a cuudda wi/dem mumma!

How do you do that...and in a manner as fast as 'immediately' in a climate where 'corruption abounds'...yeah, such that you can arrest the slide of the deteriorating patient and 'fast forward' to increasing better health?

Yuh need nuff-nuff suh-madi hin haul section of the society willing to enforce acceptable accountability fram tap tuh battan...and willingly consider selves '1 termers'.

Brucie and Portia cudda start rite yah suhhan fram hence fort consida dem-self - 1 terma!

...btw- The problems associated with such a course being implemented without creating chaos requires nuff-nuff Samsons (hard workers - willing to sacrifice selves) Solomons - all with each...and yeah fram tap tuh ba-tam!!!...every level of the society.

How yuh duh dat?
        hit heasy fi tear dun! hit 'ard fi build! ...but...?

I believe this way of electing PM would attract very good candidate. He then has the choice of picking MPs from the different parties. He can use what he sees as the best talent available. Portmore currently elect mayor and it has attracted better quality candidates than your regular councilor.

As for investment, the last time I heard you had to have a local company working with to invest in China. The bauxite companies, the JPS and others have some government ownership so it is possible. I don’t know if it can legislate but if not it should be encouraged. Some companies will feel good giving back to a country it is investing in.

Currently the agencies have this target but it is too complex and political. Get a few neutral bodies involve and set basic standards that can be communicated to people. You see the IMF only have pass and fail? Many organizations are using colour coded system to represent and communicate to the staff how effective things are.

1. after you serve yuh term yuh guh look a work,
            2. why do we need a councillor then an mp, 1 election for mp/councillor 1 election for p/m him pick cabinet members which is a set cabinet 1-10
            members, instead of having political people in posts have functional people

if the system work right you need the councillor. The fact is the parish coucil need to be funded not from central government but from market fees, instead of dons on the corner a collect taxi fee it should be parish council. hair dresser, barber and all them people need fi pay.

Parish council should be theone to make sure basic services are taken care of. In Jamaica everything is complicated.

Agreed, there is a role for local government if it is done correctly.

One of my biggest problem with the Jamaican system of govt is that the PM is almost a King. Way too much power in his/her hands.

Sass, add to that all those who take student loans and REFUSE to pay back, even though they are gainfully employed. The Bureau needs to re-introduce the publishing of their names in the electronic media.

In addition, enter into some form of agreement with the countries that they reside in, and have the amount deducted from their tax returns.