• Air Jamaica employee accused of fraud to be extradited

2009-11-18 10:13:24 |

Fraud Squad detectives are now working with US authorities to have a former employee of Air Jamaica extradited to Jamaica.

In February the airline disclosed that it had discovered the fraudulent transfer of some of the company’s funds amounting to more than $70 million.

A junior employee from the treasury department was implicated in the crime.

Investigators had earlier reported that the funds were transferred to an overseas account.

They also believe that the implicated former employee, had taken an Air Jamaica flight to an oversees destination, a month before the fraud was discovered.

Head of the Fraud Squad, Superintendent Edwards said the investigators have since located the perpetrator.

The fraudulent transfer is being investigated by the airline’s Internal Security and Audit Departments, as well as the Fraud Squad, external auditors and international authorities.

The airline has already reportedly racked up over US$150 million per annum in losses.

The US authorities need fi duh a likke trade ting. "We've got the man you want, you've got a man that we want, how about a trade"

Lets see how it guh.

70million US?

di ting is, dem nuh waan more a we ova deh, so it easy fi dem extradite. mek it did be a US citizen who did do sumpten down ere and see wha woulda happen!

yuh seet

No point in Xtraditing him if the airline caan recover the money

LOL !

How dem woulda find him ?

But in all honesty, fi a man move $70 million, and it took so long for them to find out....then what that seh bout the internal controls ? and the joke is He took an Air J plane in his flight to the US !! and more than likely using a "buddy pass " !!!

Yuh nuh si how much Air J lose per year.... what is anneda $800,000 ?

lol !

is there any point prosecuting murderers?

what should happen to them?

I dunno. MdmeX say it nuh mek sense a extradite di Air J employee if Air J nah get back dem money. So, if we can't bring people back to life, why prosecute murderers?!?

LoL. Mi just concerned that we gonna spend money fi bring him home, try him and him walk scotch free and we still nuh get the money back.

..and Mo - most of the murderers go freely

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                            ..and Mo - most of the murderers go freely
                            true. but we should not spare any expense to apprehend and successfully prosecute the bastards! maybe even heng dem cla@t!