• Is wheh si breddah come from ah

facety himself wid National Hero ??

"The United Nations Human Rights Prize is awarded every five years to individuals and organisations in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the promotion and protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms. “These awardees constitute symbols of persistence, valour and tenacity in their resistance to public and private authorities that violate human rights, and a moral force to put an end to systematic human rights violations,” added the General Assembly President.

The selection committee comprised the President of the General Assembly, President of the Economic and Social Council, President of the Human Rights Council, Chairperson of the Commission on the Status of Women, and the Chairperson of the Advisory Committee of the Human Rights Council.

Dr. Gomes joins Nelson Mandela, Amnesty International, Jimmy Carter, Eleanor Roosevelt, and Reverend Dr. Martin L. King as recipient of this esteemed accolade, and will receive her Award at the plenary meeting of the General Assembly at United Nations Headquarters in New York on Human Rights Day, December 10, 2008."

Juss because she nuh support yuh likkle almshouse brainless philosophy ?

What have YOU done with your life for your country and your people ??

Run wheh wid yuh likkle folly argument Missa Baddaz.. ah mussi true seh she nuh Black... like Mandela and MLK Jr...

It bun yuh.. nuh true ?

Maudib, is it possible for you to have a different view from Dr. Gomes? I fully respect her work, but that doesn't mean I'm going to blindly agree with all her positions.

As I stated originally, those 2 goons that killed the Lyns must be executed and yuh 21 questions cannot change that.

Good Point, Lazie

Maudib, is it possible for you to have a different view from Dr. Gomes? I fully respect her work, but that doesn't mean I'm going to blindly agree with all her positions.

As I stated originally, those 2 goons that killed the Lyns must be executed and yuh 21 questions cannot change that.
      I usually have no problem whatsoever with Maudib’s views. However, on this one I have to come down 100 percent on your side, Lazie! My bad….make that 110 percent!

I don’t often comment on the political aspect of things anywhere, but the simple fact is that I am much more liberal than conservative, and I’ve always been this way. I have great respect for Dr. Carolyn Gomes, and I actually called her name, as well as Father Richard HoLung’s, in a recent post I made with reference to documenting the invaluable contributions of Caucasians and Chinese to Jamaica’s development since 1962.

The murder of the Lyns in particular (a most vicious crime committed against two decent, hardworking Jamaicans that today still fills me with intense anger), and also that of many, many other Jamaicans, reveals that there is an urgency needed in finding the Jamaicans most qualified to take us out of this quagmire that we’ve found ourselves for the past couple of decades!! Dare I say Parliament, our much overrated legislature?

A former Jamaican leader talked about “black man time….”?

F*@#k that!! Maybe it’s…

I understand the emotion.. however one must be guided by Critical Thinking.. especially in matters concerning the taking of a life.

As long as you cannot unequivocally say that every person on death row is a murderer then advocating for the death penalty is akin to saying you are willing to kill and innocent man in the name of 'desperate times'...

We have not even begun to properly address crime in Jamaica.. we do not have the moral authority to be talking about carrying out the death penalty.

Even first world countries with their array of evidence gathering capabilities and fairly 'uncorrupt' police force have decided the margin of error is too great.. how we with our corrupt beyond belief police force and weak investigative and evidence gathering capabilities can be talking about implementing it is beyond me.

I do believe police have already admitted to falsifying evidence and lying in cases they are involved in.

My concern is not the murderers that will escape death but adding to the innocent lives already taken.. ignoring this makes you as callous as the murders who clearly also have found a way to justify their actions..

I suspect y'all are of the 'Collateral Damage' school... ?

One has to be either FOR the death penalty or AGAINST it, philosophically. Emotionally, one who is against the death penalty might forget one's principle and clamour for the death penalty..

Strange but true...

I am for the bud policy...but against the death penalty. I cannot see capturing someone and then killing the captive. I certainly can see a man with gun being told drop it...and twitching in a manner that could be considered dangerous...be instantly shot dead!

I suspect that is why you would not hold a referendum to decide.

It has to be decided based on detached analysis of the facts regarding the fallibility of prosecutorial systems, real objectives and paramount respect for the sanctity of life.

The 3rd one is critical since it is the lack of it which guides the crimes to which one is seeking redress...

Wheh yuh seh.. Adams for Commissioner !

lol !

I would advocate your stance once you can provide video evidence of the twitching.

I am not impressed with the cut and paste: "The police approached the suspect who attacked the police with a knife, the suspect was shot and was dead on arrival"

I have looked into the laser sights of an M-16 and I have no doubts I would be a dead man today and branded a gunman if not for a split-second reaction on my part one way rather than another.

Strange but true...

I am for the bud policy...but against the death penalty. I cannot see capturing someone and then killing the captive. I certainly can see a man with gun being told drop it...and twitching in a manner that could be considered dangerous...be instantly shot dead!
                  Better yuh keep quiet Karl. Thats madness.

Lazie I have said it too many times...only members of the security forces must leagally have guns. Any other person can make self 'Bud'!

.. and yuh think repeating it will make it any less comical?