• Top 10 Hits: 1964-1966

Top 10 Records of the Year
    1964 - 1966
    (Based on JBC’s charts)

Today, as promised, I’ll go back to a much more optimistic, much more creative, and certainly much more promising time in our country’s history. Specifically, I’m now looking at the period 1964 – 1966.

The previous lists that I’ve posted have been as follows: “Top 10 Records of the Year: 1988– 1990”; “Top 10 Records of the Year: 1985– 1987”; “Top 10 Records of the Year: 1982– 1984”; “Top 6 Records of the Year: 1978 – 1981”; “Top 10 Records of the Year: 1967 – 1973”.

(Note: There is a minor error in my previous introductions, as I incorrectly stated that I had posted a list for the year 1974. I never posted a 1974 list of chart toppers.)

1. “Bonanza Ska”: Carlos Malcolm & the Afro Jamaican Rhythms
    2. “Carry Go Bring Come”: Justin Hinds and the Dominos
    3. “Jamaican Ska”: Byron Lee & the Dragonaires
    4. “My Boy Lollipop”: Millie Small
    5. “Wash Wash”: Prince Buster
    6. “Sammy Dread”: Eric “Monty” Morris
    7. “Tear Up”: The Skatalites
    8. “Daddy”: Toots & the Maytals
    9. “Simmer Down”: The Wailers
    10. “Be Prepared”: Winston James

Other hit records that failed to make JBC’s 1964 Top 10 include: “Portrait Of My Love” by Byron Lee & the Dragonaires (#13); “I Got A Pain” by Toots & the Maytals (#14); “Cry Me A River” by Jackie Opel (#16); “Oil In My Lamp” by Eric “Monty” Morris (#18); “Eastern Standard Time” by the Skatalites (#19); “Sweet William” by Millie Small (#22); and “Wings Of A Dove” by Prince Buster (#25).

1. “Wide Awake In A Dream”: The Blues Busters
    2. “Every Night”: Joe White
    3. “It Hurts To Be Alone”: The Wailers
    4. “Snake In The Grass”: Paul Martin
    5. “Dance Crasher”: Alton (Ellis) & the Flames
    6. “Baby Come On Home”: Tony Gregory
    7. “Brown Eyes”: The Saints
    8. “Guns Of Navarone”: The Skatalites
    9. “Ball Of Fire”: The Skatalites
    10 “Sloopy”: Byron Lee & the Dragonaires

Other notable hits that failed to make the 1965 JBC Top 10 include: “A Place Called Love” by the Techniques (#12); “Burke’s Law” by Prince Buster (#14); “Little Did You Know” by the Techniques (#18); “Never You Change” by Toots & the Maytals (#21);

1. “Keep On Running”: Wilfred “Jackie” Edwards
    2. “The Train Is Coming”: Ken Boothe
    3. “My Love For You”: Joe White
    4. “Girl I’ve Got A Date”: Alton (Ellis) & the Flames
    5. “Bam Bam”: Toots & the Maytals
    6. “Rude Boy Ska”: The Wailers
    7. “007”: Desmond Dekker & the Aces
    8. “Put It On”: The Wailers
    9. “Sunshine With My Girl”: Prince Buster
    10. “Dancing Mood”: Delroy Wilson

Other notable hits that failed to make JBC’s 1966 Top 10 chart include: “Rude Boy Gone A Jail” by the Clarendonians (#11); “Shook, Shimmy, Shake” by Owen Grey (#12); “Sounds And Pressure” by Hopeton Lewis (#13); “Can’t Believe That You’re Gone” by the Blues Busters (#15); “You Won’t See Me” by the Clarendonians (#17); “Rudie Bam Bam” by the Clarendonians (#18); “Hard Man Fe Dead” by Prince Buster” (#24).

No. 6...'64...sammy dread or sammy dead?

dead.

Sammy Dread wasn't around them time deh -

Historian,

How comes any of Don Drummond's tune nuh mek the top 10?

Typo (lol)

No. 6...'64...sammy dread or sammy dead?
          Thanks for the correction. It was actually a typo (lol).

The correct title is, like you said, “Sammy Dead” .

Not Sure

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
            Historian,

How comes any of Don Drummond's tune nuh mek the top 10?
            I’m not sure why not, MdmeX, particularly since the Skatalites played during the period 1963-65. The charts I’ve posted were all compiled from JBC’s weekly chart lists by Frankie Campbell (Fab Five’s bass player).