come to think of it... as i read this again i realize how stupid some people really take the jamaican public...
what exactly does dr gomes mean by this...
"The recommendations (to reduce crime) are for a structured, committed, multi-pronged approached to crime involving policing, social interventions and community support targeting organised crime..." said Dr Gomes.
just sounds like empty rhetoric... there is no mention of deterrence... no mention of punishment for crimes...
lol... how does she expect community support targeting organized crime... she is delusionally utopian with her expectations...
what is her expectation of a reasonable time frame to bring this crime monster under control with her methodology... jamaica cannot wait another generation...
i can think of many ways for dr gomes to remain in the media spotlight if that is her objective...
Any plan which does not include what Gomes has indicated is DOOMED to failure.
It matters not the time Frame.
We have been attempting the guerilla approach since Manley invoked the Suppression of Crime act in the 70's..
Police commit extrajudicial killings wantonly and clearly without fear of prosecution.. the statistics point clearly to this...
IT DOES NOT WORK.. it merely widens the divide of US against THEM..
What is YOUR expectation of a reasonable time frame to bring the 'crime monster' under control ? Another 35 years ?
Yuh really tink 'born fi dead' fear hanging more dan wha life dem a live ?
Engage your brain, and I would suggest you adjust your sights away from Dr. Gomes bout spotlight... yuh wrenk !
What she has done in the fight against State abuse in Jamaica your likkle brain nuh even begin to start to pondah, she probably have more guts in her likkle fingah dan yuh know bout.
flawed.
so what you are saying essentially is that ... take the lynn's case for example, when those fellows are convicted lazie should tie his fate to theirs in order for them to receive capital punishment???!!
let us say lee boyd malvo confessed and received the death penalty, would the same reasoning apply, i.e. lazie should be prepared to injected too, irrespective of whether he has been, charged and or convicted of any capital crime?
all persons are not equal! some are cold blooded murderers....others are not.
Infidelity does not consist in believing, or in disbelieving; it consists in professing to believe what he does not believe.Thomas Paine
you need to recalibrate your brain... seems as if you are not satisfied unless you are in a fight... where have i stated dr gomes plan should not be included or her plan has no merit...
i will say it again... her plan, short of punishment and deterence is woefully lacking and will be like all the other plans, doomed to failure and waste of the peoples money...
that said, i will leave you be...
Please provide the evidence that indicates that Captial Punishment increases the deterence levels...
I presume you have it handy so I should not have to wait too long....
The Death penalty can only be administered by a court trial.. this requires evidence and witnesses... good luck...
If you are really interested in 'Deterrence' you would be clamoring for licensed Extra-Judicial Killing... the Adams tactic except on a widescale application... get the soldiers involved.. BUD SEASON !
If yuh serious about it den get serious about it and stap pet and powdah about Death Penalty..
first of all once they remain on deathrow that is moot...the issue arises at the time of execution.
and of course you abandon the ENTIRE premise upn which the thread was begun...a SPECIFIC case! the case of the lyns, lazie said THIS case deserves the death penalty and it should be kept for cases such as this. he may well agree with you that not everyone on death row should be there but these would deserve to be there.
and yes, i advocate keeping the death penalty, if ever i would waver, along comes something like this to keep me honest.
Infidelity does not consist in believing, or in disbelieving; it consists in professing to believe what he does not believe.Thomas Paine
This is indeed a huge part of the problem... the detection rates are abysmal...
The death penalty (extra-judicial killing included) is punishment or revenge plain and simple; it has nothing to do with deterrence. Our problem has roots that have spread far and wide and that is the rub, to get at those roots to excise the problem. And we are failing miserably, so the cadre of killers walk the land with impunity, safe, knowing that they will walk freely, to kill another day..undetected.