• Golding's recipe for gridlock - Dawn Rich

Golding's recipe for gridlock

Dawn Ritch, Columnist

Opposition Leader Bruce Golding has promised constitutional reform, National Housing Trust benefits for every contributor, the consolidation of payroll deduction into a single security scheme, and much other bureaucratic tinkering of that nature.

This is painful historical irony. I would never have expected any Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) leader to offer constitutional reform. Labourites are noted for their conservatism, not adventurism.

New green colour

More than anything else, this demonstrates that in their own party, the Labourites have been entirely vanquished by the Endimites. Golding's opportunism never fails to astonish.

The Endimites came along with Golding from the National Democratic Movement (NDM), and 'captured' the JLP. Now the Opposition Leader has stitched the NDM platform unto the JLP, and I for one won't wear it.

The JLP's party colour has always been Kelly Green or Jamaica Green. Now under Golding, it seems that any colour green will do. That is unfortunate because when everyone wears a different colour green on the same political platform, it creates a dappled effect which looks like battle fatigues.

At the conference, the green had a lot of blue infused into it. And now with everybody in exactly the same blue-green colour, it looked even more like a military uniform.

This sense of military fascism was heightened by the Opposition Leader's security being dressed in full black uniforms, and standing on either side of the podium while he spoke.

Why the necessity for all this camouflage? Is it in order to disguise that Bruce Golding is an Empty Suit, a yes-man who fancies himself as a leader? As defined in The Sunday Telegraph, an 'Empty Suit' has little talent, and no fixed opinions, but crawls to his superiors well, and plays office politics with great skill.

The mobilisation of thousands was impressive. But they looked young to me, as though they didn't have a vote. Moreover, there was no spirit. Those watching it on television probably had a better time than those who attended.

The person who brought down the house however, was Steven Golding, who as far as I know, has no standing in the matter. He is merely the son of the current JLP leader. If he is to be so promoted, then at least make him the president of G2K so he'll have some work to do.

This pseudo-Rastafarian made a mockery of the Lord's Prayer. He said 'Our father who art in Parliament, Bangarang be thy name ...'

The JLP has ridiculed Portia Simpson Miller for saying she feels anointed by God. The fact is that she is entitled to feel that way because during her campaign for the PNP presidency, she went to the Kingston Parish Church specifically to be blessed by the Bishop of Kingston. Is young Golding now saying that his father is the God who gave that blessing?

This makes no sense at all. They accuse the Prime Minister of blasphemy, yet the JLP has now used the predominant Christian religion of the country without any sense of sobriety whatsoever, to entertain a vast crowd, which was otherwise bored out of its collective mind.

Golding ought not to have found his son's performance so delightful. The vast majority of Jamaic

RE: Golding's recipe for gridlock - Dawn Rich

Karl this is why I'm confused about Ja's

politics: I watched last week CIN where Brucie said when he goes as GOVT., he will make laws to strengthen the opposition. I was like what? I have never seen anywhere on this planet where the winner turn around and make it easier for the loser or the strong strengthening the weak. Call me a fool. I just don't understand it. I thought in theinfo age; education would be the mandate for any party that wants to be the next govt. Dawn is showing that there some Jakans with keen eyes and sharp minds. I am losing hope for JA because we are in a period where this world is going to change radically.

Jawge (12/3/2006)Karl this is why I'm confused about Ja's

politics: I watched last week CIN where Brucie said when he goes as GOVT., he will make laws to strengthen the opposition. I was like what? I have never seen anywhere on this planet where the winner turn around and make it easier for the loser or the strong strengthening the weak. Call me a fool. I just don't understand it. I thought in theinfo age; education would be the mandate for any party that wants to be the next govt. Dawn is showing that there some Jakans with keen eyes and sharp minds. I am losing hope for JA because we are in a period where this world is going to change radically.
      Yuh seit tuh!

But nuh unnu same one say a stronger opposition is better fi Jamaica?

How about the Government and Opposition select board members and take more active part in planning?

Could Bruce be sincere? Isn't he the one who also say him a go ask for term limit? Although I don't support term limits. Could it be that maybe him want changes?

Karl, where were the JLP and PNP getting money for their campaigns over the years? You only asking now because you found out the PNP is taking bribes. But as usual, you have to find a way to blame the JLP. Dawn's problem is that Seaga was removed from the leadership of the JLP.

You truely have a comprehension issue. If you fail to see what is being proposed, then thats on you. Stop being hypocritical. When you saw how the JLP intended to improve education, you same one had a problem with it ... so don't come with yuh bull bout education now.

Lazie (12/3/2006)Karl, where were the JLP and PNP getting money for their campaigns over the years? You only asking now because you found out the PNP is taking bribes. But as usual, you have to find a way to blame the JLP. Dawn's problem is that Seaga was removed from the leadership of the JLP.

You truely have a comprehension issue. If you fail to see what is being proposed, then thats on you. Stop being hypocritical. When you saw how the JLP intended to improve education, you same one had a problem with it ... so don't come with yuh bull bout education now.
            Nonsense response to my questions. may i remind you that before the PNP's acceptance of the funds became 'full blown' cass-cass I said they should not have been in bed with their beneficators while carrying out 'government business' with them. (Check this discussion board's archive). I have not changed my position. ...whatI am pointing to is your disingenious stance of 'swearing at the PNP' while giving the JLP, for doing the same thing. a 'thumbs up'!

...as to the JLP's rehashing of Michael Manley's...Edwin Allen cross the floor endorsement handshake...plan? I agreed with Manley and his PNP then!I am still with them!Happy to welcome you and your JLP onboard!

Karl, the practice for most of you is to shift the blame to the JLP whenever the PNP is wrong. There is evidence of the PNP taking bribes, now instead of calling a spade a spade you want to point finger at the JLP. When you present the evidence that the JLP is taking bribes, we'll deal with it. Time unuh stop being hypocrites.