• Things fall apart

Things fall apart
    HEART TO HEART
    With Betty Ann Blaine

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Dear Reader,
    I'm getting the feeling that optimism is becoming the scarcest commodity in Jamaica these days. When you know that things are really falling apart is when diehard Jamaicans - those who swore that they would never leave Jamaica, even those who stuck it out during the turbulent Manley years - are talking about migrating. "The writing is on the wall," I hear some of them saying, or "There is no hope for Jamaica. If I can't protect myself and my family, what's the point of living here?"

There is no doubt that optimism is under attack, and for obvious reasons. There is not a single day in our country that the sight of dead bodies is not on display for all to see. In fact, the murder of young Jamaicans is so commonplace that there is very little empathy or concern for the person's humanity. Nobody inquires about families and young siblings devastated after the murder of their loved ones. Very few of us seem interested in knowing what those "push" factors are causing teenagers and young adults to commit heinous crimes, and to become victims themselves of a deadly cycle of violence.

What we are experiencing now in Jamaica is not just constant death, but the death of outrage, and as the numbers of body bags increase, the indifference and the numbness increase commensurably.

Then there is the economic crisis that is deepening by the minute. In my over 30 years of working with the poor and dispossessed, I have never experienced a time when people have been so impoverished and so without hope. People are no longer just begging money, they are asking for food, and the looks on their faces tell the story of plain hunger. Increasingly, those begging are the elderly, small children, and mothers with babies in their arms.

But things are not just falling apart at the bottom or in the middle. Of even greater concern is the fact that things are falling apart at the top, and the simultaneous resignations of the governor of the central bank and the commissioner of police are indicative of the weakening fabric of governance and the deepening crisis enveloping the Golding administration.

While the fine details of the two most significant resignations that could take place within any government - the police chief and the central bank chief - while the specifics are important, the broader implications are indisputable, and it is that the Golding administration, two years along, is losing both the economic and national security battle.

Of course, the politics of deception and distraction kicked in right away, and as the leader of the well-oiled partisan machinery, the prime minister capitalised on the perfect opportunity to place the blame of Latibeaudiere's exit squarely at the feet of former Finance Minister Omar Davies. So instead of focusing on the critical IMF negotiations and the inevitable negative ripple effects of any agreement to be arrived at, the pundits and partisans are busy pointing fingers at each other and engaging in the usual "hit and run" politics.

True to form, the PNP struck back with responses that prove that they are not only completely out of touch with the sentiments of the Jamaican people, but that they refuse to break away from the overused, overworn, shallow, "slash and burn" politics of the past. The greater disappointment is that the PNP found no hesitation in using the young, inexperienced senator, Mark Golding, to be led like a lamb to the slaughter for Omar Davies' sins. I'm disappointed that Mark Golding has become the latest victim of blind party loyalty in trying to defend the indefensible. As a former Comrade put it, "The PNP squandered the opportunity to reclaim the moral authority they lost in the last election."

I think its becoming clearer and clearer, even to supporters, that neither political party is capable of rescuing the country from the precipitous free fall now occurring, and the resignation of the police chief is another blatant example of the ineptitude and impotency of the current administration. It took the prime minister of the country almost four days to officially respond to the resignation of Hardley Lewin, and when he did, he left all of us still asking, "Why? What exactly caused the police chief to resign?" The spurious argument that Lewin was ineffective in stemming crime is so openly dishonest that Jamaicans like myself have started to tune out.

Those of us who are serious about our country need to remind the prime minister that we are not so partisan or so dumb as to not recognise that one single human being is incapable of solving Jamaica's crime problem, particularly when the problem has its roots in the political establishment. Instead of seeking to scapegoat yet another crime chief, Mr Golding should tell the country how he intends to bring to book those gunmen with whom he admitted to have had "associations", and how exactly he will move to dismantle his own garrison constituency and those others that have seceded from the state.

I don't know what it is going to take for the people who lead us to come to grips with the fact that things are indeed falling apart and that the days of empty spin and "tit for tat" politics are over. What the Jamaican people are hungry for is honest, straightforward talk and for solutions that can, at the very least, give them a fighting chance in the race of life.
    With love,
    bab2609@yahoo.com

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...FALL_APART.asp

The spurious argument that Lewin was ineffective in stemming crime is so openly dishonest that Jamaicans like myself have started to tune out.

Those of us who are serious about our country need to remind the prime minister that we are not so partisan or so dumb as to not recognise that one single human being is incapable of solving Jamaica's crime problem, particularly when the problem has its roots in the political establishment. Instead of seeking to scapegoat yet another crime chief, Mr Golding should tell the country how he intends to bring to book those gunmen with whom he admitted to have had "associations", and how exactly he will move to dismantle his own garrison constituency and those others that have seceded from the state.
    That's what I'm talking about!

Heh, heh.. dem want Bruce to dismankle in 2 years what the PNP built up in 18..

How many Garrisons existed in 1989 ?

How many exist today ?

Economics, dependency is what preserves Garrisons.. only one way to defeat that and it is not going to happen overnight based on the depth of the hole the PNP has put the ecomomy of the country in.. CERTAINLY not during a Global Recession...

Is fool-fool people fool-fool or is tek dem tek people fi eediat ?

Election just done about 2 months ago.. nothing handcuffs a Govt more than elections.. in any country.. that is a fact of life...

Mek dem gwaan live in a fantasy world.. better dem call fi Jesus.. or worse a Social Contract..

It is clear Hardley Lewin did not have the support of the JCF.. you would have to be an idiot not to see that... on top of that the PNP holding up the new framework.. double whammy.

Is wheh dem people guh school ?

Ah Bwoy.

Elections dun..

Gwaan duh yuh ting Drivah.. tear down di shanty town Govt structure..dodge di stone dem... people suddenly desperate after 19 years..

Dem bettah brace demselves.. dolly house mashup... hear comes the pain dat the PNP delayed and delayed and delayed..

weak argument. not worth more of anyone's time.

filed under non-responsive...

i'll tell you where better to file it...

I dare yuh !

heh heh! is joke mi wenna mek!

awoah.. is like yuh figget wi undah new dispensation...

heh, heh.

That's what you are talking about?

I have been talking about it since I began posting in this forum.

Guys like you (an yuh bwoy) get bex...'cause unu can't stan de chute.

Please, HL, no prizes being given out. I used to get cuss from Courtney and Ohene bout dis from how long now!

Mutty been talking about this for years..

Things fall apart, the center cannot hold.. it look like seh everybody suddenly catch on since 2007 in di middle of a World Recession...

LOL !!

Jokers.

Maudib: Your bwoy Bruce appears as inept as his predecessors.

Yes!?

Yes.. to the untrained eye.

It is common for the person left with the ******************** to deal with to be tagged as the incompetent early and often rather than the ones that placed us in it.

Portia and the PNP and Jamaica need to thank whatever Gods exist that the PNP is not in control.. if they effed up so badly during times of 'plenty'.. what nightmare would they have contructed during these perilous times...

The people who could not find a pebble to fling during the last 18 years.. all of a sudden can find some big rockstone to fling.

Simpletons really..

We have to Just thank your lucky stars for the last election results.. pity it could not have been a 2/3rd majority...

I suspect Bruce Golding stewardship under this first term will go down in the annals of Jamaica History as one of the most brilliant in terms of dealing with threats to the country of Jamaica..

He will probably top Seaga's herculean efforts to recover from the 70's disaster of the PNP.

I suggest you pray fi di man... mi nuh envy him at all..

Here is the real deal.

What you say is certainly correct and irrefutable. However, we are mired in the old paradigms. If Golding were to level with us in the present dispensation, he commits political suicide. That means the VOTERS are wrong. It would mean that the voters want lies and samfie. That is the crux of our problem.

When we are prepared to rewards honest, forthright efforts to solve our myriad of problems, then we can expect better.

This is why I have lost respect for these columnists who KNOW all this, but still write jaundiced article that are one-dimensional. Time for that has past. We wont encourage social unity without commitment to truth, reason and LOGIC.

At this point, it does not matter who is more to blame or what. We are on the brink...so time for drastic action. Time to do things 180 degrees different. Time to save ourselves from ourselves.