Things fall apart

While it is true that Bruce had a weak mandate from the beginning, and that he is also a slow, cautious decision maker, his performance to date has been more brilliant as a politician, than as a statesman.

He is still submissive to the tit for tat politics. Perhaps it would have been better that he decides that he will be in for 5 years only and make RADICAL and sweeeping changes that would change the game for all to follow. I have heard him say that he is not looking to be there too long and is already working on a succession plan. Well then, time to make the bold plays NOW!

As to the PNP, its is in an abysmal state. There are factions within factions and they are even less competent, as hard as that is to believe. They have people with ability, but that is all contrained by the factions. Portia faction, Peter P faction (probabbly the most grounded set), Peter B/Omar/Mark Golding faction, the dormant Manley faction and the loyal to PJ faction.

The most ambitious is the Peter B faction. They are so hungry, they can taste the power. However, they dont have the base and need Portia. Portia faction is the most disorganized (except for the dormant Manleyists). This cauldron not ready for any serious responsibility, so Jamdung stuck in di middle, unless we the people FORCE the Change we want.

Suh mi seeit.

I get it.

Dont change the playas, change the Game.

Willi imagine if Bruce had cut the public sector when he first came in. Do you think he would have been there today?

What if he had call the IMF his first year? Remember how them threat him when he didn't want Vacianne? If he had cut the public sector it would be seen as poliitcal and him wicked like Seaga.

He has made his share of mistakes but he now has no choice and wait till next year when the axe drop.

Willi you think the Bunting factor have a chance in the PNP? They will be seen as labourites, Omar credibilty is now very low. As I have said once the PNP lost he should have no longer been the spokesman on finance but something else like planning and development.

So you mean Bruce wasn't able to make the harsh choices? Is this okay with you? Portia didn't do it either when it was her turn, but can we continue like this?

Mi si Bruce mek nuff harsh choices in di 2 years...

But those were spun as being 'lost'.

lol !

Gwaan Drivah ! Sed speed.. juss cut and guh true...

Maximum rispec fi Bruce ! (understanding he is a Jamaican politician)

All dem wheh a bend dung to pick up rock.. unless unnuh name Carolyn Gomes or Mutty Perkins bettah dem relax demself.. next ting one rockstone clap dem from behind..

While it is true that Bruce had a weak mandate from the beginning, and that he is also a slow, cautious decision maker, his performance to date has been more brilliant as a politician, than as a statesman.

He is still submissive to the tit for tat politics. Perhaps it would have been better that he decides that he will be in for 5 years only and make RADICAL and sweeeping changes that would change the game for all to follow. I have heard him say that he is not looking to be there too long and is already working on a succession plan. Well then, time to make the bold plays NOW!

As to the PNP, its is in an abysmal state. There are factions within factions and they are even less competent, as hard as that is to believe. They have people with ability, but that is all contrained by the factions. Portia faction, Peter P faction (probabbly the most grounded set), Peter B/Omar/Mark Golding faction, the dormant Manley faction and the loyal to PJ faction.

The most ambitious is the Peter B faction. They are so hungry, they can taste the power. However, they dont have the base and need Portia. Portia faction is the most disorganized (except for the dormant Manleyists). This cauldron not ready for any serious responsibility, so Jamdung stuck in di middle, unless we the people FORCE the Change we want.

Suh mi seeit.
              yuh knoo something willi , PNP were organized as a unit but the faction
              thing started up when Portia get in (opinion) Jamaica need a good opposition leader , Portia brings nothin to the Political arena , nothin !
              in the short and long run Jamaica and jamaicans lose .
              Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
              United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
              happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
              Probably forthcoming...

I wouldn't call Bruce a brilliant politician. Why? First of all if you want to remain a second term you just don't go having resignations all over the place. A skilled politician would be publicly critical of Latty but leave him in place to be the fall guy for future economic downturns. Now that Latty is gone Bruce is gambling by saying I'm putting in the right people and things must get better. Well what if they don't? NOt a Chess player (wouldn't even say master) in my book.

Bunting has no future as leader in the PNP. He comes across as one that cannot be trusted. He's arrogant (with little to back it up apart from that deal that he made some money); he made a speech saying that Ja has everything. Excuse ME? This shows that Bunting is unwilling to learn and will be a disconnect from the diaspora.

The reason why I stood up for NannyP was because in the midst of everything she stood and with held her vote for Ja. She saw where the island needed the fire turcks and not because the opposition wanted she should say nay. That to me is a move in the right direction.

Peter phillips should have done what he is doing now from the first defeat; his ego and prodding from the ones without vision brought him to a second defeat. Peter could have yeilded to Nanny P, gained her confidence and be the second most powerful man (I think Omar is already gaining this spot) in the party. What it shows me is that Peter is impatient and cannot bide his time and he thinks he is more intelligent than Portia (maybe in sociology) but Nanny P is a very skilled politician not to be taken lightly.

Omar is not dead; Bruce lambasting Omar in the house only shows naivety on Bruce's part. Bruce will learn to regret this come election.

That's how I see the PNP.

I can give you a list of hard choices like Casino gambling, like healthcare, get rid of some of the none performers, education to name a few.

Yes in my opinion he has not made enough but you can't compare him with Portia. She didn't make one.

Casino gambling - where are we with that?

Healthcare - wrong hard choice.

Got rid of the non-performers - maybe too hasty and tribal with some of his removals. It's also worrisome that so many have resigned recently.

What about education?

Where is the hard choice regarding the IMF? That should have been done a year ago.

Where is the hard choice re Joe Hibbert?

Where is the hard choice regarding crime and violence?

Where is the hard choice regarding extradition requests?

Yes, let's leave Portia outta dis argument!

"Yes, let's leave Portia outta dis argument!"

Good then you can talk.

Healthcare in my opinion is the right choice. There are problems but that didn't just come over night.

As for the removals a so the thing set. In my opinion he has not acted fast enough. You have fi shake things up and make people know it is not business as usual.

NO user fee for education and the minister trying his best.

Casino gambling has been slow but last I heard is they are about to carry it to parliament.

The Dudas thing and security is his biggest failure to date and as I tell you I am very disappointed in that regard.

As for the IMF it may not be easy as you think because our economy has been in bad shape not just since the recession, and one writer said if Shaw wasn't engaging them from a long time ago we wouldn't even reach this point. The PNP can talk about misteps as they have expericence dealing with this but what have they done with the 18 years experience? All I can hope for is a good deal for Jamaica.

Here is the real deal.

What you say is certainly correct and irrefutable. However, we are mired in the old paradigms. If Golding were to level with us in the present dispensation, he commits political suicide. That means the VOTERS are wrong. It would mean that the voters want lies and samfie. That is the crux of our problem.

When we are prepared to rewards honest, forthright efforts to solve our myriad of problems, then we can expect better.

This is why I have lost respect for these columnists who KNOW all this, but still write jaundiced article that are one-dimensional. Time for that has past. We wont encourage social unity without commitment to truth, reason and LOGIC.

At this point, it does not matter who is more to blame or what. We are on the brink...so time for drastic action. Time to do things 180 degrees different. Time to save ourselves from ourselves.
                        yuh start wake up!

I thought we were going to leave them outta it?!

Shaw tallking to the IMF from long time?!?! Yuh sure? Nuh him say di recession not gwine affect wi?!

I can give you a list of hard choices like Casino gambling, like healthcare, get rid of some of the none performers, education to name a few.

Yes in my opinion he has not made enough but you can't compare him with Portia. She didn't make one.

I wouldn't call Bruce a brilliant politician. Why? First of all if you want to remain a second term you just don't go having resignations all over the place. A skilled politician would be publicly critical of Latty but leave him in place to be the fall guy for future economic downturns. Now that Latty is gone Bruce is gambling by saying I'm putting in the right people and things must get better. Well what if they don't? NOt a Chess player (wouldn't even say master) in my book.

Bunting has no future as leader in the PNP. He comes across as one that cannot be trusted. He's arrogant (with little to back it up apart from that deal that he made some money); he made a speech saying that Ja has everything. Excuse ME? This shows that Bunting is unwilling to learn and will be a disconnect from the diaspora.

The reason why I stood up for NannyP was because in the midst of everything she stood and with held her vote for Ja. She saw where the island needed the fire turcks and not because the opposition wanted she should say nay. That to me is a move in the right direction.

Peter phillips should have done what he is doing now from the first defeat; his ego and prodding from the ones without vision brought him to a second defeat. Peter could have yeilded to Nanny P, gained her confidence and be the second most powerful man (I think Omar is already gaining this spot) in the party. What it shows me is that Peter is impatient and cannot bide his time and he thinks he is more intelligent than Portia (maybe in sociology) but Nanny P is a very skilled politician not to be taken lightly.

Omar is not dead; Bruce lambasting Omar in the house only shows naivety on Bruce's part. Bruce will learn to regret this come election.

That's how I see the PNP.
                              Yuh love Portia more dan cook food my yute.

Well I see her as a Political leader, not a director of R&D or Chairperson of a dept. at some Tertiary institution.