• How much is a governor worth?

How much is a governor worth?

Published: Sunday | November 8, 2009

Jamaica Employers' Federation (JEF) President Wayne Chen has argued that Jamaica is not yet at the stage where public-sector executives can be paid comparable with their counterparts in the private sector.

"If we are going to align salaries of persons who work in the public sector with that which is paid in the private sector, we must wait until after the rationalisation of the public sector has taken place," Chen told The Sunday Gleaner.

The contentious issue of public-sector salaries has been a major talking point since Prime Minister Bruce Golding told Parliament that the Government had to fire the central bank governor because the country could not afford to pay him.

Derick Latibeaudiere's salary would have moved from just over $22.9 million this year to $32 million on November 1. His contract had allowed for him to claim uncapped rent and maintenance for properties in which he lived.

$23.8 million cost
    Golding told Parliament that it would have cost the country a combined $23.8 million for housing and maintenance annually as of November.

Since the development last week, many commentators have weighed in on how much the position of central bank governor is worth.

Gregory Fisher, managing director of Oppenheimer, an international investment company, who declined to say how much the position was worth, underscored that "the central bank position is crucial, and just like any crucial position you get what you pay for."

The Government was not forthcoming last week about how much it would cost for the services of Brian Wynter, who will take up the job as BOJ governor on December 1.

Chen believes that the amount paid to the head of the central bank must be in the region of $10 million for basic salary.

"It should be comparable with salaries earned by executive directors and heads of agencies such as the Urban Development Corpo-ration and Heart Trust," Chen said. It was not immediately clear last week who were the highest paid public-sector workers.

no match
    Chen argues that Jamaica should not attempt to match public-sector salaries with those in the private sector because "we are not at the stage where we can afford that".

"Working in the public sector should be seen as an opportunity to make a significant contribution to national development," Chen said.
    The JEF president, however, argued that persons giving public service should be adequately compensated.
    "You can't afford to pay them so much that it creates a two-tiered system where the disparity between heads of organisation is so wide between themselves and the people they supervise," Chen argued.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead4.html

What does good stewardship of the BOJ mean for the country? What value good stewardship?

It is damn foolishness playing $1 per annum or $100,000,000 per annum to screw the country?

If it is proven over time that when compared to the work Derick Latibeaudiere's did...his replacement...matters not if he was paid $1.00 per annum or $100,000,000.00 per annum...screwed the country royally! ...would it, in retrospect, be it considered Derick Latibeaudiere represented value for money?

...and if the new person proves a resounding success?

crewed the country...royally! ...would it then on retrospect be said Derick Latibeaudiere's represented value for money?

How did he represent value for money?

What was the exchange rate when he took over? What is the inflation rate throughout his tenure?

What are his great achievements over his years?
      Nobody can tell me his great achievement but lending to the public at 20% and above.

How did he represent value for money?

What was the exchange rate when he took over? What is the inflation rate throughout his tenure?

What are his great achievements over his years?
        Nobody can tell me his great achievement but lending to the public at 20% and above.
        ...and you say those in the context of what it is that we produce and what services we sell that supports our dollar?
        Right?

If we continue at the rate we are going in goods and services we produce the dollar will in time be devalued 'a million-fold'! ...under these cicumstances no Gov of our BOJ can save us. All he/she can do is, the best to make that devaluation as slow as possible.

Explain to him Karl that it is the Private Sector fault. The Governor just trying to keep the ship steady under their assault.

As for the Government of the Day.. they were just trying to "Put people first", "Log on to Progress" and remain "On the road to the 4th Term"...

Damn Private Sector.. why wi cyaan get the ones that exist in the rest of the region..wi stuck with this set... why dem don't just guh back were they came from !

lol !

Explain to him Karl that it is the Private Sector fault. The Governor just trying to keep the ship steady under their assault.

As for the Government of the Day.. they were just trying to "Put people first", "Log on to Progress" and remain "On the road to the 4th Term"...

Damn Private Sector.. why wi cyaan get the ones that exist in the rest of the region..wi stuck with this set... why dem don't just guh back were they came from !

lol !
            I have always cussed the private sector...and I shall not stop. ...but the Governments (PNL & JLP) have their fair share of blame.

Maudib: There is one think this constant debate forgets, inside or outside of the government(s)...private sector or public sector...

...and let us stick to JA? Right?

....the relationships between and among our people is such that from just about each and every home - the people - private sector doers and public sector doers interact and reside...discuss the problems and
            formulate the solutions...

...so in the final analysis, who F@#$%^ks up?

whe di money a go come from fi invest when you borrow at 20%?
              what your markup or profit margin have to be? and then next week the BOJ raise it by 8 percent more.

Think about what that do to the private sector. If you have the money you just buy papers from the BOJ and you alright. When it go up by 20% you laugh, you nuh have fi produce anything. That is what been happening and the model we have been using.

Well wi on di right track now.

Drivah working wid di 'Private Sector' to rationalize tings.

Talk to yuh people dem and mek sure dem nuh F*&Jk up tings again like dem did in 1972 and 1989.. mi feel seh 3 strikes and wi out so.. talk to dem.