PNP downplays concerns about former BOJ Governor’s contract

• PNP downplays concerns about former BOJ Governor’s contract

PNP downplays concerns about former BOJ Governor’s contract Thursday, 05 November 2009
    Derrick Latibeaudiere.
    The People's National Party (PNP) has sought to downplay concerns about the salary package approved for former Central Bank Governor Derrick Latibeaudiere when it was in power.

The PNP called the media to its party headquarters on Thursday morning, describing Prime Minister Bruce Golding as acting rashly when the administration fired the Governor last week Friday.

The PNP Spokesman on Industry, Mark Golding said the Prime Minister's action only serves to undermine the current negotiations with the IMF which were being led by the BOJ governor and has sent the market into a tailspin.

"We regard the approach by the Prime Minister in this matter to be a sideshow however it is imprudent sideshow. The Governor is well known in the local and international capital markets
    and whatever criticisms may be leveled at his personal style or his policy approaches he has proved himself over the years to be decisive and technically competent," Mr. Golding said.

Turning to the rent allowance about which the Prime Minister raised concern, the PNP Spokesman said the administration should have re-negotiated the contract instead of firing the Governor.

Turning to the loan which the BOJ Governor secured from the Bank to build a new house for himself and about which the Auditor General had raised concern, Mr. Golding said the Finace Minister had signed off on the loan.

"On the question of the loan as I understand it, the current Ministr of Finance signed off on the arrangements that were put in place once this matter was raised by the Auditor General," he said.

The Opposition Spokesman on Finance Dr. Omar Davies was absent and said to be travelling overseas.

Mark Golding got exposed on NNN yesterday. He was on Nationwide at 5 talking about the good job Derrick did. Cliff Hughes asked him about his speech in the Senate 2 weeks ago, quoting some of what he said. Golding insisted thats not what he said.

Well Cliff may have gained some experience from Silver Hawk, cause Cliff dig up the tapes of what Golding said. Bunch of jokers.

Wha you say Lazie. Is this a claasic case of the PNP defending the indefensible or what. I am seriously beginning to quetion the sanity of Jamaican politicians.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
        Wha you say Lazie. Is this a claasic case of the PNP defending the indefensible or what. I am seriously beginning to quetion the sanity of Jamaican politicians.
        "defending the indefensible " Funny thats the same phrase Dickie Crawford used to describe it. As one politicial pundit pointed out Mark Golding allowed himself to be set up as most of the PNP top brass wasn't present at the PC. Omar pulled a disappearing act Houdini would envy.

I am going to sue this Dickie Crawford fellow for copyright infringment.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
            I am going to sue this Dickie Crawford fellow for copyright infringment.
            The thought crossed my mind if he got permission to use it. LEt mi introduce yuh tuh Gamma. In case of any monetary compensation, remember the whistleblower.

er fellas...I introduced that term around here suh let us not get carried away..i looking for a good lawyer!

er .... suh what yuh telling us?