Crime bills - Where have they gone?

• Crime bills - Where have they gone?

I squarely put the blame on the government for this. I give you the case of healthcare in America - This is something that Obama wants to make his legacy and its very visible. YOu hea it in the news over and over again. It's something that's always discussed in both houses. It's on the lips of majority of americans.

Now to the crime bills..something has important like this started with a bang and blew out of steam? whaere are the talks? Where are the discussions? Why isn't the Gov minister on information in the public ears about the PNP dragging their feet or wherever the blame lays? Where is the update? what is the staus?
    The government has become silent on this and they seem no not be pushing it as it out to be. Correct me if I'm wrong Lazie but has this been discussed in Parliament lately?

Originally posted by Plush View Post
    I squarely put the blame on the government for this. I give you the case of healthcare in America - This is something that Obama wants to make his legacy and its very visible. YOu hea it in the news over and over again. It's something that's always discussed in both houses. It's on the lips of majority of americans.

Now to the crime bills..something has important like this started with a bang and blew out of steam? whaere are the talks? Where are the discussions? Why isn't the Gov minister on information in the public ears about the PNP dragging their feet or wherever the blame lays? Where is the update? what is the staus?
    The government has become silent on this and they seem no not be pushing it as it out to be. Correct me if I'm wrong Lazie but has this been discussed in Parliament lately?
    In order for the Healthcare bill to move forward the other day, Olympia Snowe a republican supported it. The other day an opposition MP from Portland abstained his vote during the review of the supplimentary estimates and started to fret about potential backlash from his party.

The crime bills as you've indicated is been held back by the obstructionists, even though they initially agreed with it. How about people start getting on them to stop being empty barrels and work fi dem pay fi a change?

"We had hoped that by now we would have secured passage of the six anti-crime Bills which were formulated on the recommendation of the Police and through bi-partisan discussions between the Government and the Opposition in the first half of 2008. They were considered by a Joint Select Committee during six meetings held in the latter part of 2008. Submissions from several organizations and individuals were considered.
    Two of the Bills are governed by section 50 of the Constitution requiring passage by a two-thirds majority in each House of Parliament and could therefore not succeed without the support of the Opposition. In the course of the deliberations of the Committee, it became apparent that they would not enjoy the support of the Opposition. Some members strenuously objected to critical provisions in three of the other four Bills and the Committee reported that it was not able to reach agreement. I regret that these measures were not enacted." (PM's address to Parliament on Tuesday).
    Last edited by Lazie; November 5, 2009, 11:48 AM.

ANd what I'm saying is, what's next, did it stop them and life goes on? What was the backup plan? what was the next step? We are almost at the end of 2009. Was there any effort to make amendments and go back to the table? Did Bruce and team get the people of Jamiaca involved for them to presure their MPS etc? Are we going to just sit back and say that we won't get opposition support so let's leave it as is? That my frend is very poor leadership

Originally posted by Plush View Post
        ANd what I'm saying is, what's next, did it stop them and life goes on? What was the backup plan? what was the next step? We are almost at the end of 2009. Was there any effort to make amendments and go back to the table? Did Bruce and team get the people of Jamiaca involved for them to presure their MPS etc? Are we going to just sit back and say that we won't get opposition support so let's leave it as is? That my frend is very poor leadership
        Aren't we all aware of what the hurdle is? They've made it clear to us. Members of the JCF have constantly called for the bills to be passed aqnd the obstructionists stand firm. Again, why don't the voters get on their MPs who are in the opposition to get busy? Oh yes, in Jamaica we nuh vote based on issues, we deal wid the party lines. If the opposition insist on being a hurdle, there is nothing that can be done because a 2/3 majority is needed to pass the bill.

Blame the gov't if you wish. Seems to be an easy path. When yuh done check and see how the House is split. How many opposition votes would be needed to get a 2/3 majority?

Maybe they were stolen?