• When American is not American

To Some, Winner Is Not American Enough

By GINA KOLATA
    Published: November 2, 2009
    As soon as Mebrahtom Keflezighi, better known as Meb, won the New York City Marathon on Sunday, an uncommon sports dispute erupted online, fraught with racial and nationalistic components: Should Keflezighi’s triumph count as an American victory?

He was widely celebrated as the first American to win the New York race since 1982. Having immigrated to the United States at age 12, he is an American citizen and a product of American distance running programs at the youth, college and professional levels.

But, some said, because he was born in Eritrea, he is not really an American runner.

The debate reveals what some academics say are common assumptions and stereotypes about race and sports and athletic achievement in the United States. Its dimensions, they add, go beyond the particulars of Keflezighi and bear on undercurrents of nationalism and racism that are not often voiced.

“Race is still extremely important when you think about athletics,” said David Wiggins, a professor at George Mason University who studies African-Americans and sports. “There is this notion about innate physiological gifts that certain races presumably possess. Quite frankly, I think it feeds into deep-seated stereotypes. The more blatant forms of racial discrimination and illegal forms have been eliminated, but more subtle forms of discrimination still exist.”

There are few cases parallel to Keflezighi’s in American sports. Some are noteworthy because of how little discussion, by comparison, they generated over the athlete’s nationality. For example, the Hall of Fame basketball player Patrick Ewing (Jamaica) and the gold medal gymnast Nastia Liukin (Russia) were born abroad, but when they represented the United States in competition, they seemingly did not encounter the same skepticism that Keflezighi has.

Richard Lapchick, the director of the Institute for Diversity and Ethics in Sport at the University of Central Florida, said the argument about Keflezighi “tells us there are people that still have racial red flags go up when certain things happen.”

He added: “Many people think that with an African-American president, we are in a postracial society. Clearly, we are not.”
    The online postings about Keflezighi were anonymous. One of the milder ones on Letsrun.com said: “Give us all a break. It’s just another African marathon winner.”

A comment on The New York Times’s site said: “Keflezighi is really another elite African runner by birth, upbringing, and training. Americans are kidding themselves if they say he represents a resurgence of American distance prowess! On the other hand, he is an excellent representative of how we import everything we need!”

In a commentary on CNBC.com, Darren Rovell wrote, “Nothing against Keflezighi, but he’s like a ringer who you hire to work a couple hours at your office so that you can win the executive softball league.”

Keflezighi said on Monday that remarks about his heritage were not new. “I’ve had to deal with it,” he said. “But, hey, I’ve been here 22 years. And the U.S.A. is a land of immigrants. A lot of people have come from different places.”

The last American to win the New York race, Alberto Salazar, was also born in another country. He came to the United States from Cuba when he was 2. When he won, though, he did not hear grumbling about whether he should be considered an American. He pointed out two differences between his case and Keflezighi’s: Salazar is Hispanic, not black; and when he won in 1982, the Internet, in its current form, did not exist.

The argument that Keflezighi is not really an American makes little sense, Salazar said in a telephone interview.

“What if Meb’s parents had moved to this country a year before he was born?” he said. At what point is someone truly American? “Only if your family traces itself back to 1800, will it count?”

The issue previously arose when Keflezighi won a silver medal in the 2004 Athens Olympics, said Weldon Johnson, a founder of Letsrun.com. So when the negative postings appeared Sunday, he said, “I did not like seeing them, but I was not surprised.”

Perhaps the passion over Keflezighi’s victory stems from the despair over the state of American distance running. Americans used to be the best, in the 1970s and 1980s. But their time of glory waned as East Africans began dominating.

The success of distance runners from Kenya and Ethiopia fostered a lore of East Africans as genetically gifted, unbeatable, dominant because of their biology. Scientists have looked for — but not found — genes specific to East Africans that could account for their distance ability, said John Hoberman, a professor at the University of Texas at Austin who studies race and sports.

But, he said, “there is a difference between saying we don’t have a scientifically respectable conclusion and the very broad and perhaps mistaken claim that there is no physiological phenomenon here whatsoever.”

Regarding the question of whether East Africans have a genetic advantage, Hoberman said, “We don’t know.”

“The more relevant question is, who gets to represent the country?” he said, adding, “Only racists will insist that ‘our’ athletes meet specific racial criteria.”

Consternation over the race of elite American athletes is not new. A century ago, the notion of a “great white hope” emerged — a white boxer who whites hoped could beat the black heavyweight boxing champion Jack Johnson.

In running, as African-American athletes excelled in sprints, they were said to lack the endurance or the fortitude to prevail in longer distances, Wiggins said. Then, when East Africans started to thrive, the argument changed to one claiming there are special East African genes.

“From my perspective, it is racist thinking at its utmost,” Wiggins said.

In Salazar’s view, Keflezighi’s victory is another indication that American distance running is coming back. Keflezighi never ran competitively before he came to the United States, and he did all his training here.

“Can American-born guys and gals compete?” Salazar said. “I think we are starting to see that.

“Does Meb resolve that argument? No. He wasn’t born here.

“And neither was I.”

American with an asterisk, LOL!

HL take note.

To write an article based on comments from the fringe of American society is comical. Any fool with a computer can go and post bigoted comments online, and many of those views typically are representative of a small narrow minded few. Based on the TV news reports that I have seen surrounding this athlete, he was acknowledged as an American winner.

At the Beijing Olympics, the USA captains chose Sudanese born Lopez Lomong to carry the flag. There are very few countries in the world who would have chosen a foreign born person to carry their flag at the Olympics.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        To write an article based on comments from the fringe of American society is comical. Any fool with a computer can go and post bigoted comments online, and many of those views typically are representative of a small narrow minded few. Based on the TV news reports that I have seen surrounding this athlete, he was acknowledged as an American winner.

At the Beijing Olympics, the USA captains chose Sudanese born Lopez Lomong to carry the flag. There are very few countries in the world who would have chosen a foreign born person to carry their flag at the Olympics.

This is not a foolish or comical article...you are misguided.

While it may not be the dominant view....These views would represent a significant sample of Americans...people have differing standards of what they regard as "American" based on their biases.....that is clear and well established and should be so to any discerning observer.

Consequently the article is 100% valid in exposing such viewpoints.

yo wasting yo time Hortical. All this tunnel vision fraud does is post opinion pieces and dress them up as facts and consensus.

I've seen Mebrahtom making numerous rounds on the televison and newspaper circuit and getting much accolades.
          Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
          Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

What about the Gov. of Calif.? Is he American????

who is he married to? nuh americana itself? anyway, it is an argument of convenience.

Is the Governor of Michigan an American?
                Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Originally posted by Yuttie View Post
                  yo wasting yo time Hortical. All this tunnel vision fraud does is post opinion pieces and dress them up as facts and consensus.

I've seen Mebrahtom making numerous rounds on the televison and newspaper circuit and getting much accolades.
                  Remedial schooling is calling you....

Answer.

American with an asterisk, LOL!

HL take note.
                    An anecdote:

A likkle while ago I'm working with a top executive in an insurance company in NY...Italian guy...a cool yute with very mainstream US opinions/world view.
                    Mi an mi wife guh ah im yaad an eat fram im an fi im wife han...suh mi kno likkle bit bout im mindset.

We have a likkle meeting wid some people from one nex insurance group..the CEO & Chief Marketing Officer.

So the people come check wi inna wi office an wi sight dem fram a distance at reception....one white bredda an one chiney man.

Suh di Italian yute seh to mi..."Oh there's Jerry, the CEO...I don't know the other guy"

Suh mi seh..."Wich one ah dem name Jerry?"

Italian: "Oh..Jerry is the American guy...I don't know the other guy"

Mi embarrass di Italian wen mi seh "You mean the white guy...right?

All I got was a sheepish smile....saying...yuh ketch mi.

That's a mainstream American viewpoint....in the most liberal and culturally advanced city in the US...where every nation on Earth is represented.
                    I hear that kind of ignorance all the time.

One shudders to consider the thinking out there in the backward hinterland.... Middle America..where the salt of the earth reside.
                    Last edited by Don1; November 4, 2009, 12:23 PM.

suh chinney man never cudda...nuh...born a 'Merica?

A wanda iffen di racists dem a tink...????? ...no???? ...dem cudden tink seh dem neva..nar fi dem han-ces-ta dem di cum fram sum-weh helse tuh???? A wanda...???

These views would represent a significant sample of Americans.
                        That statement is not correct, and they are on the fringes of society.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                          That statement is not correct, and they are on the fringes of society.
                          Fringes of society??

Ok..let's agree to disagree on this.

No problema.