Information Minister slams Standard & Poor's
Originally posted by Lazie View PostAgain, the IMF issued a release Monday night. As far as they're concerned the negotiations are still going on.
According to the PM's presentation,
"Apart from the modest concession on the payment for rent, the Governor has remained adamant that the Bank's contractual obligations to him must be met. In a letter to the Minister dated Friday October 30th prior to his dismissal he stated in bold type "If the pacta sunt servanta principle which governs the sanctity of contracts is to have any meaning, the contract which I have signed with the Minister in accordance with statute should be observed". The letter goes on to say "If the contract is not to be observed then I would think that the law should take its course".
What Derrick needs to do is come out and dispute all the PM said. Omar admitted that the compensation was too high.
Now, until Derrick come out and give another angle, what evidence you have that its smokescreen?
If it is indeed true that the guy was fired beacuse of a pay package that they were aware of long ago....and fired in the middle of leading critical negotiations with the IMF...that would say to me that the GOJ is completely idiotic.
The pay issue is used as a pretext for the dismissal....at a critical time.
The real reason must be policy differences....that being the case he should have been fired lang lang time.... NOT in the middle of negotiations.
That's where the partial stupidity comes in....because of the ridiculous timing of the firing...which led to a ratings downgrade.Last edited by Don1; November 4, 2009, 03:24 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Don1 View PostI think the PM's reason for the firing is a smokescreen because I don't think the GOJ is 100% idiotic...only partially so.
If it is indeed true that the guy was fired becuse of a pay package that they were aware of long ago....and fired in the middle of leading critical negotiations with the IMF...that would say to me that the GOJ is completely idiotic.
The pay issue is used as a pretext for the dismissal....at a critical time.
The real reason must be policy differences....that being the case he should have been fired lang lang time."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Lazie View PostWell, the parties involved don't have a problem. The IMF said the negotiations are ongoing. How you gonna stay on the outside and know whats happening? I think people mekking up noise because they want to do so. But hey ... gwaan duh unuh ting.
Yes mi ah gwaan duh my ting....mi cyan think fi miself...tank yuh Jeezas
Yuh gwaan duh your ting ah falla politician an tek evvyting dem seh as gospel.
One foolish tician takes many peeple wid im.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Maudib View PostDumbOne faithful to the disaffected comrade line..
Even in the face of all historical evidence to the contrary...
lol !TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
i take your point ..... they should have "accepted his resignation" long ago, however, having not done so, and being at this stage of negotiations where he is an obstacle to the policy direction they want to take what should they do?
continue with negotiations that are stymied from the get go?
capitulate and go with what he wants?
accept his resignation and start from there?
Originally posted by Gamma View Posti take your point ..... they should have "accepted his resignation" long ago, however, having not done so, and being at this stage of negotiations where he is an obstacle to the policy direction they want to take what should they do?
continue with negotiations that are stymied from the get go?
capitulate and go with what he wants?
accept his resignation and start from there?
I just felt the timing was very unfortunate...pity we did not go into this with a solid front.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Maudib View Postlol !
That's more like it DumbOne.. do not be afraid to show your true colors.. give up the pretense.. 'Yuh nuh fraid ah no gyal, no man' don't forget to beat your chest...
LOL !!
LOL!!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE