• This Dudus Thing Get Outta Hand Now!

Pree this Associated Press Article:

Jamaica balks at US request for alleged crime boss
    By MIKE MELIA (AP) – 2 days ago

SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico — Jamaica is resisting a U.S. request to hand over a suspected crime boss with ties to the Caribbean nation's governing party amid reports he is stockpiling weapons in his Kingston stronghold to prevent arrest.
    The island's government, which received the extradition request for Christopher "Dudus" Coke in August, has so far only responded with requests for more information about the gun and drug trafficking charges against the reputed gang leader.

Coke, identified by the U.S. Justice Department as one of the world's most dangerous drug kingpins, allegedly controls a band of gunmen inside Tivoli Gardens, a barricaded neighborhood of Kingston, the capital of Jamaica and a city with one of the highest homicide rates in the Western Hemisphere.
    U.S. authorities are voicing frustration that Jamaica is not moving more quickly to honor a mutual extradition treaty.

"The U.S. government is looking forward to the Jamaican government respecting their obligations under the treaty," Patricia Attkisson, spokeswoman for the U.S. Embassy in Kingston, said Thursday.

The political opposition has also criticized the government for putting Jamaica into what it calls a standoff over Coke, who is known for his loyalty to the Jamaica Labor Party. Island gangs have loose affiliations with both major parties — a legacy of the 1970s, when political factions provided the guns to intimidate rivals.

"The cascading effect of international reaction to the administration's inaction could lead ultimately to Jamaica being labeled and declared a 'rogue state,' with lasting adverse implications for our people," said Peter Bunting, a lawmaker with the opposition People's National Party.

A government spokesman did not respond to requests for comment.
    Coke's lawyer, Tom Tavares-Finson, said his client has not been in touch with the local government and is not privy to the details of any discussions between the U.S. and Jamaica.

"We're waiting to hear what the decision is," said Tavares-Finson, who has dismissed the U.S. charges as "hype."

Coke, the alleged leader of the "Shower Posse" gang, is charged in the U.S. Southern District of New York with conspiracy to distribute cocaine and marijuana and conspiracy to illegally traffic in firearms. Coke, 40, faces a maximum sentence of life in prison if convicted.

Under Coke's direction, U.S. authorities allege, "Shower Posse" members have sold marijuana and crack cocaine in the New York area and elsewhere and funneled profits back to him.

An island-wide explosion of violence could result from an attempt to arrest Coke, who has extensive connections across the country, said Horace Levy, who works to reduce community violence through the government-launched Peace Management Initiative.

"The information I have, which is good information, is that he is preparing to defend himself," and is even equipped with gas masks, Levy said. "There is a serious intent on the part of Dudus not to hand himself in and defend himself."

Copyright © 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.

http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/...w0fMAD9BL1CSO0
    Last edited by Karl; June 16, 2011, 04:31 PM.

Re: This Dudus Thing....

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
    U.S. authorities are voicing frustration that Jamaica is not moving more quickly to honor a mutual extradition treaty.

"The U.S. government is looking forward to the Jamaican government respecting their obligations under the treaty," Patricia Attkisson, spokeswoman for the U.S. Embassy in Kingston, said Thursday.
    WIGNALL'S WORLD
    Mark Wignall
    Sunday, November 01, 2009

Am I alone in the belief that one day, pretty soon, this nation will get up one morning to the 'sound' of a huge joint security operation with the Jamaican security forces and a US force assisting US marshals stationed at the US Embassy?

One online contributor with close links to global security operations wrote, in relation to a Gleaner column written weeks ago by Rev Devon Dick, that 'Dudus' will have his day in court.

"This is all a massive load of useless stuff coming from Devon Dick. As I understand it, 'Dudus' will not really have his day in the Jamaican courts. When a prima facie case is being made against a defendant, he and his legal team, though present, do not participate in the process. It is on the strength of the extradition request, that is, the prosecution's case and the evidence, minus the witnesses, that the resident magistrate agrees or disagrees on extradition. On that basis his chances appear dark. The US Marshals' office at the US Embassy in Kingston has done its homework and operatives there will not divulge the Jamaican witness list for fear of reprisals against them, and although he was freed of charges in the Jamaican courts in 1994 and 1997, they would already have had the transcripts of those cases.

"The Government obfuscation tactic of requesting a list of co-conspirators, most of whom would have already struck deals with US authorities to save their own skins, is a lame, hopeless and bankrupt ploy."

observemark@gmail.com

Regional Precedents

Originally posted by Historian View Post
      Mark Wignall
      Sunday, November 01, 2009

Am I alone in the belief that one day, pretty soon, this nation will get up one morning to the 'sound' of a huge joint security operation with the Jamaican security forces and a US force assisting US marshals stationed at the US Embassy?
      Will the USA get its wanted man?

I have no idea, of course, and neither does any member of this forum. Nevertheless, it might be somewhat instructive to look at two fairly recent “precedents” from two CARICOM nations: Guyana and the Bahamas.

In Guyana, Shaheed “Roger” Khan was an alleged cocaine drug kingpin who was implicated in major murders, and who had the backing of a paramilitary squad (the much feared Target Special Squad) in his native Guyana. When the government of Guyana balked at a request from the USA to extradite Khan, the US government moved into action by indirect means. After Roger Khan was arrested in Paramaribo, Suriname by that country’s police after he made the fatal mistake of venturing across the border and away from his safe haven in Guyana (where the government never ever acknowledged his involvement in cocaine trafficking or any other crime), he was mysteriously spirited out of Suriname and flown to Trinidad where he was handed over to USA agents. He’s now in a federal prison in the USA.

In the Bahamas’ case, drug kingpin Samuel “Ninety” Knowles, who was extradited in 2000 from Montego Bay to his native Bahamas, languished in prison in the Bahamas for several years while the Bahamian government balked at extraditing him. The Bahamas government eventually signed for his extradition, in accordance with the treaty with the USA. As a direct result of this, in 2006 Knowles was taken in the dead of night from his prison cell by US agents, placed on a helicopter and flown to the USA. Other prisoners in nearby cells in that prison were not even aware of what took place until the next day!

In the case of Jamaica and Tivoli Gardens, while such direct action (some may call it legal kidnapping) may not be possible, the USA government can make a recalcitrant nation like Jamaica sink in the most real sense of the word! Travel advisories and travel restrictions to and from Jamaica might be a starting point, followed by various types of economic sanctions.

Whatever the case, the USA will get its man, and Jamaica may very well pay a major and very serious price in the process!! This situation is very serious for our country, and personally speaking, I am very, very worried!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
        Will the USA get its wanted man?

I have no idea, of course, and neither does any member of this forum. Nevertheless, it might be somewhat instructive to look at two fairly recent “precedents” from two CARICOM nations: Guyana and the Bahamas.

In Guyana, Shaheed “Roger” Khan was an alleged cocaine drug kingpin who was implicated in major murders, and who had the backing of a paramilitary squad (the much feared Target Special Squad) in his native Guyana. When the government of Guyana balked at a request from the USA to extradite Khan, the US government moved into action by indirect means. After Roger Khan was arrested in Paramaribo, Suriname by that country’s police after he made the fatal mistake of venturing across the border and away from his safe haven in Guyana (where the government never ever acknowledged his involvement in cocaine trafficking or any other crime), he was mysteriously spirited out of Suriname and flown to Trinidad where he was handed over to USA agents. He’s now in a federal prison in the USA.

In the Bahamas’ case, drug kingpin Samuel “Ninety” Knowles, who was extradited in 2000 from Montego Bay to his native Bahamas, languished in prison in the Bahamas for several years while the Bahamian government balked at extraditing him. The Bahamas government eventually signed for his extradition, in accordance with the treaty with the USA. As a direct result of this, in 2006 Knowles was taken in the dead of night from his prison cell by US agents, placed on a helicopter and flown to the USA. Other prisoners in nearby cells in that prison were not even aware of what took place until the next day!

In the case of Jamaica and Tivoli Gardens, while such direct action (some may call it legal kidnapping) may not be possible, the USA government can make a recalcitrant nation like Jamaica sink in the most real sense of the word! Travel advisories and travel restrictions to and from Jamaica might be a starting point, followed by various types of economic sanctions.

Whatever the case, the USA will get its man, and Jamaica may very well pay a major and very serious price in the process!! This situation is very serious for our country, and personally speaking, I am very, very worried!
        It nah come to dat serious price ting...Brucie nuh have di balls fi stan up to Uncle Sam....aldo im fraid ah di reprisals fram di Republic of Tivolia...Dat ah di ongly ting Jamaica haffi worry bout...NOT the US.

Brucie is between a Rock and a Hard Place....ebry way im tun...macca juk im!

What a soap opera...... Hoist by his own petard.

Wasn't there news some years ago that a MoBay businessman was taken in the dead of night? ...was it from off a casino boat of the MoBay coast?

...isn't there also the possibility that Dudus may know too much and thus is never extradited but go the way of his father? ...mysteriously?

destabilization 101, pay close attention to the developments and watch what happens here. You don't think the USA knows that if they extradite dudus what would happen?

You know how long dem waaan run up inna Jamaica(to meet their demise as it is written)

Am I the only one noticing that Jamaica is flooded with AK-47's and a new generation of youths looking to go to war and am I the only one noticing the similarities between Jamaica, Afganistan and what Hugo Chavez was trying to do in Venezuela(arm the populace and give them AK-47's) just in case the USA run in.

It had to come to this as it was already written.

The only thing can save Jamaica is music as thats the only thing can expose all that is happening and make the world pay attention. I think the USA has bit off more than it can chew on this one.

All along dem get away with punking the caribbean but this time around its not the stall that will do them in its the message in the music going global that will shine light on how dem do things.

I could care less if Dudus is guilty or not, my point is that our government lack cojones and no matter how big a guy is a MAN fi stand him ground and protect him citizens in the matter of due process.

If we can't extradite some guy fi a flood wi country with guns then dem can't extradite any of our guys for flooding their country with drugs

end of story

respect

The worst thing about all of this is no one can haul the US in front of a court for looking the other way as guns flood this country, whether or not Dudus did his part in this illegal importation.

It's Jamaicans who go up their and ship the guns down.

so yuh say war wid di US ras?

So just blame the US for guns in Jamaica, and hide from the mirror.

is that what i am doing?!?

is there any end to nonsensical statements spewing from the fingers of some forumites?!?

is that what i am doing?!?

is there any end to nonsensical statements spewing from the fingers of some forumites?!?
                        maybe it's thinking with fingers?

yeah Jawge, with the exception that this will be an "intellectual" war. This time instead of cowering and shivering we will stand as men and defend our women and children by DEMANDING assistance in going after the gun runners who are "assisting" and "fascilitating" the drug trade.

Now what country can say no when you are seeking to publicly asist them in doing their job? We have to be "strategic" in plotting our moves and now that this one has fallen into our lap we shouldn't miss this opportunity to shed light on certain developments that many have turned a blind eye to for far too long while our children suffer

at some point we have to say "enough is enough! right Jawge?
                          http://www.jamaicasmostwanted.com/20...icit-activity/

that is true and that is why we need their help much like how they are targetting the Mexican mafia and cartels by going after their street level gangs who move the drugs in the USA so too we need to "shout from the tree top" what we need done and protect our interest.

We need help with stemming the flow of guns and nothing is wrong with asking for assistance in that regards.

Let us first ask for help and give the US the opportunity to say yes or no before we say that "it can't be done"

Nothing beat a trial but a failure. a so we raise fi think as Jamaicans

One step at a time Hortical,

first ask the USA for help on their side as publicly as possible(shouting from the mountain top) then sit back and see who publicly backs you, who opposes you and who keeps quiet.

A so you "diplomatically" hang people as by their deeds will they be known

one step at a time my lord, let us stay in the process and not rush the thing. We have to be patient, thorough and meticulous like lawyers and judge.

first things first lets establish who is really for real, no blaming and no warring a expose we a expose them and nothing nah get us distracted

respect