• US News & World Report: America DOWN..but Not Out

9 signs that America is in decline

The US is muddling through a weak, jobless recovery and confronts problems that could make prosperity feel elusive for a long time.

By Rick Newman, U.S. News & World Report

The sky isn't falling, exactly. America isn't on a fast track to irrelevance. Even in a state of total neglect, we could probably shamble along as a disheveled superpower for a few more decades.

But all empires end, and the warning signs of American decline seem to be blinking more consistently. In the latest annual "prosperity index" published by the Legatum Institute, a research company in London, the United States ranks as the world's ninth-most-prosperous country. That's five notches lower than last year, when America ranked No. 4.

The drop might seem inconsequential, especially in the midst of a grueling recession -- except that most of the world has endured the same recession, and other countries are bouncing back faster.
    China and India have recovered smartly from the recession, for example. Brazil seems to be barreling ahead. Australia is growing faster than expected, prompting worry among government officials who fear they may have overstimulated the economy.

The United States, meanwhile, is muddling through a weak, jobless recovery, and we have a lot of problems that could make prosperity feel elusive for a long time.

Real household income in America has flat-lined, for instance, which means many middle-class families are barely keeping up with inflation. The exploding federal deficit hamstrings the government's ability to help. Health care is too expensive, America's manufacturing base is eroding and two open-ended foreign wars are draining the national treasury. This is not a recipe for building national wealth.
    There are still millions of diligent, innovative Americans who could help the nation dig out of its hole. But overall, the American population is falling behind, by a variety of measures. Here are some of them:

1. Jobs. The International Monetary Fund predicts that the U.S. unemployment rate will be 10.1% for all of 2010. That's lower than in a majority of the euro zone nations, but it's higher than in Canada and a lot worse than most Scandinavian countries and the newly industrialized Asian nations the IMF looked at. Overall, the U.S. unemployment rate is about average for advanced economies and likely to stay that way. It could be worse, but middling job creation isn't a sign of global leadership.

2. Economic growth. The IMF also predicts that the U.S. economy will grow 1.9% in 2010. That's a tad better than the average for all advanced economies, but at least 10 developed nations will grow faster. Woo-hoo. Three cheers for mediocrity.

3. Poverty. The nation's poverty rate, about 17%, is third worst among the advanced nations tracked by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. In that sample, only Turkey and Mexico are worse.

4. Education. American 15-year-olds score below the average for advanced nations on math and science literacy. But don't worry: Our nation's future leaders remain ahead of their peers in Mexico, Turkey and Greece.

5. Competitiveness. In the latest global competitiveness report from the World Economic Forum, the United States fell from No. 1 to No. 2. Sure, let's console ourselves that the No. 1 country, Switzerland, is a tiny outlier nation and that getting bumped from the top spot doesn't really mean anything. Add an asterisk, and we're still No. 1.

6. Prosperity. The most prosperous nations, according to the Legatum report, are Finland, Switzerland, Sweden, Denmark and Norway. These fairly homogenous European countries are the teachers' pets of global rankings, often appearing near the top because of right-sized economies and a relatively small underclass.

For a huge economy like America's, a No. 9 ranking is still respectable. And part of the drop from last year's No. 4 spot is a change in methodology that puts more emphasis on the health and safety of citizens. Still, in the index's subrankings, the United States isn't even in the top 10 for economic fundamentals, safety and security, or governance. We should do better.

7. Health. In the Legatum study, the United States ranks 27th for the health of its citizens. Life expectancy in America is below the average for 30 advanced countries measured by the OECD, and the obesity rate in America is the worst among those 30 countries, by far. And, of course, we spend far more on health care per person than anybody else -- but get no bang for the extra buck.

8. Well-being. In the United Nations' Human Development Index, which attempts to measure the overall well-being of citizens throughout the world, the United States ranks 13th, one notch lower than in the prior set of rankings. Norway, Australia, Iceland and Canada are at the top.

9. Happiness. The United States ranks 11th in the OECD's measure of "life satisfaction"-- behind Denmark, Finland, the Netherlands and other usual suspects. That's not bad, but the United States is one of only four countries where life satisfaction is going down, not up. The other downer nations are Portugal, Hungary, Canada and Japan. Plus, the research behind these rankings predates the recession, so it's likely that Americans are a lot less satisfied these days.

The overall portrait of America isn't exclusively gloomy, and in some areas we still seem to have an important edge. The Legatum prosperity index, for example, ranks America first for entrepreneurship and innovation.

And in a GfK Roper survey of how nations rate as global "brands," America rocketed from No. 7 in 2008 to No. 1 in 2009, largely because the world cheered the election of Barack Obama as president.

But a brand-name leader can't just strong-arm his nation back to greatness. He needs a lot of help from educated, healthy and employed citizens determined to spread the wealth.

Not good that Amerkah is not feelin' well.

We, (those of us who live here) need to work hard and nurse her back to good health.

Jamaica and other regional countries relies heavily on the incline of Amerkah.

We, (those of us who live here) need to work hard and nurse her back to good health.

A reasonable position.

Can you imagine if the US economy fall by 30%? What would happen to the Caribbean and central America.

If Babylon fall so too the rest of the world.

Imagine if US GDP fall by 30%. Imagine what would happen to Jamaican tourism, remittance, export etc.

It would be nice if we spend more time investing in the development of Jamaica instead of propping up America in order to help Jamaica out.

How did we get to this state of dependency and trifle? And we have allowed it to consume our very existence to the point of sensible talking as if this is why we were put on this earth!?

This is not necessarily aimed at you, Sass. If the cap fits, then hey judge it! I'm really commenting on this silly post fom HL:

HL, gwaan sip yuh ice tea, because some of us have chosen to work hard here, while others gadda dem frock tail and fled. Wi nuh need yuh crumbs!

mi nuh tek them things personal.

All I am saying is Jamaican economy is very depenedent on the US.

We need fi find ways but we all so need some leadership and I am not talking about PNP/JLP now. Not fanfare.

true, but it hurt mi when some man coulda did help out jamaica back in di day and one likkle ting frustrate him and him run gone. now him willing fi work off him backside fi di usa out of his questionable love for jamaica. how nice of him!

Nuh follow that. I bet you if you have a proposal and contact HL personally him a one a the first to come outa him saaaff.

Certain experience bitter still. I know some people who will not take any role now but if you have a worthy cause they will donate and work with you but a nuh everybody back broad like Lazie.

every cloud have a silver lining, even hl's, but sometimes it hat mi fi him!

The world is always changing and the US certainly has its share of problems, but the decline of the US has been greatly exaggerated before in the late 70s during the post-Vietnam, Cold war, Watergate, stagflation era and the initial rise of Japan.

During the 80s Japan real estate was a "sure thing" , the Nikkei was above 35000, the Japanese were buying all of New York , and the US had seen its best days, or so it was said.

Yet a strange thing happened. The Soviet Empire collapsed, the Japan stock market and Real Estate market went into a tailspin (20 years later the Nikkei is below 15000). The US found a way to control inflation, increase productivity, and as it turns out it became a more powerful military and economic superpower, indeed the ONLY superpower, in the 90s.

Of course that does not mean things will play out the same way over the next 20-30 years. But it does suggest than these things are impossible to predict with any degree of certainty. One or two unpredictable events can change everything.

China could be one mass uprising away from a chaotic state, or it could find a way to control its environmental and social problems and continue to grow at near double-digits rates for another decade. India could find itself under growing pressure from internal and external extremists (ie Taj Mahal hotel) , or it could control the information and communication technology service industries.

My general view is that unless major war or terrorism intervenes, most of the world will continue to advance and the perceived declines will be relative rather than absolute.

I am much more concerned about the people who comprise the so-called "bottom billion" who continue to live as thier foreparents did in the Middle Ages even as the other 5 billion of us advance economically at a faster and faster rate. Will most of the residents of the Caribbean fall into that bottom billion (no we are not there now)? Will most of Africa still be there? What happens to the Middle East when oil is no longer as important as it is today? Do we get more Afghanistans or more Dubais?

Ohhhhhh....a-see.

You been dropping words for mi long time.

But yuh nat going to mek me stap talk TRUTH.

You jusss can't tek it when i say certain things. It hat yuh.

Hush!!!
                      Last edited by HL; October 29, 2009, 02:26 PM.

Truth? You don't know what is truth! (say it like Jack Nicholson for effect!)

Dubai is a terrible example! Whether it's their active participation in slavery(east indian and east african), bailout from their brother state(real estate market crippled them), crazy laws(default warrants jail time), or environmental vulnerabilities(the sands are pounding them, not enough water to irrigate, and sewage flowing into the beaches).

Still a good place to party though! Did u notice the US economy grew by 3.5% during the third quarter while China is still actively "combating" growth?
                          Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                          Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

yes. i've seen that flim-show.

"5 Flights a Day...."

Maybe some were encouraged to leave..

lol !