• Dumb1's hero.....LOL!

Loren Thompson is Pretty Fly - for a White Guy

Thompson Defense industry analyst Loren Thompson wants to show you how hip he is with the Internet. He's so fly, he's just started what the young kids are calling a web log, or blog for short. The Lexington Institute regularly features short articles by him on defense industry issues, and he is regularly quoted by major newspapers and DefenseNews, but he was struck by the need to ... raise the quality of milbloggers.

Loren Thompson, pictured, a defense industry analyst with the conservative Lexington Institute, has launched a new blog, Early Warning. His goal, Thompson wrote in his inaugural post, is to be “long on facts — especially little known, useful facts — and short on opinions.”

Most military-industry blogs, Thompson contends, are “tendentious nonsense. For every interesting, competent effort like DoD Buzz, there are dozens of ill-mannered rants masquerading as insight. To say that blogs have lowered the standards of public discourse on policy matters is an under-statement — there are no standards. Anybody can say anything.”

Needless to say, there are some of us who do believe we are professionals and bloggers who resent this high-handed comment, especially when one considers the source. Rob Farley cries "Hack!"

Ahem. I would hazard to say that lobbing an insult at the community you're hoping to become integrated into isn't the most auspicious way to begin a blogging career. Indeed, given Thompson's career as an industry stooge, I'm kind of surprised that he wants the kind of attention that this is going to produce; wouldn't it be better to continue to act as the mouthpiece of industry without subjecting yourself to any serious scrutiny?

And from cdr salamander:

Someone buy Loren a book on networking. Rule 1: don't insult everyone in the network you want to join

Let the marketplace of ideas speak for itself, but if he thinks his blog is covering anything new, then he isn't reading blogs.

To show you what a defense stooge he is, in this week's DefenseNews, he's decided to slam the Obama administration for not having pushed harder to fill top DoD appointments. There are 19 of 47 DoD posts that remain vacant right now. Obviously, this is because Obama's soft on defense.

"The hidden message in the Pentagon personnel data is that this White House really doesn't care much about defense," said Loren Thompson of the Lexington Institute. "The picture I get from all this is that President Obama's main security goal is just to keep defense off the front page. As long as the Pentagon doesn't present him with any political problems, he's content to focus on his domestic agenda and let military matters drift."

Let's ignore the stupidity of his comment that defense issues are 1) not important to this administration and 2) not on the front page of every major newspaper. What strikes me is how Thompson purposefully ignores the fact that it is Congress - and in particular, two Republican **************************** politicians - who are not serious about defense issues and who are holding up appointments. No, this is a defense stooge who's retaliating because Obama and Gates are making tough and smart decisions that affect his clients. But that's not to say he's opinionated.

Interestingly, Thompson doesn't allow comments on his blog (to which I don't intent to link). I guess that's because he's so solid on defense industry facts that there's no need for him to dialogue with his readers. He misses the whole point of blogging, I think. Most of us think we're doing okay - for a bunch of ill-mannered ranters.

Yuh have time... mi address dis in one sentence fi try and heducate Dumb1when him ah talk bout "Dispute points of top Analyst.."

Critical Thinking is a vital skill required so that 'Top Analysts' nuh tun yuh inna fool...

Mi hear seh dem a launch Flying School at JC.. mi would advise Don1 fi fund the launch of a "Critical Thinking 101" School and save us from future DumbOnes being spawned by that institution..

LOL !!

Originally posted by Comment View Post
      Loren Thompson is Pretty Fly - for a White Guy

Thompson Defense industry analyst Loren Thompson wants to show you how hip he is with the Internet. He's so fly, he's just started what the young kids are calling a web log, or blog for short. The Lexington Institute regularly features short articles by him on defense industry issues, and he is regularly quoted by major newspapers and DefenseNews, but he was struck by the need to ... raise the quality of milbloggers.

Loren Thompson, pictured, a defense industry analyst with the conservative Lexington Institute, has launched a new blog, Early Warning. His goal, Thompson wrote in his inaugural post, is to be “long on facts — especially little known, useful facts — and short on opinions.”

Most military-industry blogs, Thompson contends, are “tendentious nonsense. For every interesting, competent effort like DoD Buzz, there are dozens of ill-mannered rants masquerading as insight. To say that blogs have lowered the standards of public discourse on policy matters is an under-statement — there are no standards. Anybody can say anything.”

Needless to say, there are some of us who do believe we are professionals and bloggers who resent this high-handed comment, especially when one considers the source. Rob Farley cries "Hack!"

Ahem. I would hazard to say that lobbing an insult at the community you're hoping to become integrated into isn't the most auspicious way to begin a blogging career. Indeed, given Thompson's career as an industry stooge, I'm kind of surprised that he wants the kind of attention that this is going to produce; wouldn't it be better to continue to act as the mouthpiece of industry without subjecting yourself to any serious scrutiny?

And from cdr salamander:

Someone buy Loren a book on networking. Rule 1: don't insult everyone in the network you want to join

Let the marketplace of ideas speak for itself, but if he thinks his blog is covering anything new, then he isn't reading blogs.

To show you what a defense stooge he is, in this week's DefenseNews, he's decided to slam the Obama administration for not having pushed harder to fill top DoD appointments. There are 19 of 47 DoD posts that remain vacant right now. Obviously, this is because Obama's soft on defense.

"The hidden message in the Pentagon personnel data is that this White House really doesn't care much about defense," said Loren Thompson of the Lexington Institute. "The picture I get from all this is that President Obama's main security goal is just to keep defense off the front page. As long as the Pentagon doesn't present him with any political problems, he's content to focus on his domestic agenda and let military matters drift."

Let's ignore the stupidity of his comment that defense issues are 1) not important to this administration and 2) not on the front page of every major newspaper. What strikes me is how Thompson purposefully ignores the fact that it is Congress - and in particular, two Republican **************************** politicians - who are not serious about defense issues and who are holding up appointments. No, this is a defense stooge who's retaliating because Obama and Gates are making tough and smart decisions that affect his clients. But that's not to say he's opinionated.

Interestingly, Thompson doesn't allow comments on his blog (to which I don't intent to link). I guess that's because he's so solid on defense industry facts that there's no need for him to dialogue with his readers. He misses the whole point of blogging, I think. Most of us think we're doing okay - for a bunch of ill-mannered ranters.

Wha dis haffi duh wid America in Decline....run by the Armed Forces publication?

You are more stupid than I thought...and I already thought you were REALLY STUPID..

I underestimated you.

Yuh have time... mi address dis in one sentence fi try and heducate Dumb1when him ah talk bout "Dispute points of top Analyst.."

Critical Thinking is a vital skill required so that 'Top Analysts' nuh tun yuh inna fool...

Mi hear seh dem a launch Flying School at JC.. mi would advise Don1 fi fund the launch of a "Critical Thinking 101" School and save us from future DumbOnes being spawned by that institution..

LOL !!
        Rear Admiral...stick to ChiChi lobbying...as a practitioner you are very credible in that arena.

Leave serious issues for people who are serious.

It is amusing the amount of time you comedians devote to my posts..... I will definitely be keeping you busy!!

Loren B. Thompson

From SourceWatch

Jump to: navigation, search
          Dr. Loren B. Thompson is Chief Operating Officer of the Lexington Institute. "Thompson's main job at Lexington is to oversee security studies, the institute's largest project.
          "Dr. Thompson is a long-time advisor to high-tech companies, the federal government, and foundations. He conducts most of his for-profit activities through Source Associates, a consulting firm that he heads in Northern Virginia. The areas on which he advises Source clients range from nonlethal weapons to industrial policy to military strategy.
          "For twenty years, Dr. Thompson has taught graduate-level courses at Georgetown University in military strategy, new technology, and the media (he currently teaches 'Emerging Technologies and Security'). During the 1980s, he was Deputy Director of Georgetown's Security Studies Program, part of the university's School of Foreign Service. He has also taught classes at Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government.
          "Dr. Thompson is widely quoted on military affairs in the national media, having been interviewed by every major newspaper and broadcast network. His commentaries have appeared in publications such as the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post and the Los Angeles Times. He has also been interviewed by overseas media such as The Economist, the Financial Times, and Al Jazeera.
          "Dr. Thompson holds a Ph.D. in government from Georgetown University. He was born in 1951 and currently resides in McLean, Virginia and Plymouth, Massachusetts."
          Contents

[hide]if (window.showTocToggle) { var tocShowText = "show"; var tocHideText = "hide"; showTocToggle(); } [edit]
          August 2006; Equivocator of American Inhumanity

Early in August, 2006, Thompson was quoted twice in news sources within one week, attempting to downplay the recent news of American Servicepersons' crimes against Iraqi citizens:
          'You could probably construct an empiri-cal case that US forces are exhibiting more restraint in their treatment of Iraqi civilians than has ever been seen in past wars of similar scale and duration,' says military analyst Loren Thompson of the Lexington Institute in Arlington, Va, in an e-mail. 'Almost all of the atrocities that have been alleged involve small units deliberately disobeying rules of engagement and the orders of senior officers.'

'It is worth bearing in mind that the US routinely killed thousands of enemy civilians in bombing raids during World War II, and that the number of civilians murdered at My Lai, the worst atrocity committed by US forces in Vietnam, was over 300,' adds Dr. Thompson. 'The pattern of atrocities committed against civilians in past counterinsurgency campaigns is quite imposing, from the British Army in the Boer War to the US Army in the Filipino Insurrection to the Russian Army in Chechnya.'"

Brad Knickerbocker, "US troop scandals: Is Iraq different?: A military tribunal this week is hearing charges that troops killed an Iraqi family in March.", The Christian Science Monitor , August 08, 2006 edition "'When you look at the circumstances of whom we send and what we expect them to do, it's surprising we don't have more of those cases,' said Loren Thompson, defense analyst at Lexington Institute in Arlington, Va."

Anna Badkhen, "Atrocities are a fact of all wars, even ours: It's not just evil empires whose soldiers go amok", San Francisco Chronicle, Aigist 13, 2006 [edit]
          Former Fellowship with Alexis de Tocqueville Institution

Loren Thompson was a Senior Fellow of the Alexis de Tocqueville Institution (AdTI) where he was also Executive Director of the national-security program during the 1990's.
          During that time Loren Thomson wrote, sometimes together with Jim Courter (a former(?) chairman of the 'Committee for the Common Defense' at AdTI) or Merrick Carey (until early 1998 President of the AdTI and founder of the Lexington Institute), a lot of defense related articles for the Alexis de Tocqueville Institution like: [edit]
          Other Related SourceWatch Resources
          [edit]
          External links

Don you must realize that to say the US is declinig is a very bold statement (regardless of phd) What method did he use derive the formula or theorem? Can I use this method to predict China's (new Empire) decline? This method must hold true for any given economic circumstances.

Okay let's say yes the US is declining: Will China send troops to Europe (to ensure peace) How China support these troops and their 1.2 billion people enjoying a standard of living equal to that of the US at the same time?

A Story:As we speak there are two beasts/ demons on this planet (to understand my argument watch Alien vs predator) One is bounded in Europe by spells and magic. the other less dangerous (but still dangerous) is being controlled in Asia. If the beast in Europe is set free you can foget about China or India as world power. Slowly some of the chains are being released from the one in Asia with the understanding that it is domesticated. MAny in Asia shudder that some chains are being removed. To this day many nations fear the beast in Europe and would not even entertain the thought of removing ONE chain.

How will China project its power around the world? In twenty years they will have a navy the size and sophistication of the US? At the first Iraq war, China sought to retool its army as they found out their weapons were obselete and incomparible to thatof the US. Daddy Bush gave China most favored nation status(yeah trade; transfer some wealth and take away desperation. Proverb: ahungry man is an angry man) Bill Clinton (which ****************es of a friend of mine to this day) signed a treaty to release some sesnsitive technology to China (Yes the same technological giant you admire) afterwards China began to romp in space.
            Does China have a history of ruling the world (it takes a kind of skill) the same argument would extend to India. NO! The US at present is really an extension of Britain or Western Europe;the US has the channels to project power around the globe. Those channels would be cut in defiance to China.

In plain talk this world as we know it would regress if China took over; what you would have is a powerful state within Asia after defeating Japan by war (no other way will Japan surrender) .Certain technologies that we enjoy would just disappear. Europe would be engulfed in war. I guess China would have to Trade with Brasil (another super power in this scenario).

The last time a defence report was heeded that the US was left behind was Reagan years. What happened: The US put up it's econmy against that of theSoviet union in an arms race. The Soviets' hemorraged and when the Iron wall fell; we all found out that much of the Soviet arsenel was inflated.

Dig around; some of these "analysts have an agenda".
            Last edited by Jawge; October 26, 2009, 06:44 PM.

Don you must realize that to say the US is declinig is a very bold statement (regardless of phd) What method did he use derive the formula or theorem? Can I use this method to predict China's (new Empire) decline? This method must hold true for any given economic circumstances.
              It is not bold.... it is obvious. Mi fi fraid fi seh di obvious & to post opinions supporting the conclusion?...mi nuh fraid ah dat.

Witness:

Others countries are growing much faster than the US...including China....ie the US share of the world rconomy is steadily declining...the share of other (BRIC) countries is steadily rising.

The US is losing its industrial base....producing services instead of products....financial services (financial games) is an increasing share of the economy...bad sign.

Household income for the middle & working class is declining in real terms...more wealth is being concentrated in the upper 5% of the population....bad!

The US is embroiled in endless wars...debilitating the country...these wars are funded by debt....much of the new debt is being held by China...its emerging adversary.

The US has $43 Trillion give or take in UNFUNDED entitlements...Social Security & Medicare/Medicaid...that's 3X GDP in social safety net obligations into the future that have no settled funding....and growing. This is the biggest financial problem the US has...and it gets little play in the mass media....read Running on Empty...den come back an check mi.

From a creditor nation 30 years ago...the US is the world's largest debtor. The trade and budget deficits are big...and growing.

Do I need to continue...no.

Okay let's say yes the US is declining: Will China send troops to Europe (to ensure peace) How China support these troops and their 1.2 billion people enjoying a standard of living equal to that of the US at the same time?
              Who knows how the scenario of declining empire will play out? I don't know...I am a mere observer...not Nostradamus.

However history teaches that in such circumstances...war is likely...all bets are off then.

A Story:As we speak there are two beasts/ demons on this planet (to understand my argument watch Alien vs predator) One is bounded in Europe by spells and magic. the other less dangerous (but still dangerous) is being controlled in Asia. If the beast in Europe is set free you can foget about China or India as world power. Slowly some of the chains are being released from the one in Asia with the understanding that it is domesticated. MAny in Asia shudder that some chains are being removed. To this day many nations fear the beast in Europe and would not even entertain the thought of removing ONE chain.
              Mi will lef dat...too advanced for me.

How will China project its power around the world? In twenty years they will have a navy the size and sophistication of the US? At the first Iraq war, China sought to retool its army as they found out their weapons were obselete and incomparible to thatof the US. Daddy Bush gave China most favored nation status(yeah trade; transfer some wealth and take away desperation. Proverb: ahungry man is an angry man) Bill Clinton (which ****************es of a friend of mine to this day) signed a treaty to release some sesnsitive technology to China (Yes the same technological giant you admire) afterwards China began to romp in space.
              Does China have a history of ruling the world (it takes a kind of skill) the same argument would extend to India. NO! The US at present is really an extension of Britain or Western Europe;the US has the channels to project power around the globe. Those channels would be cut in defiance to China.
              This changing of the guard in world affairs will not occur overnight.... China is still a poor developing country...that in itself is frightening! They have averaged almost 10% growth over 25 years...and have a VAST amount of growth to come...because hundreds of millions are still backward.

In 25 years the Chinese economy may be larger than the US....and China will be tremendously more powerful than today...do you know what will occur then? We can only guess.

Try to recall that for more than a thousand years the Chinese civilization was the largest and most advanced on Earth...... don't be blinded by the matrix...examine history.

In plain talk this world as we know it would regress if China took over; what you would have is a powerful state within Asia after defeating Japan by war (no other way will Japan surrender) .Certain technologies that we enjoy would just disappear. Europe would be engulfed in war. I guess China would have to Trade with Brasil (another super power in this scenario).
              Perhaps...but my point is not to promote China....but to describe the emerging reality.

I leave the value judgments to others...like you.

The last time a defence report was heeded that the US was left behind was Reagan years. What happened: The US put up it's econmy against that of theSoviet union in an arms race. The Soviets' hemorraged and when the Iron wall fell; we all found out that much of the Soviet arsenel was inflated.
              Well you may believe that US hegemony will last a millenium....you might be right..but
              The trend lines are unfavourable. That Soviet comparison is faulty...the only industries the Soviets had that could compete were in arms... China is fundamentally & diametrically different...it is the WORLD'S Factory..plus bem nuh stap copy peeple tings..

Dig around; some of these "analysts have an agenda".
              Mi nuh stap dig my yute...everyone has an agenda.... no doubt including all who post here.

That's the way of the world.

Selah.
              Last edited by Don1; October 26, 2009, 08:46 PM.

See my response to your Cia post.

not much there...sorry.