Police killed because of crime involvement?

• Police killed because of crime involvement?

Poor Raymond Wilson..Him caan handle the truth..if you should listen to him you would believe that Police are the biggest saint and never ever think of much less commit a crime...Tell Raymond I have some evidence I can provide to him

Police Federation blasts senior cop -RadiojAmaica.com
    Monday, 26 October 2009

ACP Les Green.A major row has developed between the Police Federation and a member of the High Command regarding a stinging comment about rank and file members of the Force.

Disrespect

The Federation has called on Assistant Commissioner Les Green to resign or provide proof that some police personnel have been killed because of their involvement in criminal activities.

ACP Green made the controversial statement on Saturday night during an interview with a local television station.

He said some police officers who were killed had been targeted because they were involved in criminal activities.

But the Police Federation says it deems the ACP's comment as irresponsible and it has eroded the morale of hard working members of the Force.

In a statement sent to the media Sunday night the Federation maintained that ACP Green must provide proof to substantiate his statement.

Chairman of the Police Federation Sergeant Raymond Wilson says natural justice must be allowed
    Sergeant Raymond Wilson.when such a damning allegation is made.

"Statements made by the ACP are very irresponsible, very disrespectful, very callous and insensitive. We believe that it is a total disrespect to the Jamaican people it is a disrespect to the Jamaica Constabulary Family and more so it is a total disrespect and disregard to the feelings of the families of our slain police officers," Sergeant Wilson said.

The Federation Chairman says his office has been flooded with calls from police personnel as well as relatives of members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force who have been killed.

"We don't believe that ACP Les Green has the confidence anymore of the Police Federation and our rank and file. We also don't believe that he has the moral authority to continue to lead any of our rank and file. Dead policemen cannot defend themselves and for you to make a statement about our police officers who are killed by criminals, by gunmen we only lost the ninth police officers a few days ago. We are asking him to do the right thing and tender his resignation," he said.

Calls for proof

In the meantime, two human rights groups have given mixed reactions to the Police Federation's call.

Convener of the group Families Against State Terrorism, Yvonne McCalla-Sobers, believes that in order to bring clarity to the matter ACP Green must provide proof to support his statement.

"I agree fully with giving evidence for any kind of accusation or allegation so that means you give evidence whether you happen to be police making accusations against civilians, senior police making allegations against other police, anyone anywhere needs to present the evidence. That for me is what natural justice is about," Mrs. McCalla-Sobers said.

However, Spokesperson for Jamaicans for Justice, Susan Goffe, believes the Police Federation erred in trying to deal with the matter in public.

Ms Goffe was also scathing in her assessment of the Federation's approach to the issue of criminality in the Police Force.

"The Federation has not been willing to accept the wrongdoing of some of its members. Perhaps this is one of the things the Federation does need to examine its own willingness to be frank and open with itself and with the public about the level of wrongdoing that its members maybe involved in," Ms Goffe said.

Top cop unmoved

And ACP Green in an interview with RJR News on Sunday night scoffed at the Federation's call to provide proof or resign.

While not going into details ACP Green said he stands by his statement that some police personnel were killed because of their involvement in illegal activities.

ACP Green also stated that members of the Force who are involved in crime should be aware that this could lead to them being killed.

Since the start of the year nine police officers have been killed by gunmen one less when compared to the corresponding period last year.

The most recent took place on Thursday night when 31-year-old Constable Delroy Brown was killed in Seaview Gardens.

They doth protest too much...

They are there own biggest enemies. Better Wilson just cool, cause people a nuh fool.

Now, as long as Green didn't imply a particular one, then he did nothing wrong.

Originally posted by Plush View Post
        Poor Raymond Wilson..Him caan handle the truth..if you should listen to him you would believe that Police are the biggest saint and never ever think of much less commit a crime...Tell Raymond I have some evidence I can provide to him

Police Federation blasts senior cop -RadiojAmaica.com
        Monday, 26 October 2009

ACP Les Green.A major row has developed between the Police Federation and a member of the High Command regarding a stinging comment about rank and file members of the Force.

Disrespect

The Federation has called on Assistant Commissioner Les Green to resign or provide proof that some police personnel have been killed because of their involvement in criminal activities.

ACP Green made the controversial statement on Saturday night during an interview with a local television station.

He said some police officers who were killed had been targeted because they were involved in criminal activities.

But the Police Federation says it deems the ACP's comment as irresponsible and it has eroded the morale of hard working members of the Force.

In a statement sent to the media Sunday night the Federation maintained that ACP Green must provide proof to substantiate his statement.

Chairman of the Police Federation Sergeant Raymond Wilson says natural justice must be allowed
        Sergeant Raymond Wilson.when such a damning allegation is made.

"Statements made by the ACP are very irresponsible, very disrespectful, very callous and insensitive. We believe that it is a total disrespect to the Jamaican people it is a disrespect to the Jamaica Constabulary Family and more so it is a total disrespect and disregard to the feelings of the families of our slain police officers," Sergeant Wilson said.

The Federation Chairman says his office has been flooded with calls from police personnel as well as relatives of members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force who have been killed.

"We don't believe that ACP Les Green has the confidence anymore of the Police Federation and our rank and file. We also don't believe that he has the moral authority to continue to lead any of our rank and file. Dead policemen cannot defend themselves and for you to make a statement about our police officers who are killed by criminals, by gunmen we only lost the ninth police officers a few days ago. We are asking him to do the right thing and tender his resignation," he said.

Calls for proof

In the meantime, two human rights groups have given mixed reactions to the Police Federation's call.

Convener of the group Families Against State Terrorism, Yvonne McCalla-Sobers, believes that in order to bring clarity to the matter ACP Green must provide proof to support his statement.

"I agree fully with giving evidence for any kind of accusation or allegation so that means you give evidence whether you happen to be police making accusations against civilians, senior police making allegations against other police, anyone anywhere needs to present the evidence. That for me is what natural justice is about," Mrs. McCalla-Sobers said.

However, Spokesperson for Jamaicans for Justice, Susan Goffe, believes the Police Federation erred in trying to deal with the matter in public.

Ms Goffe was also scathing in her assessment of the Federation's approach to the issue of criminality in the Police Force.

"The Federation has not been willing to accept the wrongdoing of some of its members. Perhaps this is one of the things the Federation does need to examine its own willingness to be frank and open with itself and with the public about the level of wrongdoing that its members maybe involved in," Ms Goffe said.

Top cop unmoved

And ACP Green in an interview with RJR News on Sunday night scoffed at the Federation's call to provide proof or resign.

While not going into details ACP Green said he stands by his statement that some police personnel were killed because of their involvement in illegal activities.

ACP Green also stated that members of the Force who are involved in crime should be aware that this could lead to them being killed.

Since the start of the year nine police officers have been killed by gunmen one less when compared to the corresponding period last year.

The most recent took place on Thursday night when 31-year-old Constable Delroy Brown was killed in Seaview Gardens.
        Green is calling a spade a spade. By exposing the underlying cause of some of these shooting, he is actually helping the honest police to stay away from corruption.

if a cop know seh him honest and him know seh corrupt cops deh 'bout...whose morale will be deflated?

Originally posted by Plush View Post
            funny he would say that... it appears he doesn't realize that the general society has no confidence in his officers...

to take this fight in the public domain is one he and his federation of officers cannot win...

raymond wilson doesn't understand how shrewd les green is as a police administrator...

This fellow Wilson is really making a fool of himself, I can understand his zeal to defend his colleagues but he was on a number of talk shows yesterday and he did not make any sense on a single one.

It appeared that every time he went on radio, he was on the defensive from the first minute and up to now I am still waiting to hear him make any sense..he refuses to even acknowledge that there is too much corruption in the force.

His response as that perception far exceeded reality but he had no figures to back up his claims either which is ironic as that was what he was asking green for.

Wilson needs to SHUT up. The car that trailed my uncle in Jamaica and robbed him & my other relatives, was driven by a policeman. So, Wilson is preaching to the wrong choir. Tell him to ask John Public's opinion.

Editorial Cartoon

Tuesday, October 27, 2009

A suh black people fool? For all who seh we nuh need white man police, what unnuh haffi seh bout dis?