• Church to DJs: MORE FIYA!!!

FINALLY! The Church and the DJs agree

Published: Sunday | October 25, 2009

Athaliah Reynolds, Staff Reporter
    Buju Banton

Some church leaders have come out in full support of Jamaica's dancehall fraternity while condemning the actions of international gay rights groups that are placing immense pressure on many local artistes.
    While the church leaders who spoke with The Sunday Gleaner argued that it was wrong to incite violence against any group, most agreed that the dancehall artistes had a right to express their disagreement with the homosexual lifestyle.

"To those artistes who have continued to speak out against that kind of lifestyle in their music, I'll encourage them to keep up the pressure, not in a violent way, but certainly to continue to proclaim the message," Bishop Delford Davis of the Power of Faith Ministries in Portmore said.
    the truth

According to Davis, while the church is completely against violence, the truth must be told and not censored.
    "Truth is very costly, I think they should be strong enough to maintain their position in as much as they are being penalised. A price has always had to be paid for truth."

Davis said his message to the DJs would be to remove the element of violence from their music, but continue to spread the message that a lifestyle of homosexuality is immoral and wrong.
    "Do not incite violence, but certainly continue to propagate the message of sanctity of human sexuality. We fully support the message that is proclaimed of God's purpose and plan for procreation and human sexuality," he argued.

For pastor Bobby Wilmot of the Joy Town Community Development Founda-tion when the gays took their lifestyle into the public domain they opened themselves for criticisms.
    "When you were practising your homosexual lifestyle privately, fine, that's in your space. But the moment you bring it into the public domain you are saying to people they must accept it and therefore that gives me the right to reject it," he argued.

Wilmot continued: "Now as a man of God, I would reject it from a word of God, but the man who is in the dancehall, who is not coming necessarily from a Christian perspective, this is how he operates. He's going to come at it in his way."

Wilmot said while he does not support violence, he has to agree with the stance of the dancehall man.
    "I would respond by saying Sodom and Gomorra was destroyed by God, so take heed to that, there's a lesson there!"
    Wilmot bashed the gay community for forcing the cancellation of concerts featuring some dancehall artistes.
    "When you cut me off like that, you are preventing me from bringing my views to the public - you are not fair, it can't be right," he said. "You say this is my lifestyle before the public, I must be allowed also to say I am against it."

Reverend Donald Webley of the, Rosemount Missionary Church in Montego Bay, St James was critical of both groups.
    "The same level of force being used by the gay community to undermine the dancehall artiste is similar to the way in which some dancehall artistes have been advocating violence towards them. Both of them seem to be using a similar approach to get their messages across."
    He added: "I think the dancehall artistes need to have the opportunity to express themselves but of course not in a violent way."

Webley said the recent demands of the gay community of reggae artiste, Buju Banton are ludicrous. "The demands that have been made upon him are outrageous and unreasonable."

According to Webley, Buju should publicly apologise and withdraw the anti-homosexual anthem Boom Bye Bye because it is clearly violent.
    But Webley argued that the homosexual community should not use its power to undermine Buju's ability to earn or to support a lifestyle that he is morally against.
    homosexuals right

For Pastor Raphael Thomas of the Annotto Bay Gospel Hall believes that the homosexual community is right to target the concerts of some Jamaican artistes.
    "I don't think it is right to promote violence against those who practise that kind of lifestyle, although it is not something that the church can endorse. They are people that the church must reach out to and seek to help them just like persons who are involved in other kinds of activities that are not considered right."

According to Pastor Thomas the violent approach of the dancehall artiste is not right.
    "We respect the orientation of the DJs and their strong disagreement with that kind of lifestyle but it still does not give them a right to promote violence against the homosexuals." Pastor Thomas said.
    "There are other ways that we can seek to correct, what I consider to be the unacceptable lifestyle of the gay community without seeking to be violent towards them," added Thomas.

athaliah.reynolds@gleanerjm.com

The Monkeys defending 'principles' that their slave owners gave them as a means of control..

How tragically amusing..

The slave master ah tell dem seh it was only a joke but dem still ah jump up and down..

The desperate search for 'indentity' and 'self-esteem' has comical results..

lol !!

Monkey a call monkey....monkey

B....... DUCK !

American civil liberties group slams gays for trying to prevent shows featuring Jamaican DJ
      THE FLORIDA chapter of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) has come out in defence of Jamaican artiste Buju Banton who is facing growing opposition from the gay community in and the United States.
      According to the Florida chapter of the ACLU, Buju has a right to perform at a concert this week despite protests from gay groups in that city.
      In a statement published on October 18, Howard Simon, executive director of the Florida chapter of ACLU, accused the homosexual groups of promoting censorship.
      "It is disheartening that some of our colleagues in the gay and lesbian equality movement have embraced censorship as a tactic to combat hate speech," Simon said.
      He was responding to gay activists who have called on city officials to ban the Miami concert which is slated to feature Buju Banton and Beenie Man.
      "This is terribly short-sighted: Giving government the power to censor messages it thinks are dangerous never advances the cause of equality and freedom," Simon argued.
      Buju and Beenie Man are billed as headliners for the October 31 Reggae Bash show.
      The event is being promoted by Global Vybz Entertainment, which is run by Jamaican Andrew Minott.
      But the homosexual support group, Equality Florida, has called on Global Vybz to drop both acts because some of their songs, 'encourage violence against homosexuals'.
      no evidence
      The group also wrote to city officials seeking their support while pointing to songs such as Buju's Boom Bye Bye.
      But Simon argued that there is no evidence Buju's song is responsible for any hate crimes.
      "Banton has sung his song many times, including during a previous appearance in Miami, with no ensuing violence. There is no basis to make the leap from a hateful and offensive pop song to incitement to riot," Simon wrote.
      He added: "The Buju Banton song in question is vile and offensive. But despite its hateful message, it is protected speech under the Constitution."
      Simon pointed out that the Florida ACLU have defended other controversial acts, such as rap group 2 Live Crew when they were under fire from decency groups who claimed their and music were lewd. howard.campbell@gleanerjm.com
      Last edited by Sir X; October 25, 2009, 11:39 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

soh why wi mus listen to the slave owners now,

The church need to hold their position without supporting nobody in this.
          They should stand both against violence and gay lifestyle if that is their wish. With death rate in Jamaica it shouldn't matter if a gay straight or a bird.

The line is too thin for them on this one, leave it to the worlians

Well.. consistency ?

LOL !

Monkey is monkey.. suh what if dem congregate inna church ??

lol !

The Monkeys defending 'principles' that their slave owners gave them as a means of control..

How tragically amusing..

The slave master ah tell dem seh it was only a joke but dem still ah jump up and down..

The desperate search for 'indentity' and 'self-esteem' has comical results..

lol !!
                Spoken like a man...belay dat...like ah bredda who just declared the wish to PAY to watch two man ah sword fight.

Fiya bun chi chi!!

Oh come now... surely you have the mental acumen to construct a campaign without resorting to deceit...

well.. maybe not...

lol !

Oh come now... surely you have the mental acumen to construct a campaign without resorting to deceit...

well.. maybe not...

lol !
                    guhwhey chi chi!!

nuh yuh seh yuh waan watch di 2 man dem...fiya bun fi yuh nasiness.

how yuh get two.. what about the policeman dem ?

Yuh watch man everyday.. fiya bun ?

lol ! yuh homophobia a tun yuh inna fool.. well biggah fool..

how yuh get two.. what about the policeman dem ?

Yuh watch man everyday.. fiya bun ?

lol ! yuh homophobia a tun yuh inna fool.. well biggah fool..
                        more fiya!

I knew he had leanings butt to lean so far over......"willingness to pay" and I thought that was for tourism and resource managment...well I guess he could say it was. Now trying to pull out...and be glib. It rough fi true....

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                            I knew he had leanings butt to lean so far over......"willingness to pay" and I thought that was for tourism and resource managment...well I guess he could say it was. Now trying to pull out...and be glib. It rough fi true....

dat ah nuh leanin...dat ah bowin'! lol!!

mi site di rake lang time...but im ah get too brite an outa arda now...mi affi start bun im out...strait!

mi notice im political bedfellows...lol!!...nuh ave nuttun fi seh bout di nasiness im a defen.... dem mussi too embarrass...lol!!!
                            Last edited by Don1; October 27, 2009, 01:02 AM.

hmmm..it coming to the fore now! is a group with a psuedo terrorist agenda going on wid dem thing wid people like tatchell a lead di charge.

the fallacy of tying ********************man culture to racism is hardly ever addressed. dem talk like seh from yuh a ********************man yuh race neutral...... anyway most ********************man just want to live dem life and naw look fi promote nutten....this very vocal fringe group is slowly outing itself.