America in Decline: The Military Frets

And you're a Right Wing Republican... it makes no difference.

In the grand scheme of the universe (space) and time (the history of man) there are "winners" and there are "losers". And over time 'what goes around seems to come around". Man (with the big M), at least thinking Men has always strived for improvement.

Nineteen or so years ago the "cold war" was won by capitalism and thus quickly followed by Globalisation said to be the panacea for the world's economies. Let us now spread the word to those in the wilderness and let them benefit too. Well, nineteen years later that has fallen and only a handfull of multi-nationals have benefitted.

SOme of you guys "cuss" Norway and Scandinavia, cry down the Canadian health-care system etc. etc. without noticing that Capitalism unbridled is as destructive (maybe even moreso) than "socialism".

Many of you ignore that "free trade" isn't as free as it might appear; e.g. America at the time of free trade between US, Can and Mex, was still subsidising it farmers to the tune of millions of dollars, flooded the Mexican market with millions of dollars worth of cheaper (subsidised) bio-engineered corn that put many Mexican small farmers (5 acres and less), out of business, at the same time putting the local varieties of corn under threat...and then the US govt. cries foul and carries on when Mexicans flow across the border into the US looking for work. The same thing occurred in jamaica if we are to believe the "Life and Debt" documentary now taken down from utube, and these were jamaicans doing the "right" thing.

I am not against capitalism by any means, nor against America either, but big business in America, aided by their government have been running rampage all over the planet...and look where we are now!

I am not an economist nor politician but the answer has to be somewhere in between. Why is democratic socialism a bad word?

Well don't you think there internal policies affect their external and their growth? NO?
      That is so with all countries.

What we are discussing are broad long term trends with certain possible outcomes depending on assumptions one makes.

For example China has potentially severe problems which if not managed can derail their progress:

1. A rapidly aging population
      2. A large and spreading gap between rich and poor...possible social tensions arising
      2. Hundreds of millions of restive, unskilled people in the rural areas
      3. Possible challenges to the total control of the Communist Party from new elite groups
      4. Possible military conflict with Taiwan or India...which could get the West involved

Then all bets are off.

And you're a Right Wing Republican... it makes no difference.

In the grand scheme of the universe (space) and time (the history of man) there are "winners" and there are "losers". And over time 'what goes around seems to come around". Man (with the big M), at least thinking Men has always strived for improvement.

Nineteen or so years ago the "cold war" was won by capitalism and thus quickly followed by Globalisation said to be the panacea for the world's economies. Let us now spread the word to those in the wilderness and let them benefit too. Well, nineteen years later that has fallen and only a handfull of multi-nationals have benefitted.

SOme of you guys "cuss" Norway and Scandinavia, cry down the Canadian health-care system etc. etc. without noticing that Capitalism unbridled is as destructive (maybe even moreso) than "socialism".

Many of you ignore that "free trade" isn't as free as it might appear; e.g. America at the time of free trade between US, Can and Mex, was still subsidising it farmers to the tune of millions of dollars, flooded the Mexican market with millions of dollars worth of cheaper (subsidised) bio-engineered corn that put many Mexican small farmers (5 acres and less), out of business, at the same time putting the local varieties of corn under threat...and then the US govt. cries foul and carries on when Mexicans flow across the border into the US looking for work. The same thing occurred in jamaica if we are to believe the "Life and Debt" documentary now taken down from utube, and these were jamaicans doing the "right" thing.

I am not against capitalism by any means, nor against America either, but big business in America, aided by their government have been running rampage all over the planet...and look where we are now!

I am not an economist nor politician but the answer has to be somewhere in between. Why is democratic socialism a bad word?
        I think that type of sensible reasoning is lost on ostrichs.

Well maybe you need to highlight those sometimes because there is no doubt China is rising but they also have a lot of challenges(opportunity) as well.

Didn't many of the economist and thinker say in the long run a wealthier and powerful China is better for America? Wasn't that a primary thinking? It is thought that China been rich will have a bigger market and eventually inflation and demand will rise so America can take advantage as cheap labour goes away. There is also no talk of the big American corporation that has companies and stake in China.

Also do we just think America is going to sit idly by? the thoughts, tatics and behind the schene diplomit behavior and undermining going on from all side makes it hard for all countries involved.

yeah you can join Dick Cheney staying up late at nights.

Islandman! di man seh mi is a Republican....LMAO, it's clear u're not aware of my political bearing, but it's cool, u is still good breddah Peter R. Lets reason like the good friends we are.

I have no problem with various views or bias, just don't pretend to be objective. Maudib, Lazie, nor Comment pretend to be, I respect them for that. Take the Silver Surfer for example, he says he doesn't post news regarding Russia and China's struggles as he's not concerned about their welfare and we might not be interested but still he has made many post declaring how "robust" China and Russia's economy are. Glen Beck could do a better job to convince me he's fair and balance.

btw, what has happened over the Bush Years was not capitalism, it was more like coorporate welfare mixed with military adventures and evangelic principles. Last time the state was allied with coorporation andreligion was used as propoganda was Hitler fascism; but to use a less loaded term, I consider the Bush era as coorporate communism with all the unsupervised regulation and monopolies that devloped.

I agree with you about these subsidized multinationals food companies, especially Chequita which engaged in the assasination of union leaders and Mansueto who patent their grains leading to mass suicide in India and various asian countries. It irks!

Why's democratic socialism a bad word, well first of all we have find out what exactly it is and ihow well does it work. The closest example I can think of is Venezuela.
              Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
              Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Well maybe you need to highlight those sometimes because there is no doubt China is rising but they also have a lot of challenges(opportunity) as well.

Didn't many of the economist and thinker say in the long run a wealthier and powerful China is better for America? Wasn't that a primary thinking? It is thought that China been rich will have a bigger market and eventually inflation and demand will rise so America can take advantage as cheap labour goes away. There is also no talk of the big American corporation that has companies and stake in China.

Also do we just think America is going to sit idly by? the thoughts, tatics and behind the schene diplomit behavior and undermining going on from all side makes it hard for all countries involved.
                I am posting about trends...I'm sure you know what that is.
                I don't need to speak too much about the internal affairs of China etc...there is insufficient interest on this forum for that imho.

Have you noticed the vanishing US manufacturing base? Where is the vehicle industry today compared to even 15 years ago? Does the US produce computers? TVs??
                What do the trends show in manufacturing? Where are the jobs?? Isn't this trend alarming to you?

On the other hand....is outsourcing exploding? Are jobs being exported at an accelerated rate? Is an increasing percentage of the US economy taken up with the financial sector....meaning investments benefiting the elite? Haven't household incomes been declining in real terms for many years? Isn't it services that the US is producing more and more...and not real goods?

This is not rocket science to put it all together and come to the alarming conclusion. Others have done the math....and the trend is clear.

If you & your family plan a future in the US you need to understand what is happening and make informed decisions about your investments and your children's welfare.

That's what it's about..isn't it?

While it is a concern for most of us but haven't you also read where the analyst and economist tell you it will eventually get too expensive to produce in China and India and production will eventually come to America. They use Japan as the prime example.

Also as proven in the recession China is very dependent on the WEST survival in order to sell its product. Imagine if there is no Western Europe and North America. Do you think North Korea will buy their goods?

Is it all possible that China grow, the west stand and everybody benefits? It is not just about America falling. If America fall imagine what will happen to the world economy. Do you think China and Russia can fill that void?

Right now I have to be worried about my kids future but it is not about America falling it is about them been able to take advantage of tomorrow and the changing world. Again when hasn't the world been changing?

While it is a concern for most of us but haven't you also read where the analyst and economist tell you it will eventually get too expensive to produce in China and India and production will eventually come to America. They use Japan as the prime example.

Also as proven in the recession China is very dependent on the WEST survival in order to sell its product. Imagine if there is no Western Europe and North America. Do you think North Korea will buy their goods?

Is it all possible that China grow, the west stand and everybody benefits? It is not just about America falling. If America fall imagine what will happen to the world economy. Do you think China and Russia can fill that void?

Right now I have to be worried about my kids future but it is not about America falling it is about them been able to take advantage of tomorrow and the changing world. Again when hasn't the world been changing?
                    It is not America "falling". The world is changing and the US will be less powerful than today...others will be more poweful than today.

Either people understand what that means or they don't. Most don't.

End of story.

yeah you can join Dick Cheney staying up late at nights.
                      I do stay up late incidentally ... but it has nothing to do with Cheney.

Sleep well.

No but unnu worrying about the same thing.

How ironic.

hahahahahahahahahahaha!

speaking of which, did u see this interview?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f0sgwv0rNUA

funny as F'k!
                          Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                          Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

It is one thing when you claim you is a balance poster and know the solution and it is another when you prescribe to an agenda.

America has its problem and I am sure Russia and China has there's too. It make no sense to go there. You can criticize but America's doomsday is not here yet and China and Russia have the same problem America is having now. Check how Russia's economy collapse in the last year yet it is not going to hell. It is one thing to see problems(oppurtunity) but it is another to be praying.
                            Pointing at a supposed 'trending' makes for analysis. ...such that the conclusions are either 'dumped' or ways to slow, prevent...find solutions are found? Right?

...or you prefer the 'head in the sand' approach?

Nuh true seh China, India, and others are on the rise? If your anser is, Yes?

Well?

No but unnu worrying about the same thing.

How ironic.
                              oh... what am I worrying about pray tell?

Yuttie.." a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing". Why ar eyou insulting the man's intelligence..he has made sm valid poinds..as well as Sas...they don't have to agree....do you think beacus eyou are now living in the US, going to school etc. gives you a better view than someone who is not..esp on domestic and foreign policy?..a high school student could Google that.
                                I have watched you mature as an individual and as a poster with vast improvements in the quality of your arguments and supporting references..don't go down the road of the "one liners" and haughty responses. You are better than that.