• Bolt as a 'coon'?

Published: Friday | October 23, 2009

The Editor, Sir:
    I have been observing the behaviour of Usain Bolt since he won the Olympic Gold medal. At first I was thinking that it was just a matter of the moment, but after careful observation of him and his behaviour over the last year I now realise that this is more than just that. This type of behaviour is more than just the degenerate aspects of local culture which is being reinforced upon the black Jamaicans as their culture.
    Taking a look back into history you will see that there is a similar behaviour pattern that was drummed/beaten into black people. Such behaviours were given the name 'coon' and 'Sambo', etc. This is the type of behaviour that many conscious black people have been fighting against for many years. They were many top athletes and performers who were guilty of this.
    Character image
    Bolt must be told that this 'To di Whorl' and 'Gully Creepa' are not different from the ever-smiling Negro with no care in the world. This is the character image of the black that was given to the world by white people to marginalised, black people and maintain them in state of oppression. Such behaviours are generally well rewarded by white people as the damage that will be done by this behaviour will be very hard to be repaired.
    Mohammed Ali was once the same 'clownish Sambo' negro loved by white people until Malcolm X began to teach him some sense and consciousness about himself and the meaning of his behaviour. Paul Robeson was the same until Marcus Garvey did the same for him. The sad thing about Bolt's circumstance is that there is nobody within his present circle who can do likewise to save him from himself.
    What I would like him to remember is that he is not just representing the low and regressive Jamaicans, but the entire black race (African) which is what the whole world sees him as, even though he and the country want to believe otherwise.
    I am, etc.,
    OLUDAMARE alkebu_lan@hotmail.com

Well, not quite, but it was getting close.

Mosiah delete this post!

utter %^&*^&&*ry!!!
      Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
      Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Well, not quite, but it was getting close.
        So wait, you also have a problem with his "gestures" before and after his races?

Yes! It was getting ridiculous, imo.

no!

democracy is a mutha%^&ka!
              Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
              Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Yes! It was getting ridiculous, imo.
                So you'd rather him be a stiff like Tyson Gay? Unuh need fi easy. PPl just looking fi something fi complain bout.

Bolt a coon like? ........everyother NFL,BASKETBALLER ,FOOTBALLER etc making billions.

Jack johnson syndrome ...black,talented and i choose to be myself in a race conscious society......some Africans will have an issue with it so will some caucasians .

I too am getting tired of it but the kids love it, give it 2 years and he will calm down.

My advice to Bolt be yourself the races have to grow up and accept you as is.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Read and understand. Why yuh move from one end of the spectrum to the next?!!? And yuh always try that crap! That's not what I sid, Lazie!!!

Yes, PPl just looking fi something fi complain bout, while other people need something to misrepresent about!

ain't it!

gwe, a true yo cyaa Wacky Dip!

not sure if bolt is really being himself.

I think you got it right this time X we are sort of older, hence less tolerant of of the gimmicks, but the younger crowd loves it. I hope he grows out of it quickly. the sooner the better Lazie at times you should listen both sides.

In my youth at times I would wonder why my Dad didn't come down hard on me about dressing the way the young kids dress,running around with the latest dance. Guess what? I now know: he somehow knew I would just grow out of it. Believe me, I did .

the generation gap is glowing.

mawning Jawge.