Islandman

• Islandman

what's up with u're congressman Grayson? LOL; damn, he's abit extreme at times but the damn man knows how to drop a punchline.

The man said Dick Cheney(pronounced Che-nee) is upset with Obama because the president doesn't go around shooting old men in the face. LOL!

I'm not fund of extremist but damn he's funny.

BTW, I hope yo nuh mek the Silver surfer trick yo fi join him socialist crusade aka social contract.
    Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
    Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Yeah for a first term congressman him really surprise me with how much attention him getting. Him look like him love the camera still.

Silver surfer? Who dat?

Don1
      Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
      Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

LOL, is you give him dat name?

Well, I don't know if a social contract is something that is workable given our political culture, but I am not sure I would class it as socialism either. Depends how it is implemented I guess.

What I am more interested in is social entrepreneurship programs implemented by non-government organizations.
        Last edited by Islandman; October 23, 2009, 10:21 AM.

social entrepreneurship? isn't that an oxymoron?

Yeah for a first term congressman him really surprise me with how much attention him getting. Him look like him love the camera still.

Silver surfer? Who dat?
            Mi ah di Siver Surfer?? Mi neva kno!!

Nice!!! Sounds like a Super Hero!!!

Tanks!!

Originally posted by Yuttie View Post
              what's up with u're congressman Grayson? LOL; damn, he's abit extreme at times but the damn man knows how to drop a punchline.

The man said Dick Cheney(pronounced Che-nee) is upset with Obama because the president doesn't go around shooting old men in the face. LOL!

I'm not fund of extremist but damn he's funny.

BTW, I hope yo nuh mek the Silver surfer trick yo fi join him socialist crusade aka social contract.
              Any guy who calls a social contract...socialism ....is better off keeping quiet. That way the ignorance won't be so obvious and laughable.

Tell the Irish that's their social contract which enabled them to go from relative poverty to prosperity.. in one generation....was socialism...and also tell the PSOJ team that went there to study it and came back aglow.

Yukkie....Engage your brain (however deficient) before posting.

go back to Venezuela!

The same paradise you speak of got brought to their knees after the credit crunch last year. Why did Ireland not have any money to pay Government workers after guarantee the bank holdings?

Why did it lead to "social "chaos and mass demostartion! Keep in mind Europe is starting to feel the wave of the crunch.When america sneeze the world(outside China) catches a cold, even dear Germany is struggling to decide whether to cut social benefits(which they won't) or raise taxes(which they don't want). Iceland went from below 2% unemployment to what? Even the "rising" power India is catching a cold. Gwan hope and Pray fi babylon downfall, while a finger of chese cost upwards JA$100.

the Silver Surfer strikes again.
                Last edited by Yuttie; October 23, 2009, 11:06 AM.

In the traditional sense of entrepreneurship, sure.

But suppose an entrepreneur decides to reap some of his profits in "social capital" instead of giving back through charity later?

he becomes a politician.

Have the silver surfer converted you do Social Democracy 2.0

No, a politician works through inefficient govt systems, using taxpayer money that he/she generally does not value or use wisely. If they run out of money, they tax people more or borrow more.

A social entrepeneur creates social change using self-sustaining business models. If the model doesn't work, the program needs to change or be discontinued.

Andrew Carnegie was one of the greatest entrepreneurs , and also one of the greatest philanthropists (Carnegie Hall, Carnegie-Mellon univ, public libraries, etc). Yet most of his workers lived and worked in horrible conditions.

Is that the perfect model? Leave social issues up to govt and concentrate on maximizing profit? Live like a King among the squalor of your community?
                      Last edited by Islandman; October 23, 2009, 11:47 AM.

i was being sarcastic Islandman, damn!

democratic capitalism might not be perfect but it is by far the best.

U're living proof, LOL

OK, didn't pick that up.

Me did wonder if you was getting indoctrinated. LOL.

Originally posted by Yuttie View Post
                            go back to Venezuela!

The same paradise you speak of got brought to their knees after the credit crunch last year. Why did Ireland not have any money to pay Government workers after guarantee the bank holdings?

Why did it lead to "social "chaos and mass demostartion! Keep in mind Europe is starting to feel the wave of the crunch.When america sneeze the world(outside China) catches a cold, even dear Germany is struggling to decide whether to cut social benefits(which they won't) or raise taxes(which they don't want). Iceland went from below 2% unemployment to what? Even the "rising" power India is catching a cold. Gwan hope and Pray fi babylon downfall, while a finger of chese cost upwards JA$100.

the Silver Surfer strikes again.
                            Vacuous argument.....you are speaking of an extraodinary circumstance...the global recession...which has brought even the mighty the US to its knees.

The US can print money willy nilly because others will take its bonds and countries accept the greenback as their reserve currency (for the time being). Ireland and other countries have to depend on savings or borrowing at higher rates than the US...simple...the policy options are different.
                            The US is currently begging countries to prop up its currency and is growing its debt exponentially to manage the crisis ..and who holds much of its debt...its greatest adversary...China. A really ridiculous circumstance.

It is a fact that many European countries were overleveraged...victims of irrational exuberance...even moreso than the US...the question is when and how they will bounce back...not if.

It is incontrovertible that Ireland's social compact provided the roadmap to it's development in a very short timeframe....what they did with their newfound wealth is a separate question entirely.
                            Ireland's current travails have little to with that social roadmap and even so...are entirely transient.
                            They merely have to learn not to put dem hat whey dem cyaan reah i.....as does the US have to learn the same lesson.

I hope and pray for nothing except progress for mankind...the current system does not assure that or even have the possibility of that progress for MOST of humanity.... so it should be reformed.

One notices some attempts at such reform as people realize the world structure is unsustainable....benefiting a select few.

You speak of Jamaica's condition...what is the solution? Jamaica continues down the toilet...a different paradigm is needed in my opinion.

I have presented such a paradigm...it is for the naysayers to come with something better...unless you lot are satisfied with what's happening now.

Always ready to give you youngsters a lesson. lol!

wat ah may mi suh important mek Yukkie ah kall kall mi name...but ah wha dis faada?
                            Last edited by Don1; October 23, 2009, 12:12 PM.

China holds the greatest US DEBT? LOL.You sure yo nuh mean the COUNTRY that holds the most US debt is China?LOL! I see you're clueless of what you speak. I can't get over it, di man actually think China holds the greatest portion of US debt and is keeping the US from going under water. LOL.

The US begging countries to prop up it's currency? LOL. I'm sure u're also fully "aware" that the federal reserve unleashed a $23 trillion program to rescue central and major banks throughout Europe and Asia. You do know that right? You do know that these countries and banks owe the Feds alot more than the US total debt? LOL, mi 17 pac out fi buss! LMAO!!!!!!!!

Suh mek mi ask, yo sure seh Ireland progress nuh have nuttin fi do wid the Cathlocs and The Protestant peace accord(facilitates by the great babylon) which allowed capitalism to blossom?