thne JLP Observer nuh bring di Dudus Story

• thne JLP Observer nuh bring di Dudus Story

JLP drawing their feet and their newspaper is avoiding the story like a plague. Can they be more obvios..check out the gleaner..all picture post

New 'Dudus' delay - Coke extradition request faces more delays as ministry seeks additional information
    Published: Thursday | October 22, 2009

Coke

The Ministry of Justice is to send a second letter to United States authorities asking for more details, as the Government considers the extradition request for west Kingston strongman Christopher 'Dudus' Coke.

After spending more than a month going over the initial request, local justice officials penned a letter seeking additional information.

That response was received recently but the justice ministry is not satisfied and insists on more details.

Ongoing communications

"The communications continue and, as we speak, there is a formal communication going back to the (US) authorities in response to their response," Daryl Vaz, minister with responsibility for information, told the weekly post-Cabinet media briefing at Jamaica House yesterday.

According to Vaz, the latest communication from the justice ministry should be dispatched to the US by today.

Vaz did not provide any details on what is being requested but sources close to the case told The Gleaner that the justice ministry is not satisfied with the information surrounding the nine co-conspirators mentioned in the unsealed indictment against Coke.

According to the sources, the justice ministry requested information on the co-conspirators who are referred to in the indictment only ac 'CC-1' to 'CC-9'.

Right to anonymity

The sources said the Americans responded by pointing to a ruling by the US Supreme Court which states that a confidential informant has the right to anonymity in circumstances where his or her life is in danger.

That doctrine is called the 'personal security exception' and clarified an earlier US Supreme Court ruling that an accused person had the right to know the identity of his or her accusers because of the constitutional right of confrontation.

As a result of the exception. US extradition warrants and grand jury indictments do not need to identify the informants.

Other aspects

It is not yet known if the Jamaica authorities' latest request for additional information will challenge this claim or will examine other aspects of the extradition request.

However, the Government has already declared its commitment to protect the rights of Coke or any other Jamaican whose extradition is requested.

On August 28, the US authorities announced that they had charged Coke with conspiracy to distribute cocaine and marijuana and conspiracy to illegally traffic in firearms.

An extradition request for the businessman and political activist was subsequently sent to the Jamaican government.
    More Lead Stories E-mail this story Print this Page E-mail the Editor

dis not going anywhere.

Plush, be fair. The Jamaica Observer was the first in the media fi name the "businessman" Uncle Sam want so to give the impression the Observer has some alternate agenda to present the news is misleading.

but fast!

Ah true seh him name Coke...

Plush, be fair. The Jamaica Observer was the first in the media fi name the "businessman" Uncle Sam want so to give the impression the Observer has some alternate agenda to present the news is misleading.
            You don't seem to understand the political reality...it's not that the JLP controls the Observer or vice versa.

The reality is that Butch Stewart has purchased, via his political contributions....including the obviously slanted coverage in his newspaper, very significant influence over JLP policy.

It does not mean that there will always be a convergence of interests or policy or opinions between the JLP administration and Butch Stewart.....since there are always wheels within wheels.

Politics is a calculus...always with competing interests.

You don't seem to understand the political reality...it's not that the JLP controls the Observer or vice versa.

The reality is that Butch Stewart has purchased, via his political contributions....including the obviously slanted coverage in his newspaper, very significant influence over JLP policy.

It does not mean that there will always be a convergence of interests or policy or opinions between the JLP administration and Butch Stewart.....since there are always wheels within wheels.

Politics is a calculus...always with competing interests.
              Continue along the conspiracy lines if yuh want. Plush started giving the impression the Observer didn't report this piece of news because it didn't fit their agenda. Well, when RJR, NNN, Gleaner etc were all afraid to name who the businessman was ... the Observer did.

Furthermore, why should we expect both papers to carry the same news everyday?

Lazie I would tread carefully on thise one. Since the Dudus story broke, I've been reading both newspapers daily. Take a look for yourself. You will see that the observer has been slow to provide updates on the case...You'll see that the Observer is slow on caryying updates on Hibberts case..and when they do, its hidden somewhere behind the headlines. You might be right that Observer was the first to break it..But since then...I don't know???

U3iually you can go to both papers and get the same story..especially headlines and a case like this which I'm sure all JA wants to be informed of..Observer signoring it seems more deliberate than anything

Waste of time... only paper worth reading is the Herald...

all JA wants to be informed of... ?

Like wheh yuh mean ?

Mi only waan know who ah guh tek over di Job..

mmmmmmmmm?
                      I wonder what the US presented in other cases where our government granted the extradition request? ...and since September 2007?

Continue along the conspiracy lines if yuh want. Plush started giving the impression the Observer didn't report this piece of news because it didn't fit their agenda. Well, when RJR, NNN, Gleaner etc were all afraid to name who the businessman was ... the Observer did.

Furthermore, why should we expect both papers to carry the same news everyday?
                        There is no conspiracy...there is reality.

If you are such a fan of the media...since you seem to consume much of what is offered by it....learn about the science of content analysis.

That may remove some of the fog you seem to operate in.

There is no conspiracy...there is reality.

If you are such a fan of the media...since you seem to consume much of what is offered by it....learn about the science of content analysis.

That may remove some of the fog you seem to operate in.
                          Did you say reality? Well, the reality is the Observer didn't beat around the bush when they broke the story, unlike other media houses.

Y'all bitch and complain about the Observer on a daily basis yet is the first thing unuh read in the mornings. If unuh have a problem with it, don't read it then. Yet.... others are following you and yuh silliness.

A who a pi$$ you off Lazie. If I had a choice I probably wouldnt read the Observe..joke. Oberver give good sports news. But on politics.....I just have to read and wonder what get lef out

Originally posted by Plush View Post
                              A who a pi$$ you off Lazie. If I had a choice I probably wouldnt read the Observe..joke. Oberver give good sports news. But on politics.....I just have to read and wonder what get lef out
                              Nothing to be ****************ed off about. Furthermore, my previous post wasn't addressed to you, it was addressed to the Bittah1. I have a problem with how Fox News present the news, so ... I don't watch them.

Why you have a problem with how the Observer present the news on Politics?