Jordan’s son in fight over wearing Air Jordans

interesting only because of his name. was on a university tour the other day and the team was sponsored by Nike but some of the soccer players had wide feet and could wanted to wear addidas. in that case they had to find a wider fitting nike shoe as the school took a harder stance.

Yeah something like that.

lightning only strike twice in di same place wid some people.

Follow-up - university loses $3 million contract over Air Jordans

--------------------------------------------------------------

Air Jordans cost UCF future deal with adidas

Michael Jordan's son wears Nike in UCF debut, so adidas dumps UCF

Marcus Jordan stuck to his guns and wore his father's iconic Nike Air Jordans, a decision that has cost the University of Central Florida its six-year, $3 million exclusive contract with adidas.

Adidas spokeswoman Andrea Corso said in an e-mail to the Orlando Sentinel, "The University of Central Florida has chosen not to deliver on their contractual commitment to adidas. As a result we have chosen not to continue our relationship with them moving forward."

UCF Athletics Director Keith Tribble said late Wednesday that he was surprised by the statement from adidas.

"There's really not much I can say because I don't know anything about it and have not heard anything official from adidas about our agreement," Tribble said. "As I said before, we spoke with adidas officials throughout this process and were continuing contract negotiations with them. I have not seen anything in writing or heard directly from adidas about a change in our relationship."

Jordan, son of NBA legend Michael Jordan, opted to wear Air Jordans during UCF's season opening exhibition game Wednesday night despite a controversy surrounding his footwear choices.

UCF officials reached an agreement with adidas regional representatives allowing Jordan to wear Nike shoes despite the school's exclusive adidas contract. Higher-level adidas corporate officials later objected to Jordan being allowed to wear a competitor's shoes. UCF stood by the promise it made to Jordan that he could wear his father's shoes.

The university and adidas had a previous agreement that ran from 2005 to 2010 but had reached a tentative deal a contract valued at $3 million to run through 2015 and were already operating under the terms of that agreement. UCF was slated to get all apparel, shoes and equipment free of charge. It was a step up from the previous deal that had required the university to buy some items at wholesale prices for 15 UCF teams. UCF was already operating under the contract terms thanks to a verbal agreement, but adidas' statement indicates that verbal agreement will no longer be honored.

Jordan wore a pair of white Air Jordans with no prominent logos. His teammates wore white adidas with black trademark stripes. Jordan also was wearing black ankle braces with the adidas logo prominently displayed. As a result, the only clear logos near his feet belonged to adidas. UCF basketball coach Kirk Speraw was focused on the Knights' exhibition game against St. Leo and did not know about the contractual changes with adidas.

"I don't know anything about that," Speraw said. "I was preparing for a game here tonight. That's not something that I was aware of. "

Speraw defended Jordan, who has been criticized for opting to wear his father's shoes despite the negative effect it has had on UCF's relations with adidas.

"He's been a super teammate," Speraw said. "He's been very humble about everything and he's going to be a great representative to our university over the course of his career."

UCF won its exhibition game against St. Leo 84-65, with P.J. Gaynor leading the Knights with 18 points and A.J. Rompza adding 16 points. Jordan, a freshman, finished with one point, one assist and three steals.

Iliana Limón's Knights Notepad blog on UCF sports can be read at OrlandoSentinel.com/knightsnotepad and she can be reached at ilimon@orlandosentinel.com.

What's next: UCF awaits official notice from adidas ending their relationship and whether the school will be asked to pay for any of the equipment and apparel it has already received.

is he that good? kick di bwoy off di team!

Look like you miss it:

"Jordan, a freshman, finished with one point, one assist and three steals"

Yes, but they didn't give the minutes he was on the court. Suppose he did all that in 2 minutes! Chuss mi, I have been known to do a lot in 2 minutes!!!

Chuss mi, I have been known to do a lot in 2 minutes!!!

this is not necessarily to be worn as a badge of honour!

Why not! Have you ever read Karl's posts or emails in 2 minutes? Taken a shower in 2 minutes? Parallel parked in 2 minutes?! Well, I have!

You don't consider those things accomplishments?!? What were you thinking of?

is he that good? kick di bwoy off di team!

Kick him off di damn team, and tell him to find anneda school.