• We need free education

published: Friday | December 1, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody Rjuf6="true">

THE EDITOR, Sir:

IT IS indeed really amazing to listen the many opinionmakers who are trying to convince the populace that <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">Jamaica</SPAN> cannot afford to have tuition-free <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">secondary </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">education</SPAN>. These are the same persons who thought Michael Manley was the greatest thing born in Jamaica when he made education free to the tertiary level.

This position being adopted by these persons, however, leads one to ask questions. If <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">Barbados</SPAN> can have free education up to <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">university </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">level</SPAN>, why can't Jamaica have tuition-free education to secondary level? Can we afford not to have tuition-free education to secondary level? Are there not main areas of waste and duplication where savings can be made to offset the cost of this expense? If we cannot afford this, how then can we find the money to put the financing political party campaigning on the backs of the poor taxpayers?

Seemingly, many principals

RE: We need free education

Big up to Jay.

A former friend of mine. Former bigtime defender for Titchfield and St.Georges United.

Jerome "keegan" Henry a humble balla and a brilliant youth.

Well, expect him to be labelled a labourite. Isn't that Jawge's M.O.?

he maybe one, so what laborite can't express their opinion?

This young man must have studied at my hands. Imagine an entire paragraph with questions only?

Brilliant!

...and, yes Education in Jamaica, from first formal institution through to secondary high schools and colleges(nurses, teachers) should be tuition free!

Okay Karl. This has to be a first. We both agree on a non football issue.

Let me get a drink.

Lazie (12/1/2006)Okay Karl. This has to be a first. We both agree on a non football issue.

Let me get a drink.
                Oooh?

...no sah, we have agreed on many other things, not least of which is 'tings' - crime rate, economy &amp; other 'tings' -in Jamaica cannot be allowed to go on as usual!

Saying it and meaning it different yuh nuh Karl? "The figures may well be true but no black dog fi monkey fi me!" Yuh still saying that?

Lazie (12/1/2006)
                    <DIV class=KonaBody Rjuf6="true">

Seemingly, many principals and education practitioners have swallowed this argument about our inability to accommodate this proposal financially, yet they negotiate a deal with the government through the Jamaica Teachers' Association that allows their children to attend secondary school tuition-free. Isn't this hypocrisy? What about the domestic helper who is earning the minimum wage? Why should she hug up this cost while the principal's child attends school free?

Minister Davies said that the young men in his constituency were uneducated, irredeemable and ignorant. We must be careful we turn the entire Jamaica into a South St. Andrew. The consequence will be grave for all of us.
                    This is a wise man from the EAST - so wait up, Principal pickney dem go to school FOC:w00t:, a real hypocrisy fi true.</DIV>