Lazie , Ben, Sass, please give me your

• Lazie , Ben, Sass, please give me your

thoughts on the matter here. Thanks in advance.
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/weste...et=10#comments

Inherit ?

Michael Manley in his hunger for power sowed those seeds.. that are strangling us even today..

So you are saying that Joshua should have left the laws alone; where the general populace could not stay in the hotels or even bathe at the beach? Hence a return to the things of the 60s & 50s? Enlighten me Ben.

What do you want a feedback on? The article or Don Taylor's comments?

Lazie dont' play with me. I'm talking about the article.

Oh so unnuh ah duck mi? When unnuh done unnuh talk bout yuh waan move Ja forward.

They should quit. The owner said to quit and the goverment said they are violating several laws.

If only that was all he did.. I think his profundity extended waaay past that..

Bermuda, Cayman, British Virgin islands.. mi can guh deh same way.. difference is dem beach clean...

What you want me fi say? I support community tourism but not how it is been done here. The people has broken a lot of laws, they have no rights to the property and no license or safety proceedures in process.

I understand their plight but they have to come together as a group and demand a comprimise from the government and the St. James parish council. No hotel can't run with habour sharks at the front gate and on the beach. It has to be done in an orderly and non aggressive manner.

Sass, please don't insult me by hiding behind the "laws argument". Am I a fool? Who created these laws? Why I empathise with these people is that they are trying hard to make a honest bread. They are not runnig a Ponzi scheme nor a phone scam (hence threatening the US national security). They are using what is given to them by Ja's education system to earn a living.

Boss what should we say to these women? Try prostitution? Not everyone wants to work in a casino either. These people are self starters (who believe in the concept of relying on self and going about it in a honest way also).

Now if you had said the govt. should form a partnership with the hotel in order to build a small market for them, I would be on board. These are remanant of Ja's law abiding citizens. Why should they be pushed aside? Is it because they are poor and uneducated? Therefore they cannot get around the laws of the land? This is what stopped the engine of tourism in Mobay when we decided to water down our brand and go AI. We are now left with just one tier of tourists (and we just have to thank Bob Marley for that) That movie star,jetset crowd is now gone from us. Fact is when a much wealtheir set of tourists would visit Mobay and the town was teeming with Euros and N.americans, these same people had stalls all over and it was no problem. Now the locals are the foreigners. We should try to help these people because they are going to inject the foreign exchange directly into the local economy. That Iberian hotel will not pay for the wear and tear on the municipalities of the city (caused by their AI guests). We need an offset. What are we doing? We seem to go out our way to create instability on the island.

Time for a more rational approach.

Last but not least: I guess prior to 1972, if I had attempted to enter Doctor's cave beach, I would be breaking the law also.

We are fools. Quote: "give us wisdom less we perish".

I will answer you first question- YES you are a fool...

Tell dem Jawge.. The Law is not a Shackle !

"I understand their plight but they have to come together as a group and demand a comprimise from the government and the St. James parish council".

Jawge you need fi read what I said. I wonder how many of those uneducated people the hotel employ? Should their employment be at risk for 20 or so people? I guess you are saying there should be no laws to regulate the tourism industry such as sanitary laws. Anybody can go and capture a land next to a hotel and hastle the hotel guest without form of consideration for the government or hotel management? I guess that is what you encouraging?

Sass when I put something out there do not twist it. Ja has a social problem which in turn enables its instability. Usually I don't cite my sources because i asume most if not all on this board is fully immersed in history. Now if you look in "The story of the Jamaican people" by Sherlock and Bennett, you will see that most of the problems being faced today existed as far back as the 18th century (higglering comes to mind; pgs 163-175) On the subject of squatting; this came came about after 1838 and it wasn't addressed fully (an attempt was made in the 70s but no follow up) Page 252-262 will show that the harsh conditions (which incidentally mirrors that of today) led to the Morant Bay rebellion.

Based on the above and my initial post,you can understand my call for being proactive. We have to break away from the slavery system (which only breeds crime among the general populace) and seek ways to move our society forward. You speak of sanitary conditions; let's go down Barnett Street in Mobay. Everyday (excpet Sundays) these people line the streets with all manner of things selling. The ones that sell fruits and other ground provision: where is the bathroom that they use? (seeing that they are there all day) Why can't we find or create a center/ mini market other than the major one. The "arcade" on St.James's Street should be removed; it's a health hazard and danger to public traffic. The people of Liliput are asking for a small market to peddle their wares. Am I to understand that tourist should fill a four hundred capacity hotel and not spend a dime with the locals? If so then we need to have our heads examined. When we fan these falmes of social instability and unrest, surely a Bogle or George william Gordon will rise (only that it seems that the Dons are filling in here instead of any intellect from UWI or CAST) as liberator for the oppressed. Why are we doing the same things over and over? Our history books record the struggles of our great grand parents and they are the same today. It's nice to arm the security force to battle crime but until we attack the social aspect of it things will always be the same. We have to stop operating on these old slavery laws and think within the context of helping the people (who are the real assets of JA).

First we have to improve our educational system from that of a "sharecropper" system (see radical equations;math literacy and civil rights by Robert P. Moses) to one that can take us in the info age and beyond. low income housing, having fixed address for all on the island (not hard only 2.7 mil and we have computers). This is a start to having quality workers and an intelligent populace (have no fear; the time has come) making sensible decisions in the inerest of the nation. We have to end this planter class and slave mentality (where if you don't attend certain banquaets, or live certain place or attend a particular school then you are nothing). The world is changing and Ja has to open her markets. With the problems above; we become easy preys for the the predators in this new "global village".
                            Last edited by Jawge; October 18, 2009, 12:22 AM.

Oh BTW; my copy of bob Moses's book is autographed to my eldest son (since 2001).

In short he is saying back in the 60s the march was to get blacks out to vote. In the info age there is a new empowerment; learning math and science.