Extradition hearings begin against businessman

• Extradition hearings begin against businessman

Local prosecutors began extradition proceedings against Montego Bay businessman Presley Bingham on Wednesday.

U.S. prosecutors described Mr. Bingham as a major player in organised crime in Jamaica.

They have requested his extradition on drug trafficking charges.

However, lawyers for Mr. Bingham applied to the presiding magistrate to throw out the request on the grounds that it was an abuse of the process by the local prosecutors.

They pointed to the fact that he was released by the Appeal Court in 2007 following the US government's request for his extradition.

But their application for his release was denied by the magistrate.

The attorneys also wanted full disclosure of all the communication between the local prosecutors and their counterparts in the US, but this was also rejected by the magistrate.

Two witnesses gave testimony Wednesday.

The hearing continues on November 5.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/22342/26/

.... yet the gov't continue to ignore the other extradition request that is gathering dust?

heh heh!

One has national security implications, the other does not.

.. yet yuh still won't admit the failed state status?

Is there any collective agreement on what a failed state is?

In my opinion a failed state is one without a functioning govt, or one that would not survive without international security forces being present. JA is not there yet but we are driving in that direction.

Me know you watch the American Gangster series? Nuff cities have had Dons that run communities similar to what JA has. Oakland, New York, Chicago, LA to name a few. Don't even talk bout Eastern Europe.

Brazil, Nigeria...I'm sure we could add another 10 countries easily to that list.

Is there any collective agreement on what a failed state is?

In my opinion a failed state is one without a functioning govt, or one that would not survive without international security forces being present. JA is not there yet but we are driving in that direction.

Me know you watch the American Gangster series? Nuff cities have had Dons that run communities similar to what JA has. Oakland, New York, Chicago, LA to name a few. Don't even talk bout Eastern Europe.
                ... and the authorities in those cities are afraid to move on those Dons like how those in JA are afraid to move on Dudus?

yep!

yep!
                    Okay ... when yuh have time, gimme an example nuh?

If by afraid you mean that they make sure certain things are in place before they move on them, then YES!
                      Me have a Italian-American co-worker whose family grew up in Little Italy. Him say back in the day when the mob really ran tings, them would have events in the community and no police would go there, yet there would be ZERO crime , ZERO violence in areas known for crime. Reminded me of when certain man hold them dance or stageshow in JA.

Read any book on Brasilian favelas. Come on, Lazie, yuh really tink is we one stay suh?

If by afraid you mean that they make sure certain things are in place before they move on them, then YES!
                          Me have a Italian-American co-worker whose family grew up in Little Italy. Him say back in the day when the mob really ran tings, them would have events in the community and no police would go there, yet there would be ZERO crime , ZERO violence in areas known for crime. Reminded me of when certain man hold them dance or stageshow in JA.
                          Don't these "families always" have some organizational structure? If the head is sent off to prison, there is a #2 to step in? I'm asking. If thats the case, it isn't the authorities that is waiting for a void to be filled.

If it is happening as you and Mosiah presume, then the circle of crime will always continue. Isn't this the chance to break that circle?

The mob familes generally do. The first generation drug dons don't.

So are you saying we know as a fact that the govt is "waiting for the void to be filled"? Or are they planning to make sure there is not chaos in West Kingston if the void is not filled? Those are 2 different things.

The mob familes generally do. The first generation drug dons don't.

So are you saying we know as a fact that the govt is "waiting for the void to be filled"? Or are they planning to make sure there is not chaos in West Kingston if the void is not filled? Those are 2 different things.
                              ... 2 different things that comes to the same conclusion. Madness.